Middleton, LancashireEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
England
Lancashire
Lancashire Parishes
View a List of Chapelries within Middleton Parish.
Contents |
Parish History
MIDDLETON St. Leonard, a market-town and a parish, in the hundred of Salford, S. division of Lancashire; containing, with the chapelries of Ainsworth and Ashworth, and the townships of Birtle cum Bamford, Hopwood, Great Lever, Pilsworth, and Thornham, is 6 miles north by northeast from Manchester.
At Ainsworth, Ashworth, Birch, and Birtle Thornham, are separate incumbencies [chapels of ease with parish registers--all of which lay within the boundary of St Leonard Middleton Parish]. There are places of worship for Independents, Primitive Methodists, Wesleyans, the Countess of Huntingdon's Connexion, and Swedenborgians.[1]
Resources
Civil Registration
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two outstanding Internet sites with indexes to vital births, marriages and deaths for Lancashire and England in general:
- FreeBMD - from 1837 to 1940; later (part.) with free B M Ds for the county and country
- Lancashire BMD - Online index of Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths; and provides the parish or place of marriages
Church records
Online Records
Middleton St Leonard's parish registers and those registers of many of its smaller chapelries lying within its boundaries have been transcribed and are displayed online at the web sites listed below and for the following ranges of years:
| AC = Ancestry.co.uk (£) | |||||
| FMP = FindMyPast.co.uk (£) | |||||
| FREG = FreeReg | |||||
| FS = FamilySearch.org | |||||
| LBMD = LancashireBMD.org.uk | |||||
| LOPC = Lancashire Online Parish Clerk |
| MIDDLETON ST LEONARD PARISH (1541) Indexes | |||||
| |
Baptisms | Marriages | Burials | ||
| FS | 1541-1752 | ||||
| LOPC | 1695-1874 | 1541-1836 | 1541-1874 | ||
| LBMD | None | 1837-1974 | None | ||
| FMP | None | 1541-1752 | None | ||
| AC | 1541-1752 | 1541-1752 | 1541-1752 | ||
| FREG | 1541-1630, 1653-1729 | 1541-1644, 1658-1729 | 1641-1729 | ||
| MIDDLETON HOLY TRINITY Chapelry (1862) Indexes | |||||
| Baptisms | Marriages | Burials | |||
| FS | None | None | None | ||
| LBMD | None | 1862-1965 - part. | 1863-1970 | ||
| AINSWORTH CHRIST CHURCH Chapelry (1727) Indexes | |||||
| |
Baptisms | Marriages | Burials | ||
| FS | 1727-1912 | 1731-1754; 1808-1837; 1843-1948 | 1727-1948 | ||
| LOPC | None | None | None | ||
| LBMD | None | 1837-1900 | None | ||
| ASHWORTH ST JAMES Chapelry (1813) Indexes | |||||
| |
Baptisms | Marriages | Burials | ||
| FS | 1813-1869 | 1813-1845 | 1836-1869 | ||
| LOPC | None | None | None | ||
| LBMD | None | None | None | ||
| BIRCH IN HOPWOOD ST MARY Chapelry (1829) Indexes | |||||
| |
Baptisms | Marriages | Burials | ||
| FS | 1829-1839 | None | 1829-1839 | ||
| LOPC | None | None | None | ||
| LBMD | None | 1839-1974 | None | ||
| BIRTLE ST JOHN THE BAPTIST Chapelry (1846) Indexes | |||||
| |
Baptisms | Marriages | Burials | ||
| FS | 1846-1910 | 1857-1935 | None | ||
| LOPC | None | None | None | ||
| LBMD | None | 1854-1925 | None | ||
| BOWLEE ST THOMAS Chapelry (1877) Indexes | |||||
| Baptisms | Marriages | Burials | |||
| FS | None | None | None | ||
| LBMD | None | None | None | ||
| GREAT LEVER ST BARTHOLOMEW Chapelry (1879) Indexes | |||||
| |
Baptisms | Marriages | Burials | ||
| FS | None | None | None | ||
| LOPC | 1879-1934 | 1880-1927 | |||
| GREAT LEVER ST MICHAEL WITH ST BARTHOLOMEW Chapelry (1851) Indexes | |||||
| |
Baptisms | Marriages | Burials | ||
| FS | 1851-1910 |
1851-1935 | None | ||
| LOPC | 1851-1906 | 1851-1924 | 1851-1928 | ||
| LBMD | None | None | None | ||
| HOPWOOD Chapelry - see Birch St Mary Chapelry | |||||
| RHODES ALL SAINTS Chapelry (1864) Indexes | |||||
| |
Baptisms | Marriages | Burials | ||
| FS | None | None | None | ||
| LOPC | None | None | None | ||
| LBMD | None | 1864-1974 | None | ||
| THORNHAM ST JOHN THE EVANGELIST Chapelry (1841) Indexes | |||||
| |
Baptisms | Marriages | Burials | ||
| FS | None | None | None | ||
| LOPC | None | None | None | ||
| LBMD | None | 1911-1974 | None | ||
Middleton parish registers may be found at the Manchester Archives and Local Studies, Central Library, St Peter's Square, Manchester M2 5PD.
Bishop's transcripts for Middleton, 1609-1874 Microreproduction of original manuscripts housed at the Lancashire Record Office, Preston.
Lancashire Record Office: ref. DRM/2/221-230
Here's some of the microfilm copies of Middleton St Leonard's Parish available at The Family History Library, Salt Lake City, UT, U.S.A.. These can be circulated to any one of its satellite FamilySearch Centers worldwide
| Content |
Film |
| Baptisms, marriages and burials, 1609-1641, 1662- 1690, 1721-1729 |
FHL BRITISH Film 1545656 Item 6 |
| Baptisms, marriages and burials, 1730-1805 |
FHL BRITISH Film 1545698 |
| Baptisms, marriages and burials, 1805-1819 |
FHL BRITISH Film 1545699 |
| Baptisms, marriages and burials, 1820-1826 |
FHL BRITISH Film 1545700 |
| Baptisms, marriages and burials, 1827-1832 |
FHL BRITISH Film 1545701 |
| Baptisms and burials, 1833-1839; marriages, 1833- 1837 |
FHL BRITISH Film 1545702 |
| Baptisms, burials, 1840-1847, baptisms, 1865-1868, burials, 1865-1868, baptisms, 1869-1870, burials, 1869-1870, baptisms, burials, 1871, 1873. |
FHL BRITISH Film 1545703 |
| Baptisms and burials, 1873-1874 |
FHL BRITISH Film 1545704 Item 1 |
Census records
Census records from 1841-1891 are available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306910. To view these census images online, they are available through the following websites for a fee ($) or free:
- FamilySearch has some of the British Censuses available.
- FindMyPast ($) has all available census records including images, and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and some public and academic libraries.
- Ancestry.co.uk ($) has now all available census records but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and at numerous public and academic libraries. The library versions are known as AncestryInstitution.com.
- The Genealogist.co.uk ($) has all available censuses and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
- FreeCen is a UK census searches. It is not complete and individuals are always asked to consider helping out with transcriptions.
Poor Law Unions
Probate records
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Web sites
Here are some major websites affecting Lanacashire online family history research:
Civil Registration:
- FreeBMD - from 1837 to 1940; later (part.) with free B M Ds for the county and country
- Lancashire BMD - Online index of Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths; and provides the parish or place of marriages
Church Records:
- FamilySearch.org
- Lancashire Online Parish Clerk
- FindMyPast.co.uk
- LancashireBMD
- Ancestry.co.uk
- FreeReg
http://www.british-history.ac.uk/report.aspx?compid=53020 British History Online Middleton
http://www.british-history.ac.uk/report.aspx?compid=53020 Pilsworth
References
- ↑ A Topographical Dictionary of England by Samuel Lewis  (1848), pp. 306-310. URL: http://www.british-history.ac.uk/report.aspx?compid=51148 Adapted. Date accessed: 09 June 2010.
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 11 February 2013, at 05:10.
- This page has been accessed 858 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More
