Mickley, YorkshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png YorkshireGotoarrow.png Yorkshire Parishes K-R Gotoarrow.png West Riding of Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Mickley

Guide to Mickley, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Mickley, Yorkshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Claro
County Yorkshire
Poor Law Union Ripon PLU
Registration District Ripon
Records begin
Parish registers: 1844
Bishop's Transcripts: 1854
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Catterick
Diocese Pre-1836 - York; Post-1835 - Ripon
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

MICKLEY, a village and a chapelry in Kirkby-Malzeard parish, W. R. Yorkshire. There are a Wesleyan chapel, and a Church of England school. [1] Mickley is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Yorkshire, created in 1844 from Kirkby Malzeard Ancient Parish.
Wesleyan Methodist is the only identified non-Church of England denomination in Mickley

Mickley , eccl. dist. and vil., Kirkby Malzeard par., E. div. West-Riding Yorkshire - dist., pop. 365; vil., on river Ure, 5½ miles From: Bartholomew

MICKLEY , a village and a chapelry in Kirkby-Malzeard parish, West Riding, Yorkshire. The village stands on the river Ure.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Records

Online data content from chapelry registers of Mickley exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:

IARC = Archive.org
FS = FamilySearch.org
AC = Ancestry - (£)[2]
HATH = HathiTrust.org
JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)
MICKLEY CHAPELRY (1***) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS None

None

None

JOIN None

None

None

AC None

None

None


KIRKBY MALZEARD PARISH (1605) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1605-1764, 1795, 1840-1872

1737, 1740, 1808

1840-1872

JOIN None

None

None

AC None

None

None



For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Mickley and comprising the whole ancient parish of Kirkby Malzeard to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the KIRKBY MALZEARED PARISH PAGE.

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464250.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. 1870-72, John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales Date accessed: 23 October 2013.
  2. 'West Yorkshire, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1512-1812,' Ancestry, accessed 10 May 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 5 November 2014, at 02:01.
  • This page has been accessed 1,280 times.