Michelmersh, HampshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png HampshireGotoarrow.png Hampshire Parishes Gotoarrow.png Michelmersh

Guide to Michelmersh, Hampshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Michelmersh, Hampshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Pre-1834 - Buddlesgate; Post-1833 - Thorngate
County Hampshire
Poor Law Union Romsey PLU
Registration District Romsey
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1780
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Somborne
Diocese Winchester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1845 - Court of the Peculiar of Michelmersh with Braishfield; Post-1844 - Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and Archdeaconry of Winchester
Location of Archive
Hampshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

MITCHELMERSH, a village, a parish, and a sub-district, in Romsey district, Hants. The village stands near the Andover and Southampton railway, and near the river Test or Anton, 3¾ miles N by W of Romsey; and has a post office under Romsey. The parish contains also the hamlets of Awbridge and Braishfield.[1].

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Michelmersh parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[2]
PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)[3]
MICHELMERSH PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1700s-1800s
1700s-1800s
1500s-1800s
PRTS 1558-1873
1558-1873
1558-1873


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288801.

Genealogy From Periodicals

Extract From Hampshire Pritchard Tree (Whole Dates From 1694). A Pritchard Family tree starting 1824-1988, mainly descendants of James Pritchard and Sarah Tarrant, other parishes mentioned are Braishfield, Longparish, Michelmersh and Timsbury. Article in The Hampshire Family Historian, vol. 32, no. 2 Sept 2005, page 116. FHL Ref 942.27 B2h

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Hampshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, 1870. Date accessed: 10 June 2013.
  2. 'Over 1.4 million new Hampshire parish records published', Find My Past, accessed 3 October 2013. Date ranges are not clearly identified.
  3. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 30 September 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:24.
  • This page has been accessed 911 times.