Middlewich, CheshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Parishes

Guide to Middlewich, Cheshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Middlewich, Cheshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Eddisbury; Northwich
County Cheshire
Poor Law Union Northwich PLU
Registration District Nantwich; Northwich
Records begin
Parish registers: 1613
Bishop's Transcripts: 1588
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Middlewich
Diocese Pre-1541 - Lichfield and Coventry; Post-1540 - Chester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1541 - Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory) Post-1540 - Court of the Bishop of Cheshire (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Cheshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

MIDDLEWICH (St. Michael and All Angels), is a market-town and parish, in the union of Northwich, and South division of the county of Chester; comprising the townships of Byley withYatehouse,Clive, Croxton, Kinderton with Hulme, Middlewich, Minshull-Vernon,Mooresbarrow with Parme, Newton,Occlestone, Ravenscroft, Sproston, Stublach, Sutton, Wimboldsley, and part of Leese; and the township of Weever. There are places of worship for the Society of Friends,Independents, and Wesleyans.[1]

There has been a settlement at Middlewich since at least the time of the Roman occupation.  The parish church of St. Michael and All Angels, dates back to the 12th century. Middlewich is a market town in the unitary authority of Cheshire East and the ceremonial county of Cheshire, England.

Middlewich was a township in Middlewich Parish, Northwich Hundred, which became a civil parish in 1866.
It was extended in 1894 to include parts of Kinderton cum Hulme and Newton (near Middlewich).

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241250.

Church records

Middlewich St Michael parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:

FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
Middlewich St Michael Parish (1588) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's 1613-1909
  NONE
1613-1934
  NONE
1613-1898
  NONE
FS BT'S 1600-1877
  NONE
1600-1836
  NONE
1600-1860
  NONE

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Middlewich, St Michael and All Angels, Cheshire

Non-Conformist Churches

Middlewich, St. Mary, New King Street. Founded 1865, Built in 1890. Registers of baptisms 1866–1953 and marriages 1869–1942 are at the  Cheshire Record OfficeReference ERC 7
 Middlewich St Mary's Roman Catholic church
Date 1866-1971
Description baptism registers 1866-1953, marriage registers 1869-1942, confirmation register 1880-1958,1971
Their website is here.
Middlewich, Central Methodist Chapel (Wesleyan), Lewin Street. Built in 1828, rebuilt in 1909, closed in 1969.Cheshire Record Office reference EMS 189
 Middlewich, Central Chapel
Date 1809-1973
Registers of christenings and marriages, minutes, accounts, administrative records
A chapel was built in Lewin Street by the Wesleyan Methodists in 1828. A new building was erected in 1909 and closed in 1969.
Extent 245 items
Their website is here

Church records for the Central Wesleyan Methodist Chapel, Lewin Street, Middlewich, 1840-1969 Cheshire Record Office reference: EMS 189/1/1-3; EMS 189/2/1-4

An index for Cheshire Non-conformist records is available online at FamilySearch Historical Records

Other Content FHL Film
Baptisms, 1840-1940. Marriages, 1918-1969 BRITISH 2299474 Items 3 - 9
Baptisms, 1840-1940. BRITISH 2000038 Items 7 - 9

Middlewich, United Reformed Church (Independent/Congregational), Queen Street. Founded 1797.

Church records, 1809-1837 Public Record Office, London.Births, baptisms and burials, 1809-1837

Other Content FHL Film
Church records BRITISH 20048 Item 15
Church records BRITISH 1482352 Item 6

Church records for the Chester Road United Methodist Free Chapel, Middlewich, 1868-1904 Cheshire Record Office reference: EMS 191/1/1-2.

An index for Cheshire Non-conformist records is available online at FamilySearch Historical  Records 

Other Content FHL Film
Baptisms, 1868-1904 BRITISH 2299474 Items 10 - 11

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts =
  •  Northwich (1837–1974)
  • Congleton and Crewe (1974–88)
  • South Cheshire (1988–98)
  • Cheshire Central (post 1998)

Poor Law Unions

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

see also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Middlewich on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, 'A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848). Date Accessed: 2 April 2013

Bibliography

Richards, Raymond (1947), Old Cheshire Churches, London: B. T Batsford, pp. 234–237

Salter, Mark (1995), The Old Parish Churches of Cheshire, Malvern: Folly Publications, p. 52, ISBN 1871731232

Richards, Raymond (1971), Old Cheshire Churches: A Survey of their History, Fabric and Furniture with Records of the Older Monuments

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 14 November 2014, at 20:21.
  • This page has been accessed 2,804 times.