Midhurst, SussexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Sussex   Gotoarrow.png  Sussex Parishes

Midhurst, Sussex
Midhurst St Mary Magdalene& St Denys Sussex.jpg
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Easebourne
County Sussex
Poor Law Union Midhurst PLU
Registration District Midhurst
Records begin
Parish registers: 1565
Bishop's Transcripts: 1591
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Midhurst
Diocese Chichester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Chichester
Location of Archive
Sussex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

MIDHURST (St. Denis), a borough, market-town, and parish, and the head of a union, in the hundred of Easebourne, rape of Chichester, W. division of Sussex, 11½ miles (N. by E.) from Chichester, and 49¼ (S. W.) from London.[1]


Midhurst St Mary Magdalene and St Denys is an Ecclesiastical Parish and a market town in the county of Sussex, created in 1725 from chapelry in Easebourne, Sussex  Ancient Parish. Other places in the parish include: St John of Jerusalem.

The history of this church Midhurst

The Parish church of St Mary Midhurst has been designated a grade II* listed building British listed building

Midhurst Sussex Online Parish Clerks(OPC)

See also Midhurst Wikipedia and Congregational Church List of demolished worship places in West Sussex

A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 310-313. here

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

From 1837 the history of civil registration can be found at Midhurst registration district Certificates can be ordered from West Sussex Centralized Certificates Office Registration Service West Sussex Record Office County Hall Chichester PO19 1RN Phone: 01243 642122

Church records

Midhurst, Sussex parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[2]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[3]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[4]
PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)[5]
SOPC = Sussex Online Parish Clerks - free[6]
MIDHURST PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1653-1775

IGI 1565-1876 1565-1876
PALL
1790-1812

PRTS 1565-1901
1565-1900
1565-1900
SOPC Undefined


Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Midhurst

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464156.

Poor Law Unions

Midhurst Poor Law Union, Sussex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 310-313. Date accessed: 30 September 2013
  2. 'Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county', Origins.net (Wayback Machine), accessed 30 December 2013.
  3. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Sussex, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 2 January 2014.
  4. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  5. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 15 December 2013.
  6. Sussex Online Parish Clerks, accessed 7 January 2014.



 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 July 2014, at 23:13.
  • This page has been accessed 1,102 times.