Millbrook, CornwallEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  CornwallGotoarrow.png  Cornwall Parishes

Guide to Millbrook, Cornwall family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Millbrook, Cornwall
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred East
County Cornwall
Poor Law Union St Germans PLU
Registration District St Germans
Records begin
Parish registers: 1867; For more records see Maker
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery East
Diocese Exeter
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Cornwall
Location of Archive
Cornwall Record Office

Contents

Parish History

MILLBROOK, (Cornish: Govermelin) All Saints was a chapelry of Maker, Cornwall Ancient Parish, and fishing-village in Maker parish, Cornwall. The village stands on an inlet of the Tamar, 2 miles, across the Hamoaze, S of Devonport r. station. It has a post office under Devonport, and fairs on 1 May and 29 Sept., and was once a market-town and a borough. [1]

It was created as a parish in 1867. It is located in the Hundred and deanery of East. It is separated from the city of Plymouth by the River Tamar, and until 1869 was administered as part of the parish of Maker. There is evidence that there has been a settlement here since the Stone Age. In the 17th century it possessed a large fishing fleet, and the convenience of water transport led to the development of industries such as brickyards and the manufacture of gunpowder.

It is part of the St John with Millbrook United Benefice in the Diocese of Truro.

Resources

Civil Registration

Births, marriages and deaths were kept by the government from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is Free BMD.

Church records

Millbrook, Cornwall parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

COPC = Cornwall Online Parish Clerks - free[2]
FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[3]
FREG = FreeREG - free[4]
FS PRs = England, Cornwall and Devon Parish Registers, 1538-2010 (FamilySearch) - free[5]
Millbrook, Cornwall Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
COPC 1889-1913
1869-1906
1870-1934
FMP 1867-1870
FREG 1867-1900

1870-1901
FS PRs 1867-1900 1869-1906 1870-1901

Images of parish registers are available online at FamilySearch Images refer to Cornwall Record Office reference: P 152

Cornwall Online Parish Clerks

An extremely useful resource is the Cornwall Online Parish Clerks page for the parish Cornwall Online Parish Clerks.

The history, registers and much more have been contributed by the Online Parish clerk for Millbrook.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241259.

Cornwall Online Census Project

Poor Law Unions

St Germans Poor Law Union

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cornwall Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

There are many maps and gazetteers showing English places. Valuable web sites are:

Websites

Millbrook in GENUKI

References

  1. John Marius Wilson Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales. (1870). Date accessed: 7 Nov 2013.
  2. 'Coverage by Parish,' Cornwall Online Parish Clerks, accessed 3 December 2013.
  3. 'Cornwall Baptisms', Find My Past, accessed 22 November 2013.
  4. 'Cornwall Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 18 November 2013.
  5. 'England, Cornwall and Devon Parish Registers, 1538-2010', FamilySearch, accessed 26 November 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 August 2014, at 15:55.
  • This page has been accessed 1,372 times.