Miami County, OhioEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Miami County Ohio genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Miami County, Ohio | |
| Map | |
| |
![]() Location of Ohio in the U.S. | |
| Courthouse | |
| Address | Miami County Courthouse 215 W. Main St. Troy, Ohio 45373-3263 Miami County Website |
|---|---|
Historical Facts
| Beginning dates for major county records | |||||
| |
|
|
|
|
|
| |
|
|
|
|
|
| *For earlier dates, try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries | |||||
- Parent Counties: Formed from Montgomery County 16 January 1807.[1]
- County Seat: Troy
- Neighboring Counties: Miami County, Ohio residents may also have records in [2]Shelby (north) · Montgomery (south) · Darke (west) · Champaign and Clark (east)
Boundary Changes
See an interactive map of Miami County boundary changes.
Record Loss
Resources
Bible Records
Biography
Biographical Sketches and Stories of Miami County Ohio - People, places, and things. Indexed by surname
Cemeteries
Miami County Cemetery and Gravestone Inscriptions. A list of burial places in Miami County for which inscriptions have been copied.
BillionGraves:
- Bethel Cemebery, Tipp City Ohio
- Casstown Cemetery, Casstown
- Curtis Union Cemetery, West Milton
- Riverside Cemetery, Troy
Cemetery records often reveal birth, marriage, death, relationship, military, and religious information.
| Online Grave Transcripts | Published Grave Transcripts | County Cemetery Directories |
| Family History Library | ||
| WorldCat | ||
| Billion Graves | ||
See Ohio Cemeteries for more information.
Census
Church Records
Finding Church Records at Other Repositories
Additional church records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Miami County, Ohio Church Records in online catalogs like:
- WorldCat (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
- Family History Library Catalog (For instructions see FHL Catalog Place-name Search).
Court Records
An Index to Court Records from the Miami County Courthouse and other locations containing Probate Court Index, Deeds Index, Marriage Index, Children's Home records, Pauper's Records, etc.
Emigration and Immigration
Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups
Gazetteers
Genealogy
Miami Valley Genealogy Index is an Index to more than a half million pointers to records all over Miami Valley not just Miami County, Ohio.
History
Local histories are available for Miami County, Ohio. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Ohio Local Histories.
Local Histories
Histories of Miami County for 1846, 1880, 1909, 1920 and Randolph Slaves.
The History of Miami County, Ohio, published 1880, W. H. Beers & Co. is available at FamilySearch.
Land and Property
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Ohio Land and Property for additional information about early Ohio land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed. Township Maps of the 12 townships along with census indexes and historical descriptions.
Maps
Military
- Military Records of Miami County.
Civil War, 1861-1865
Civil War service men from Miami County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Miami County.
- - 1st Regiment, Ohio Cavalry, Company I
Naturalization and Citizenship
Newspapers
Miami County, Ohio newspapers may contain genealogical value including obituaries, births, marriages, deaths, anniversaries, family gatherings, family travel, achievements, business notices, engagement information, and probate court proceedings.
To access newspapers, contact public libraries, Ohio Genealogical Society chapters, college or university libraries, the Library of Congress, Google News, or the Ohio Historical Society. The Ohio Genealogical Society Obituary Database is another source of newspaper information.
For more Ohio newspaper information see the Newspaper Guides on the wiki page Ohio Newspapers.
Marriage and Birth notices from Newspapers
Obituaries
Periodicals
Probate
Probate records created after 1852 are held by the Miami County, Ohio Probate Court. From 1797 or the creation of the county, probate records were held by the Court of Common Pleas. Most counties transferred all records to the Probate Court, but in some circumstances, Court of Common Pleas records should be searched for records prior to 1852. Most records are housed at the Miami County, Ohio Courthouse. Some records are on microfilm at the Ohio Genealogical Society and the Family History Library. For more complete information about the location of county probate records see:
- Carol Willsey Bell, Ohio Wills and Estates to 1850: An Index (1981). [3] FamilySearch Books Online - Free online copy.
See the wiki page Ohio Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.
Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.
Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (1867-1908 only).
- 1807-1845Probate records of Miami County at Ancestry.com ($) original data
Public Records
Repositories
Miami County Courthouse
201 West Main Street
Troy, OH 45373-3263
Phone: 937-332-6855
Clerk Court has divorce and court records from 1807;
Probate Judge has marriage, death and probate;
County Health Department has birth records;
County Recorder has land records[1]
Courthouse
Family History Centers
Libraries
The following public libraries in Miami County have collections of particular interest to genealogists.
- Local History Library
Troy-Miami County Public Library
419 W. Main St.
Troy, Ohio 45373
Telephone: (937) 339-0502
The collections include books, maps, microfilm, newspapers, and several original local records with internet access to sites with additional records.
Museums
Societies
Schools
Piqua, Ohio High School 1919 Basketball Team
Taxation
Early Tax and Census records 1810-1840 period. Finding Tax Records at Other Repositories
Additional tax records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Miami County, Ohio Tax Records in online catalogs like:
- WorldCat (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
- Family History Library Catalog (For instructions see FHL Catalog Place-name Search).
Vital Records
Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Although Ohio enacted a statute in 1856 -1857 requiring registration of births, deaths and marriages, many did not comply. A second law was written in 1867 but, again, was not always followed. By 1908, the law was more clearly defined and kept. Any existing birth and death records from 1867 through December 19, 1908 are located at the Miami County, Ohio Probate Court. The Ohio Department of Health has birth records filed after December 20, 1908 and death records filed after January 1, 1954 while the Ohio Historical Society houses death records from December 20, 1908 through December 31, 1953.
Original marriage records are held at the office of the Miami County, Ohio Probate Court with divorce records located with the Miami County, Ohio Clerk of Courts.
Ohio Deaths, 1908-1953 Free name indexes and images at FamilySearch. Records include such information as birth date of deceased, city, county, and state of death, name of spouse if married, names of parents, maiden name of mother, name of informant, if deceased was single, married, windowed or divorced, occupation of deceased.
Web Sites
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- Family History Library Catalog
- Miami County, Ohio site has many links to court records, newspapers, histories of the county, etc.
Places
Populated Places
References
- ↑ 1.0 1.1 Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), [FHL book 973 D27e 2002].
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Miami County, Ohio" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Miami_County,_Ohio (accessed 10 May 2012).
- ↑ Carol Willsey Bell, Ohio Wills and Estates to 1850: An Index (Columbus, Ohio: the author, 1981). FamilySearch Books Online - Free online copy.
| This Ohio-related article is a stub. You can help by expanding it. While this page is under construction, may we suggest Cyndi's List. |
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 17 May 2013, at 19:15.
- This page has been accessed 2,777 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More


