Metfield, SuffolkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Suffolk   Gotoarrow.png  Hoxne Hundred Gotoarrow.png  Suffolk Parishes 

Contents

Parish History

{{Historical populations |width = 11em |shading = on |percentages = off |1801 |558 |1821 |682 |1841 |702 |1851 |651 |1871 |670 |1891 |500 |1901 |437

METFIELD (St. John the Baptist), a parish, in the union and hundred of Hoxne, E. division of Suffolk, 3¾ miles (S. E. by E.) from Harleston; The Independents have a place of worship.[1]




Resources

If you live in Suffolk then you will have access to a variety of resources; however, for those who live further afield, one can access microfilm and online records at Family History Centers.   Refer to Metfield and Suffolk in the FamilySearch Catalog for available records.

Civil Registration

Metfield is in Hoxne district. To search an index of Hoxne district records go to FreeBMD. The Suffolk Civil Registration article tells more about these records.

Church records

Metfield, Suffolk parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

1813 = Suffolk Marriage Index (1813-37) (FindMyPast) - (£)[2]
BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[3]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[4]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[5]
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[6]
TGEN = TheGenealogist - (£)[7]
Metfield, Suffolk Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
1813 1813-1837
BOYD
1560-1837

IGI 1844-1845
JOIN
1560-1837

NBI

1559-1902
TGEN
1560-1837

The Parish Registers begin in 1559.  They can be view at the Suffolk Record Office.  A copy of the registers from 1559 to 1900 can be purchased from the  Suffolk Record Office.  For pre 1813 Bishop Transcript entries you will need to look in Hoxne Deanry, Archdeaconry of Suffolk.  Parish Chest records are considerable for Metfield.   See Suffolk Church Record for further details.

Census records

There are census records available for Metfield from 1841 to 1911. Census records are available on a variety of subscription and other websites. If you need to consult the 1841 to 1891 census on microfilm, refer to Metfield Censusin the catalogue.
There is statistical data available for the census years 1801 to 1931 that records the number of houses, families, people, and other statistical data for every parish in Suffolk.
Refer to the Suffolk Census wiki article for details about the Census.

History

See Suffolk History: 'Note events that took place in the parish or affected the parish'

  • RAF Metfield - There was an airfield in Metfield during World War II; 1940's

Probate records

Prior to 1858 the primary court that had jurisdiction over Metfield was the Archdeaconry of Suffolk; however, a person’s will or administration may have been probated in nearby courts or even in London. After 1858 it was in Ipswich District.  Refer to the Suffolk Probate Records article for further details.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 295-298. Date accessed: 20 June 2014
  2. 'Suffolk Marriage Index (1813-37) Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 9 December 2013.
  3. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  4. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Suffolk, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 10 December 2013.
  5. 'Suffolk Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 3 December 2013.
  6. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 4 December 2013.
  7. 'Parish Records,' TheGenealogist, accessed 26 April 2014.
  8. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 295-298. Date accessed: 02 October 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 July 2014, at 22:44.
  • This page has been accessed 2,997 times.