Midley, KentEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Kent Gotoarrow.png Kent Parishes

Guide to Midley, Kent family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Midley, Kent
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Romney Marsh Liberty
County Kent
Poor Law Union Romney Marsh PLU
Registration District Romney Marsh
Records begin
Parish registers: None; For records see Shorne
Bishop's Transcripts: 1574
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Lympne
Diocese Canterbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Canterbury
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Midley is an Ancient Parish in Romney Marsh with a mediaeval ruined church on the marsh. There are four similar ruined churches in Romney Marsh which fell into ruin as storms inundated the marsh land.

The Ancient Parish became part of Old Romney, Kent which has the parish legal name of St Clement Old Romney with Midley.

See Edward Hasted The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 8 (1799), pp. 410-414 at British History Online

MIDLEY, a parish, in the union of Romney-Marsh, hundred of Martin-Pountney, lathe of Shepway, E. division of Kent, 3 miles (W. S. W.) from New Romney. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

See Romney Marsh Registration District

Kent County Council (KCC) has a certificate centre at the Mansion House in Tunbridge Wells which holds all the completed registers for Kent since 1 July 1837 and can supply a certified copy of any Kent birth, death or marriage entry from any register within its custody or a Kent civil partnership registration from the government online database.

The Mansion House
(Certificate Centre)
Grove Hill Road
Tunbridge Wells
Kent TN1 1EP

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts, non conformist and other types of church records, such as parish chest records.

Family History Library film numbers
Midley

Bishops Transcripts are held at Canterbury Cathedral Archives, The Precinct, Canterbury

See also England, Kent, Parish Registers and Bishop's Transcripts (FamilySearch Historical Records)

From Spring 2012 material formerly held at

Centre for Kentish Studies,County Hall,Maidstone,Kent ME14 1XX

is available at Kent History and Library Centre see Kent Archives



Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306873.



Poor Law Unions

Romney Marsh Poor Law Union, Kent

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

See England, Kent, Wills and Probate (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Local Family History Centre

Canterbury Family History Centre, Kent

Maidstone Family History Centre, Kent

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 310-313. Date accessed: 17 April 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 June 2014, at 14:13.
  • This page has been accessed 2,140 times.