Michaelstow, CornwallEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  CornwallGotoarrow.png  Cornwall Parishes

Guide to Michaelstow, Cornwall family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Michaelstow, Cornwall
Michaelstow StMichael contributor Phil Williams.jpg
Michaelstow StMichael contributor Phil Williams
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Lesnewth
County Cornwall
Poor Law Union Camelford PLU
Registration District Camelford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1544
Bishop's Transcripts: 1615
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Trigg Minor
Diocese Exeter
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Cornwall
Location of Archive
Cornwall Record Office

Contents

Parish History

MICHAELSTOW (St. Michael), a parish, in the union of Camelford, hundred of Lesnewth, E. division of Cornwall, 3¼ miles (S. W. by S.) from Camelford. [1]

Michaelstow (Cornish: Lannvighal) St Michael is an Ancient Parish in the county of Cornwall. Other places in the parish include: Treveighan.

It is named after 'St Michael's holy place' and the parish church is dedicated to St Michael and All Angels. The River Camel runs along its eastern edge and the surrounding parishes are  Lanteglos-by-Camelford, Cornwall to the north,  St Breward, Cornwall to the east,  St Tudy, Cornwall to the south and  St Teath, Cornwall to the west
Helsbury Castle, an iron age hill fort, stands on Michaelstow Beacon half-a-mile north of the village.

The parish is part of the St Tudy with St Mabyn and Michaelstow, United Benefice in the Diocese of Truro.

Resources

Civil Registration

Births, marriages and deaths were kept by the government from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is Free BMD.

Church records

Michaelstow, Cornwall parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[2]
COPC = Cornwall Online Parish Clerks - free[3]
FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[4][5][6]
FREG = FreeREG - free[7]
FS PRs = England, Cornwall and Devon Parish Registers, 1538-2010 (FamilySearch) - free[8]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[9]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[10]
Michaelstow, Cornwall Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD

1548-1812


COPC 1676-1911
1548-1907
1544-1938
FMP 1680-1837
1548-1837
1813-1837
FREG 1813-1904
1548-1812, 1838-1907


FS PRs
1544-1904
1544-1907
1544-1974
IGI 1680-1692
1548-1812


PALL

1790-1812


Images of parish registers are available online at FamilySearch Images refer to Cornwall Record Office reference: P 151

Cornwall Online Parish Clerks

An extremely useful resource is the Cornwall Online Parish Clerks page for the parish.

Census records

Census records from 1841-1891 are available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. To view these census images online, they are available through a number of websites for a fee ($) or free.

  • FamilySearch now has all of the British Censuses available.
  • FindMyPast ($) but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
  • Ancestry.co.uk ($) but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries. The library versions are known as AncestryInstitution.com.
  • The Genealogist.co.uk ($) but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
  • FreeCen is a UK census searches. It is not complete and individuals are always asked to consider helping out with transcriptions.

Cornwall Online Census Project

Poor Law Unions

Camelford Poor Law Union

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cornwall Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

There are many maps and gazetteers showing English places. Valuable web sites are:

Websites

Michaelstow in GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 298-301. Date accessed: 18 March 2013.
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. 'Coverage by Parish,' Cornwall Online Parish Clerks, accessed 3 December 2013.
  4. 'Cornwall Baptisms', Find My Past, accessed 22 November 2013.
  5. 'Cornwall Marriages', Find My Past, accessed 25 November 2013.
  6. 'Cornwall Burials', Find My Past, accessed 25 November 2013.
  7. 'Cornwall Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 18 November 2013.
  8. 'England, Cornwall and Devon Parish Registers, 1538-2010', FamilySearch, accessed 26 November 2013.
  9. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Cornwall, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 21 November 2013.
  10. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 5 September 2014, at 20:44.
  • This page has been accessed 889 times.