Middleton, SussexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Sussex Gotoarrow.png Sussex Parishes

Guide to Middleton, Sussex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Middleton, Sussex
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Avisford
County Sussex
Poor Law Union Westhampnett PLU
Registration District Westhampnett
Records begin
Parish registers: 1553
Bishop's Transcripts: 1592
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Arundel
Diocese Chichester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Chichester
Location of Archive
Sussex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

MIDDLETON, a parish in Westhampnett district, Sussex; on the coast, 2½ miles E of Bognor r. station. It includes the hamlet of Elmer; and its Post town is Bognor. The old church was swept away by the sea; and the present church was built in 1849. Middleton-on-Sea St Nicholas is in the Arun District of West Sussex and is effectively part of Bognor.[1]

Sussex Parish Churches history of the church Middleton St Nicholas The original church built in 1849 has been heavily modernised in 1977-1978.

Sussex Online Parish Clerks (OPC) Middleton West Sussex and Middleton St Nicholas

List of places of worship in Arun

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

From 1837 this parish was in the Westhmpnett registration district From 1935 this became part of Chichester registration district
Certificates can be ordered from West Sussex
Centralised Certificates Office
Registration Service
West Sussex Record Office
County Hall
Chichester
PO19 1RN
Phone: 01243 642122

Church records

Middleton, Sussex parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)[3]
Middleton, Sussex Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
IGI 1560-1837, 1850-1876 1566-1789, 1805-1835, 1849-1877
PRTS 1560-1908
1566-1909
1551-1797, 1836-1837, 1849-1909

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Middleton

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474671.

See Sussex Census

Poor Law Unions

Westhampnett Poor Law Union, Sussex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web Sites

http://genuki.org.uk/big/eng/SSX/Middleton/

References

  1. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales Date accessed: 30 September 2013
  2. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Sussex, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 2 January 2014.
  3. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 15 December 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:28.
  • This page has been accessed 973 times.