Miller County, ArkansasEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Arkansas Gotoarrow.png Miller County

Guide to Miller County Arkansas genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Arkansas State with State Seal.png Arkansas
Online Records


Miller County, Arkansas
Map
Map of Arkansas highlighting Miller County
Location in the state of Arkansas
Map of the U.S. highlighting Arkansas
Location of Arkansas in the U.S.
Facts
Founded April 1, 1820
County Seat Texarkana
Courthouse
Address Miller County Courthouse
Vital Records
400 Laurel Street, Texarkana, AR 71854
Phone: 870-774-1501


Contents

County Courthouse

Miller County Courthouse
Vital Records
400 Laurel Street, Texarkana, AR 71854
Phone: 870-774-1501

County Clerk has marriage, probate and land records from 1875; Clerk Circuit Court has divorce and court records.[1]

Beginning years for Miller County, Arkansas government records[2]
Birth Marriage Death Court Land Probate
1914* 1875 1914* 1874 1874 1874
*State birth and death records began in 1914. Limited compliance until 1920's

History

Parent County

1820--Miller County was created 1 April 1820 from Lafayette County. It was abolished in 1836 and re-established in 1874.  County seat: Texarkana [3]

The county was named for James Miller, territorial governor of Arkansas.

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Arkansas county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Arkansas County Boundary Maps" (1813-1925) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.


Variant Spellings

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Arkansas counties see: Arkansas Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places/Localities

Town/city records in the FamilySearch Catalog'

Populated Places

Towns and Cities:  Rondo, Garland City, Sulphur Township and Texarkana

The City of Texarkana is located in two states. In the middle of the city is a street called State Line Road which separates the city between Bowie County, Texas and Miller County, Arkansas. Texarkana is the county seat for Miller County, Arkansas, and a marriage license purchased in Miller County, Arkansas is not valid in the State of Texas.

Neighboring Counties

Bossier Parish, Louisiana  • Bowie County, Texas  • Caddo Parish, Louisiana  • Cass County, Texas  • Hempstead  • Lafayette  • Little River  •

Miller CountyLittle River CountyHempstead CountyLafayette CountyBowie CountyBossier ParishCass CountyCaddo ParishColumbia CountyNevada CountyHoward CountyMcCurtain CountyMarion CountyHarrison CountyMorris CountyWebster CountySevier CountyARMiller.JPG

Genealogy Resources

Research Guides

African Americans

Bible Records

Cemeteries

Online Miller County, Arkansas cemeteries from state and national resources
Search for names of people
(County-wide)
Get a list of cemeteries
(Most click to names of people)
Find published records
(Often more complete)
  • Find A Grave Click "Refine Last Search" on the left, change the name, then "Search"
  • Billion Graves Change the name, then "Search" (Statewide, many counties nil)
  • ARGenWeb Select a county, then "Cemeteries." Some overlap with USGenWeb.

More cemetery lists


Census

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For more information, see the Arkansas Church Records wiki page.

Church Records - partial listing  -  USGenWeb Archives

Court

Genealogy

Land and Property

Land and property records can 1) place an ancestor in a particular location, 2) provide economic information, 3) reveal family relationships and more.

After land was transferred to private ownership, transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse in the form of deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, and others.

See Arkansas Land and Property for more about online collections and early Arkansas land grants and patents from the government to private ownership.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for {{{1}}} County. They may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more about local histories, see Arkansas Local Histories.

History Timeline

Emphasis for this timeline is on events that affected migration, records, or record-keeping. Unless otherwise mentioned, the events below were gleaned from Arkansas County - The Encyclopedia of Arkansas History & Culture [1]

  • People have lived in the Miller County area for at least 10,000 years.
  • 1778 - By this time, the Caddo Indians, who had inhabited the area, left their towns in the Great Bend region of southwest Arkansas.
  • 1700s - This area was claimed by the Quapaw
  • 1820 April 1 - The legislature established Miller County
  • 1838 - the first Miller County was abolished
  • 1850 - Interest in settling in this part of the state was slow to develop because the U.S. government had listed the area as “swamplands,” unfit for settlement, under the Swamp Lands Act of 1850.
  • 1874 December 22 - Miller County was reestablished.
  • 1874-1900 - The county’s population boomed, mainly in response to the railroad and the influx of immigrants and settlers.
  • 1940s - World War II boosted Miller County’s economy with two manufacturing facilities just over the state line: the Red River Army Ammunition Plant and the Lone Star Army Ammunition Depot.

Maps

Military

Revolutionary War
  • Rejected or Suspended Applications for Revolutionary War Pensions. Washington, D.C., 1852. Reprinted by Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 1969, and 1991. Reprints include "an Added Index to States." FHL Collection 973 M24ur; digital version at Ancestry ($). [Includes veterans from this county; Arkansas section begins on page 439.]
World War I
World War II
Korean War
Vietnam War

Naturalization

Newspapers

Finding More Arkansas Newspapers Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Miller County, Arkansas newspapers in online catalogs like:

Occupations

Probate Records

How_to_Use_Probate_RecordsProbate Legal Scales.JPG

Probate records of Arkansas have been kept by the probate or county courts. You can obtain copies of the original records by contacting the clerk's office in the county courthouse.

The Family History Library has microfilm copies of many Arkansas probate records. See Arkansas Probate Records for more information about Probate records in Arkansas, including statewide indexes.

  • Probate Records 1875-1931 Part of: Arkansas Probate Records, 1817-1979 FamilySearch Historical Collections (Free, browse images)
    • Includes Administration records 1875-1918; Dockets 1883-1889; Executor records 1875-1918; Guardian records 1875-1918; Probate record index 1875; Probate records 1875-1893; Wills 1875-1931.

Taxation

Arkansas tax records replace missing censuses and provide lists of residents during years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years for some counties. For more information see Arkansas Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Arkansas Vital Records State Department of Health, the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online. See also How to order Arkansas Vital Records

See also How to order Arkansas Vital Records

Birth
Marriage
Death
Vital Record Substitutes

Genealogy Societies and Libraries

  • Arkansas History Commission & State Archives
    One Capitol Mall
    Little Rock, AR 72201
    Tel: 501-682-6900
  • Arkansas Historical Association
    History Department
    Ozark Hall, 12, University of Arkansas
    Old Main 416
    Fayetteville, AR 72701
    Tel: 501-575-5884

Family History Centers

Websites



Sites with online indexes or images of records
ARGenWeb Free Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
USGenWeb Archives Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Sites that search for links pertaining to Miller County, Arkansas
RootsWeb Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Linkpendium Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
CyndisList Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
StateofUS Free family history resources and government records
Major catalogs for hard copy collections of Miller County, Arkansas
Books, microfilm, or manuscripts of genealogical records
FamilySearch catalog Select topics. To select towns, add a comma to the search box.
WorldCat To find nearby libraries that have specific items, see WorldCat Online Catalog.
Allen County Public Library located in Indiana They are heavily involved in digitizing.
Arkansas History Commission AR state agency involved in organizing and maintaining state and local history of AR
See also local libraries and Arkansas Archives and Libraries
Social networking sites pertaining to Miller County, Arkansas
GeneaBloggers enter "arkansas" in the search box to see a list and links to Arkansas Blogs
Google+ list of groups from "arkansas genealogy" search
Facebook list of groups from "Arkansas Genealogy" search
genealogy.com Miller County, AR Genealogy Forum
ancestry.com Miller County Message Board

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists : United States of America, 10th ed., (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002), p. 69.
  2. Alice Eichholz, Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, 3rd ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry Pub., 2004), 65-67. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 2004.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  4. FamilySearch Wiki contributors, "Arkansas County Marriages (FamilySearch Historical Records)," in FamilySearch Wiki, accessed 18 April 2013.
  5. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/0/0d/Igiarkansasem.pdf.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 2 October 2014, at 16:14.
  • This page has been accessed 9,563 times.