Mettmenstetten parish, Zürich, SwitzerlandEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Back to Zürich in Switzerland

Contents

Geography

History

Place Names

Locations within Mettmenstetten

Baaracker
Bergli
Buchstock
Dachelsen
Eigi
Feld
Freudenberg
Gjuch
Grossholz
Grünau

Grüt
Herferswil
Hinter-Buchstock
Höngger
Hübschern
Letten
Linde
Mettmenstetten
Neugut (bei
    Mettmenstetten)

Neugut (bei Rossau)
Ober-Mettmenstetten
Paradies
Ried
Rossau
Schauenberg
Scheuren
Scheurenweid
Schulhaus Dachelsen

Sonnenberg
Stationsquartier
Sternen
Stockweid
Teufi
Unter-Mettmenstetten
Weid
Weissenbach
Wiesengrund

Surrounding Parishes

Aeugst am Albis
Affoltern am Albis
Kappel am Albis
Knonau
Maschwanden
Obfelden
Rifferswil

Collections

Church Records

Census Records

(see here for article describing the Zürich census records)

The following censuses are available for Mettmenstetten:

Census Year FHL Film number item number beginning page
1633 1185140 1 692
1634 1185139 1 274
1637 1185141 2 525
1640 1185143 1 645
1643 1185145 1 631
1646 1185147 2 457
1649 1185149 1 373
1657 1185179 1 27
1670 1185153 1 665
1678 1185152 3 901
1683 1185158 3 167
1689 1185164 1 601
1699 1185168 2 141
1700 1185168 2 179
1708 1185170 2 1
1720 1185176 1 101
1730 1185174 1 793

Genealogies

(see here for article describing Swiss compiled genealogies)

The following genealogies have been researched for Mettmenstetten families:

Civil Registration

Civil registration began in 1876. Mettmenstetten belongs to the Bezirk Affoltern civil registration district. Records are only available in Switzerland. For further information, contact the civil registry office at:

Bezirkszivilstandsamt Affoltern
Gemeindezentrum
Zivilstandskreis
Marktplatz 1
CH - 8910 Affoltern am Albis

Tel: +41 44 762 56 65

email: zivilstandsamt@affoltern-am-albis.ch

Surnames

The following surnames held citizenship in Mettmenstetten prior to 1875:

Bär
Buchmann
Burkhard
Dubs
Frick
Funk
Gallmann
Gründeler
Gubler

Gugolz
Gut
Hägi
Hofstetter
Huber
Hug
Hurter
Kleiner
Lüssi

Maurer
Münch
Näf
Orell
Peter
Schiffer
Schmid
Sidler

Spinner
Stocker
Studer
Suter
Vollenweider
Weiss
Wolf
Wyss

Related Sources

The town's website (in German) can be found here.

Societies and Libraries

Cantonal Archive of Zürich

References

Register of Swiss Surnames

Historical Gazetteer of Switzerland


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 6 March 2014, at 20:50.
  • This page has been accessed 406 times.