Miller County, MissouriEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Missouri
Miller County
Guide to Miller County Missouri genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Miller County, Missouri | |
| Map | |
![]() Location of Missouri in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded | February 6, 1837 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | Tuscumbia |
| Courthouse | |
| Address | Miller County Courthouse PO Box 12; Tuscumbia, MO 65082; Phone: 573.369.2731 Miller County Website |
Contents
|
County Courthouse
County Clerk has birth records 1883-1891;
County Recorder has marriage and divorce
records; Probate Judge has probate records
Clerk Circuit Court has court records[1]
History
Miller County, Missouri was organized 6 February 1837. The county was named after Congressman and Missouri governor John Miller. You will find more history by selecting: HISTORY.
Parent County
1837--Miller County was created 6 February 1837 from Cole and Pulaski Counties. County seat: Tuscumbia [2]
Boundary Changes
- Gerald [sic; should be Gerard] Schultz History Page (scroll down to "Boundaries" section) (Miller County Historical Society)
- Interactive map of Missouri county boundary changes, including Miller County (n2genealogy)
Record Loss
Places/Localities
| |||||||||||||||||||
To see a list of places in Miller County, click on [Show], in the bar above.
Populated Places
Townships:
- Equality Township: City-Data.com | Histopolis | Miller County Historical Society
- Franklin Township: City-Data.com | Histopolis | Miller County Historical Society
- Glaize Township: City-Data.com | Histopolis | Miller County Historical Society
- Jim Henry Township: Histopolis | Miller County Historical Society
- Osage Township: Histopolis | Miller County Historical Society
- Richwoods Township: City-Data.com | Histopolis | Miller County Historical Society
- Saline Township: City-Data.com | Histopolis | Miller County Historical Society
Communities:
- Iberia: Histopolis | Official site
- Tuscumbia: City.Data.com | Histopolis | HomeTownLocator | Wikipedia
Resources
For more about Miller County populated places, see the following:
- A Directory of Towns, Villages, and Hamlets Past and Present of Miller County Missouri (Springfield-Greene County Library District)
- Historic Miller County Communities (Miller County Museum & Historical Society)
- Miller County Communities (ePodunk)
- Miller County Place Names, 1928-1945 (State Historical Society of Missouri)
- Post Offices & Post Masters (Genealogy Trails)
- Post Offices in Miller Co., Missouri (Missouri Postal History)
Resources
General
- Miller County, Missouri (records in the Western Historical Manuscripts Collection) (University of Missouri at Rolla)
- Miller County Records: County Records Which Are Available on Microfilm (pdf; Miller County Museum & Historical Society)
- Missouri State Archives Guide to County and Municipal Records on Microfilm: Miller (pdf; Missouri State Archives)
Cemeteries
General
- Cemeteries (Genealogy Trails)
- Cemeteries (scroll down in page; GenWeb)
- Cemeteries of Miller County (Miller County Museum & Historical Society)
- Cemetery Records (USGenWeb Archives)
- Cemetery Search Results (for Miller County) (Find A Grave)
- Ellsberry, Elizabeth Prather. Cemetery Records of Miller County, Missouri. Chillicothe, MO: Self-published, n.d. WorldCat
- Equality Township, Miller County, Missouri. [no publication data, 1970s] (cemetery records). WorldCat
- Franklin Township, Miller County, Missouri. [no publication data, 1970s] (cemetery records). WorldCat
- Glaize Township, Miller County, Missouri. [no publication data, 1970s] (cemetery records). WorldCat
- Jim Henry Township, Miller County, Missouri. [no publication data, 1970s] (cemetery records). WorldCat
- Kelsay, Carl G. Tombstone Inscriptions, Miller County, Missouri. Rocky Mount, MO?: Self-published, 1972?. WorldCat
- Kelsay, Carl G., et al. Index to Cemeteries, Miller County, Missouri. Rocky Mount, MO: [s.n.], 1972?. WorldCat
- Miller County (The Tombstone Transcription Project)
- Miller County Cemeteries (ePodunk)
- Miller County Cemetery Records (Interment.net)
- Osage Township, Miller County, Missouri. [no publication data, 1970s] (cemetery records). WorldCat
- Richwoods Township, Miller County, Missouri. [no publication data, 1970s] (cemetery records). WorldCat
- Saline Township, Miller County, Missouri. [no publication data, 1970s] (cemetery records). WorldCat
Specific cemeteries
- Eldon Cemetery: Yarnell, Ilene Sims. Eldon, Mo. Cemetery, Miller County. Versailles, MO: Self-published, 196-?. WorldCat
- Tol Wood Cemetery: Arnel, James, and Karen Arnel. Tol Wood Cemetery, Franklin Township, Miller County, Missouri. Wichita, KS: Self-published, 2003. WorldCat
Census
General
- Census (scroll down in page; GenWeb)
- Census Records (USGenWeb Archives)
1840
- 1840 Census (GenWeb)
- McKinley, Robert L. 1840 Census of Miller County, Missouri with Annotations. Bowie, MD: Heritage Books, 1997. WorldCat
1850
- 1850 Census (GenWeb): Part 1 | Part 2 | Part 3 | Index
- Ellsberry, Elizabeth Prather. Miller County, Missouri 1850 Federal Census. Chillicothe, MO: Self-published, n.d. WorldCat
- Strange, Gaylord. 1850 & 1860 Census, Miller County, Missouri. Eldon, MO: Self-published, 1986?. WorldCat
1860
- Ellsberry, Elizabeth Prather. 1860 Census for Miller County, Missouri. Chillicothe, MO: Self-published, n.d. WorldCat
- Strange, Gaylord. 1850 & 1860 Census, Miller County, Missouri. Eldon, MO: Self-published, 1986?. WorldCat
1870
- Strange, Gaylord, 1870 Census, Miller County, Missouri. Eldon, MO: Self-published, 198-?. WorldCat
1880
- Strange, Gaylord. 1880 Census, Miller County, Missouri. Eldon, MO: Self-published, 1986?. WorldCat
1900
- 1900 Census (USGenWeb Archives)
1920
- 1920 Census (USGenWeb Archives)
Church
- Miller County Baptist Association
- Minutes of the . . . Annual Session of the Miller County Association of Baptist Churches, 1891-1957. Aurora Springs, MO: Cresset Job Print. WorldCat
Court
Education
- Gageville School (historical location; map)
Genealogies and Biographies
General
- Family Histories (at Library of the Miller County Historical Society)
- Hake, Peggy Smith. Pioneer Families of Miller County, Missouri: A Journey to the Past. St. Elizabeth, MO: Self-published, 2000. WorldCat | Index
Specific families
- Gott family: Gott, Jeannette Whitten. The Gott Family of Miller County, Missouri, 1650-1992. Lakewood, CO: Self-published, 2007. WorldCat | Google Books (no preview)
- Humphrey family: The Humphrey Family of Miller County, Missouri
- Livingston family: The Livingston Family of Miller County (GenWeb)
- Teaverbaugh family: The Missouri Ancestry of Robert Reed ("The Brady Bunch") (GenealogyMagazine.com)
- West family: John Laffoon West and Family (Genealogy & History Notes)
Land
- Bureau of Land Management, General Land Office (land patent searches; searching for Miller County, Missouri without entering a name yields 208 pages of hits)
- Miller County Recorder's Office
Local Histories
- Hake, Peggy Smith. They Left a Legacy: Historical Stories of Miller County, Missouri. St. Elizabeth, MO: Self-published, 1991. WorldCat
- History of Miller County (Welcome to Miller County website)
- Jenkins, Clyde Lee. Judge Jenkins' History of Miller County, Missouri. Tuscumbia, MO, 1971. WorldCat
- Jenkins, Clyde Lee, and Clayton Edwin Jenkins. Judge Jenkins' History of Miller County, Missouri. Tuscumbia, MO?: Clayton Edwin Jenkins, 1995. WorldCat
- Miller County History and Vittles. Tuscumbia, MO: Miller County Historical Society, 1991. WorldCat
- Osage River Country: A History of the People and Places of Miller County, Missouri. Tuscumbia, MO: Miller County Historical Society, 1995. WorldCat
- Schultz, Gerard. A History of Miller County, Missouri. Jefferson City, MO: Midland Printing Co., 1933. WorldCat
- Warman-Starlings, Kelly, and Kirk D. Warman. The Ghost Towns of Central Missouri: Cole, Miller & Moniteau Counties. Jefferson City, MO: Ketch's Printing, 1994?. WorldCat
Maps
- Boyd, Gregory A. Family Maps of Miller County, Missouri. Norman, OK: Arphax Publishing Co., 2006. Publisher | WorldCat. Available online at HistoryGeo.com ($). Free surname search.
- Libre Map Project (detailed online topographic maps of Miller County)
- Miller County Highway Map (pdf; MO Department of Transportation)
- Miller County, Missouri (maps of townships, communities, etc.; Histopolis)
- Miller County, Missouri 1857 (House Divided)
- Miller County, Missouri 1895 (1895 U.S. Atlas)
- Miller County, Missouri Zip Code Boundary Map
- Miller County Townships (simple outline map; scroll down in page)
- Plat Book of Miller County, Missouri. Rockford, IL: W.W. Hixson & Co., date uncertain, abt late 1920s-early 1930s. University of Missouri Digital Library (digital copy) | WorldCat
- Standard Atlas of Miller County. Chicago: Alden Publishing Co., 1905.
Military
General
- Military Records (USGenWeb Archives)
Civil War
World War II
- Miller County, Missouri World War II Casualties, Army and Air Force (Access Genealogy)
Miscellaneous
- Hake, Peggy Smith. Book of Marks and Brands, Miller County, Missouri, 1837-1856. St. Elizabeth, MO: Self-published, n.d. WorldCat | Internet Archive (digital copy)
Newspapers
- Chronicling America list of historic Miller County newspapers (Chronicling America at the Library of Congress)
- Miller County Autogram-Sentinel, Eldon, MO (current newspaper)
- Miller County, Missouri Newspapers on Microfilm at the State Historical Society (State Historical Society, Columbia, MO)
- Miller County Obituaries (Miller County Museum & Historical Society)
- Miller County, Missouri Obituaries (NewspaperObituaries.net)
- Miscellaneous Miller County Obituaries (Obit Central)
- Newspaperarchive.com ($) has historical newspapers available on-line. Their database has Jefferson City newspapers from the early 1900's that covered local news on residents from Miller County communities.
- Newspapers on Microfilm at the State Historical Society of Missouri (GenWeb)
- Obituary Records (USGenWeb Archives)
Probate
- Miller County Probate Records (Miller County Museum & Historical Society)
- Probate Guardianship (Miller County Museum & Historical Society)
- Will Book Transcriptions Prior to 1870 (GenWeb)
Taxation
Vital Records
Births
- Missouri Birth & Death Records Database, Pre-1910 (very incomplete, but searching for Miller County without entering a name yields 2,258 birth records) (Missouri State Archives)
- 1883-1891 - Miller County Birth Index 1883-1891. Batches C515876 and C515877 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
Marriages
- 1837-1882 - Miller County Marriage Books A and B Index 1837-1882. Batch M515431 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
- 1881-1885 - Miller County Marriage Book C Index 1881-1885. Batch M515432 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
- Barnhouse, August F., and Carl G. Kelsay. Marriages, Miller County, Missouri. Eldon, MO: A.F. Barnhouse, 1984?. WorldCat
- Hickok, Thelma Scott. Index to Marriages of Miller County, Missouri. Eldon, MO: Barnhouse and Kelsay, 1973-1974. WorldCat
- Marriage Transcriptions (GenWeb)
- Marriages of Miller and Maries Counties (Miller County Museum & Historical Society)
- Strange, Gaylord. Marriages, Miller County, Missouri. Eldon, MO: Self-published, n.d. WorldCat
Deaths
- Missouri Birth & Death Records Database, Pre-1910 (very incomplete, but searching for Miller County without entering a name yields 646 death records) (Missouri State Archives)
- Missouri Death Certificates, 1910-1960 (online digital scans; searching for Miller County without entering a name yields 6,437 records) (Missouri State Archives)
- See also Newspapers > Obituaries (above)
Societies and Libraries
- Heartland Regional Library System (Miller and Maries Counties)
- Miller County Museum, Home of Miller County Historical Society
Family History Centers
Web Sites
- Family History Library Catalog
- Miller County Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
- Miller County GenWeb (MOGenWeb)
- Miller County, Missouri (Emslanders to the American Mid-West)
- Miller County, Missouri Genealogical Forum (GenForum)
- Miller County, Missouri Genealogy & History (Genealogy Trails)
- Miller County, Missouri Genealogy, Facts and Records Resources (n2genealogy)
- Miller County USGenWeb Archives (USGenWeb Archives)
- Profile for Miller County, Missouri (ePodunk)
- Welcome to Miller County
References
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Miller County, Missouri. Page 403 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ 3.0 3.1 3.2 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/d/d8/Igimissourij.pdf.
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 23 April 2013, at 19:07.
- This page has been accessed 3,325 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More


