Mickley, NorthumberlandEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Northumberland Gotoarrow.png Northumberland Parishes

Guide to Mickley, Northumberland ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Mickley, Northumberland
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Tindale
County Northumberland
Poor Law Union Hexham PLU
Registration District Hexham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1867
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Corbridge
Diocese Durham
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Northumberland Record Office

Contents

Parish History

MICKLEY, a chapelry , in the parish of Ovingham, union of Hexham, E. division of Tindale ward, S. division of Northumberland, 11 miles (E. by S.) from Hexham. The chapel was erected in 1824, in that part of the chapelry called Hallyards.[1]

Additional information:

Mickley was created in 1727 from Ovingham Ancient Parish as a chapel of ease for Ovingham and included Mickley Square. It was established as Mickley St George parish in 1867. Earlier register and transcripts are in Ovingham registers and transcripts.

The first building on the site of the present church was a 'Chapel of Ease' (1823), as the area was part of the ancient parish of Ovingham. Mickley was given parochial status in 1867 and the 'Chapel' was extended in 1884 by the addition of a chancel, trancepts, and a porch and steeple. The original building became the nave and the church has had no further structural alterations since 1884. Both the building and alterations were paid for by Mr Battie Wrightson the land and coal owner of the period. [The Newcastle Diocesan Gazetteer (1982), page 38.]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church Records

Mickley, St George: Records of baptisms 1867-1974, marriages 1867-1988 and burials 1867-1947 are available at Northumberland Collections Service.

Census Records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438896.

Poor Law Unions

Alnwick Poor Law Union, Northumberland

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Northumberland Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web Sites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 17 December 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:17.
  • This page has been accessed 879 times.