Michigan GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Michigan

Guide to Michigan ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records

Michigan Topics
Find us on

Ask a question
Learn what's new
Build the community

Welcome to the Michigan page,
the Wolverine State

Michigan is the center of the American automotive industry.
Most unique genealogical features:
   How to Find Information about Michigan Ancestors

1. Birth Information
2. Marriage Information
3. Death Information



Click on the map below to go to a county page. Hover over a county to see its name. To see a larger version of the map, click here.
Keweenaw CountyHoughton CountyOntonagon CountyGogebic CountyBaraga CountyIron CountyMarquette CountyAlger CountyDickinson CountyMenominee CountyDelta CountySchoolcraft CountyLuce CountyChippewa CountyMackinac CountyEmmet CountyCheboygan CountyPresque Isle CountyCharlevoix CountyOtsego CountyMontmorency CountyAlpena CountyAntrim CountyLeelanau CountyBenzie CountyGrand Traverse CountyKalkaska CountyCrawford CountyOscoda CountyAlcona CountyManistee CountyWexford CountyMissaukee CountyRoscommon CountyOgemaw CountyIosco CountyMason CountyLake CountyOsceola CountyClare CountyGladwin CountyArenac CountyOceana CountyNewaygo CountyMecosta CountyIsabella CountyMidland CountyBay CountyMuskegon CountyKent CountyMontcalm CountyGratiot CountySaginaw CountyOttawa CountyIonia CountyClinton CountyShiawassee CountyAllegan CountyBarry CountyEaton CountyIngham CountyLivingston CountyVan Buren CountyBerrien CountyCass CountyKalamazoo CountySt. Joseph CountyCalhoun CountyBranch CountyJackson CountyHillsdale CountyLenaweeMonroe CountyWashtenaw CountyWayne CountyOakland CountyMacomb CountyGenesee CountyLapeer CountySt. Clair CountySanilac CountyTuscola CountyHuron CountyMichigan-county-map.gif

Extinct or Renamed Counties:  Aishcum · Anamickee · Bleeker · Brown · Cheonoquet · Des Moines · Dubuque · Forest · Iowa · Isle Royal · Kanotin · Kautawaubet · Kaykakee · Keskkauko · Manitou · Meegisee · Michilimackinac · Mikenauk · Neewago · Notipekago · Okkuddo · Omeena · Shawano · Tonedagana · Unwattin · Wabassee · Washington · Wyandot



Family Histories / Genealogies:

  • Genealogies in the Library of Congress:  A Bibliography, 2 Vols. -1 Supplement, ed by Marion J. Kaminkov.
  • Complement to Genealogies in the Library of Congress:  A Bibliography ed. by Marion J. Kaminkov
  • Directory of Family Associations, by Elizabeth P. Bentley (out of date)
  • Directory of Family "One-Name" Periodicals, by J. Kondra (out of date)
  • Family Associations, Societies and Reunions, by J. Konrad (out of date)
  • Index to American Genealogies: and Genealogical Material Contained in All Works by Joel Munsell's Sons Publishers
  • Genealogical Periodical Annual Index, published by Heritage Books
  • Index to Genealogical Periodicals by Donald L. Jacobus
  • Bibliographia Genealogica Americana An Alphabetical Index to American Genealogies and Pedigrees by Daniel S. Dume.
  • American British Genealogy and Heraldry: A Selected List of Books by P. William Filby
  • A List of Some American Genealogies Which Have Been Printed In Book Form, comp. by Thomas A. Glenn.
  • American Genealogist: Being a Catalogue of Family Histories and Publications by William H. Whitmore.
  • See also the various who's who...(i.e. Who's Who in the Midwest)
  • Michigan's Centennial Family Farm Heritage, 1986:A Michigan Sesquicentennial History by Mary L. Wermuth.
  • PERSI (Periodical Source Index) by the Allen Co. Public Library in Ft. Wayne, IN. (online through Heritage Quest)
  • Biographies memoirs

Great Lakes Maritime Information


Guides geared specifically for Michigan genealogy research:.

Genealogist's Guide to ... Northwest Michigan ... The Capital Region of Michigan ... Southwestern Michigan ... The Thumb Area of Michigan ... The Middle of Michigan ... Northeastern Michigan and Upper Penninsula Michigan, all compiled by Victoria Wilson

  • Genealogy in Michigan: What, When, Where by Alloa Anderson & Polly Bender
  • Michigan Genealogy by C. McGinnis
  • Tracing Your Ancestors in Michigan by Ethel W. Williams

Legal Materials -

Probate records such as wills often provide useful information, see: Searching American Probate Records by Fran Carter. Other records, such as various legal cases might be of use - see "How to Find Series #12: Finding Michigan Laws and Cases in the MSU Libraries", published by MSU Libraries, 1983.

Major Repositories

Archives of Michigan · Library of Michigan · Detroit Public Library · National Archives Great Lakes Region (Chicago) · Newberry Library · Allen County Public Library

Medical Institutions Training Schools

Migration Routes

Erie Canal · Lake Erie · Lake Huron · Lake Michigan · Lake Superior · Soo Locks · Detroit-Chicago Road · Detroit-Vincennes Road · Fort Gratiot Road · Grand River Road · Great Trail · Great Path · La Plaissance Bay Road · Lake Shore Path · Lake Trail · Maumee-Jonesville Road · Monroe Road · Saginaw Road · Sauk Trail · Tennessee, Ohio and Great Lakes Trail · Vincennes-Indianapolis-Detroit Road · Erie-Kalamazoo Railroad



Featured Content

1894 Michigan State Census This Internet site lists soldiers by name with their ward, township, and county as shown on the census of United States Soldiers of the Civil War Residing in Michigan, June 1, 1894, part of a state census. Since the 1890 federal census was partially destroyed in a fire, researchers can use this list of names as an additional tool beyond the census, to document their ancestor's whereabouts during the 1890's. There are approximately 50,000 names listed. For further details, see the Michigan Census Wiki page.

Research Tools

State-wide societies:

  • Fred Hart Williams Genealogical Society

c/o Burton Historical Collection, DPL
5201 Woodward Avenue
Detroit MI 48202-4007
Publication is Fred Hart Williams Genealogical Society News published twice a year
Located in Wayne County
MGC Member of Michigan Genealogical Council

Post Office Box 22203
Lansing MI 48909-2203

Publication is Newsletter published quarterly
Member of Michigan Genealogical Council


  • Cornish Connection Of Lower Michigan

8494 Wesley Drive
Flushing 48433


French-Canadian (includes Acadian, Cajun and Metis)

Post Office Box 1900
Royal Oak MI 48068-1900
Publication is Michigan's Habitat Heritage published quarterly
Located in Oakland County

MGC Member of Michigan Genealogical Council



c/o Gaelic League/Irish American Club
2068 Michigan Avenue
Detroit MI 48216-1303
Publication is Irish Tree published nine times a year
Located in Wayne County
MGC Member of Michigan Genealogical Council

Wayne County Irish Society

31975 Cowan
Westland 48185

  • Americans Of Italian Origin Society

18336 Lister E.
Detroit 48021


PO Box 251693
West Bloomfield MI 48325-1693
Publication is Generations published quarterly
Located in Oakland County
MGC Member of Michigan Genealogical Council



c/o Burton Collection
5201 Woodward Avenue
Detroit MI 48202-4007
Publication is The Polish Eaglet published three times a year
Located in Wayne County
MGC Member of Michigan Genealogical Council


P.O. Box 1844
Grand Rapids 49501

  • Detroit (West Side) Polish American Historical Society
  • The St. Andrew's Society of Detroit

2360 Rochester Ct
Troy Mi 48083
Phone:(248) 526-1849
Fax:(248) 528-1477
Contact: kilgour@detroitscots.com

Anishnawbe (Chippewa / Ojibwe, Ottawa / Odawa, Potawatomi Indians)

Michigan Oral History Association

Did You Know?

  • Michigan is comprised of an Upper Peninsula and Lower Peninsula, with shoreline longer than every other state except Alaska. The peninsulas are surrounded by the Great Lakes: Lake Michigan, Lake Superior, Lake Erie, Lake Huron and Lake Ontario, the largest freshwater lakes in the world.
  • Many famous and interesting people grew up in Michigan. Henry Ford grew up there. He was the inventor of the automobile. The first automobile was driven in Michigan. President Gerald Ford and Thomas Edison grew up in Michigan. Charles Lindburgh lived in Michigan.

Wiki articles describing online collections are found at:

Obtain additional help

Help Wanted

In order to make this wiki a better research tool, we need your help! Many tasks need to be done. You can help by:

Wiki Volunteers Wanted

To add your knowledge and help expand the wiki click here:


  1. Shirley M. De Boer, Research in Michigan (Arlington, Va.: National Genealogical Society, 2008) (FHL Collection 977.4 D27d), 13. WorldCat entry.
  2. De Boer, 22.
  3. De Boer, 25.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 11 August 2015, at 01:38.
  • This page has been accessed 195,548 times.