Mills County, TexasEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Mills County Texas ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Mills County, Texas|
Location of Texas in the U.S.
|Founded||March 15, 1887|
Mills County Courthouse
P.O. Box 646
Goldthwaite, Texas 76844-0646
County Clerk has birth and death records
from 1903, marriage, divorce, probate,
court and land records from 1887
Mills County has had only two Courthouses. The first courthouse was built in 1890, the year after Goldthwaite became the county seat. The courthouse burned in 1912 and the present Mills County Courthouse was built in 1913.
Mills County Courthouse
County Clerk's Office - Carolyn Foster
P.O. Box 646
Goldthwaite, Texas 76844
Inventory of the county archives of Texas : Mills County, no. 167. Inventory of records of Mills County housed in the Mills County Courthouse as of 1936. Digital book on line from The Portal to Texas History.
Inventory of county records, Mills County Courthouse, Goldthwaite, Texas, 1981. Inventory of records housed in the Mills County Courthouse in Goldthwaite, Texas. Describes the records of the County Clerk: as Secretary for Commissioners Court, County Clerk: as Recorder, County Clerk: as Reporter for County Court, District Clerk, Tax Assessor-Collector, Justice of the Peace, Sheriff, County Judge, and County Treasurer. Also provides an index. Digital book on line from The Portal to Texas History.
The first white settlers arrived in 1856 and established Hanna Valley.
Mills county was formed from Brown, Comanche, Hamilton, and Lampasas Counties in 1887. The county was named in honor of John T. Mills, a early Judge, who successively held the judgeship of the Third, Seventh, and Eighth Judicial districts. Mills county Court house is located in Goldthwaite, Texas. According to the Mills County Historical The town was named for Joe G. Goldthwaite, the railroad official who conducted the auction of town lots.
1912 -- The Mills County Courthouse, built in 1889, burned on May 5, 1912. No records were lost in the fire. 
Places / Localities
Town/city records in the FamilySearch Catalog
Mills County Seat - Goldthwaite
- Freedmen's Bureau Field Office Records, 1865-1870(images) - FamilySearch
Cemetery records often reveal birth, marriage, death, relationship, military, and religious information.
- Mills County Cemetery List - Mills County TXGenWeb
- TX Tombstone Project - TXGenWeb
- Goldthwaite Memorial Cemetery Book (formerly known as the I.O.O.F. Cemetery). Available from the Mills County Historical Commission
- Mills County Cemeteries, 2004. (Excludes Goldthwaite Memorial Cemetery) Book available from the Mills County Historical Commission
- Buffalo-Ebony Cemetery, Mills County, 62 page booklet, burial list updated Sept 2002. Available from the Brown County Historical Society
- Blanket Springs Cemetery in Mills County is included Rural Cemetery Inscriptions of Brown County Supplement updated 1970-2002. Available from the Brown County Historical Society
|Online Grave Transcripts||Published Grave Transcripts||County Cemetery Directories|
|Family History Library|
|See Texas Cemeteries for more information.|
|Source: "American FactFinder". United States Census Bureau.|
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death/burial date and place. For general information about Texas denominations, view the Texas Church Records wiki page.
- Churches of Mills County - Mills County TXGenWeb
After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions, including deeds and mortgages, have been recorded by the county. You can obtain copies of these land records by writing to the county clerk at the county courthouse. For more information, see Texas Land and Property.
The FamilySearch Catalog lists microfilm copies of deeds, trust deeds, and mortgages of many counties.
Local histories are available for Mills County, Texas. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Texas Local Histories.
- Texas Counties Map. Click on the county to go to the Texas Genweb site
- 1895 Atlas - USGenWeb
- Historical Maps of Texas - Perry Castaneda Library
- Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865 - FamilySearch
- Texas, Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 - FamilySearch
- Confederate Pension Applications ~ Texas State Library and Archives Commission
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Mills County, Texas newspapers in online catalogs like:
Probate records of Texas have been kept by the probate clerk in each county courthouse. You can obtain copies of the records from the clerk's office. In most counties, all information pertaining to a probate case is recorded in the "probate minutes."
Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their places of residence.
Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records.
See the Wiki page Texas Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.
- Texas, Probate Records, 1800-1990 (images) - FamilySearch
Texas tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Texas Taxation.
Texas County Tax Rolls, 1846-1910 lists FHL films with county tax lists. The lists vary by county and year. Most records are between the years of 1846 - 1910.
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. United States Vital Records has additional research guidance on researching and using vital records. See Texas Vital Records for more information about Vital records in Texas or How to order Texas Vital Records
A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Texas Vital Records State Department of Health, the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred, ordered electronically online or download an application for Texas Birth and Death Certificate, Marriage or Divorce Verification Application to mail.
Online Birth Indexes and Records
- Texas, Birth Certificates, 1903-1935 (images and index) - FamilySearch
- Texas Birth Index, 1903-1997 (index)- FamilySearch
- Texas, Births and Christenings, 1840-1981 - FamilySearch
Original Birth Records on Microfilm
Online Marriage Indexes and Records
- Affidavit for Marriage 1893 - 1906 - Mills County TXGenWeb
- Texas, County Marriage Index, 1837-1977 ~ FamilySearch records collection
- Texas, Marriages, 1837-1973 ~ FamilySearch record collection
- Texas, Marriages, 1966-2010 ~ FamilySearch record collection
Original Marriage Records on Microfilm
Online Death Indexes and Records
- Texas Death Records 1890 – 1976 [with images]
Name index and images of statewide death certificates, 1890-1976. The name index has been created by FamilySearch and is tied to images of the Texas death certificates. Few certificates are available prior to 1903.
- Texas, Death Index, 1903-2000 (index) - FamilySearch
- Texas Death Index 1964 to 1998 [no images] Name index to Texas Statewide Death Certificates or four million people who have died since 1964.
Original Death Records on Microfilm
- Texas Divorce Records 1968 - 2005 (index) - Hidden Ancestors
Societies and Libraries
- Mills County Historical Commission
- Jennie Trent Dew Library - Goldthwaite
- Star Historical Museum Star, Texas
Family History Center
|Centers provide: • Personal one-on-one assistance • Access to genealogical records through the Internet or microfilm loan program • Free how-to classes (varies by location). See Family History Centers for more information.|
- Mills County - Mills County TXGenWeb site
- Mills County at HistoricTexas.net
- USGenWeb Archives - Mills County
- Mill County Chamber of Commerce
- City of Goldthwaite website
- Texas TXGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the county
- FamilySearch Catalog
- A wiki article describing an online collection is found at Texas, Mills County Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Mills County, Texas. Page 670 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ GenDisasters.com Goldthwaite, TX Mills County Courthouse Fire, May 1912 http://www3.gendisasters.com/texas/18203/goldthwaite-tx-mills-county-courthouse-fire-may-1912
- This page was last modified on 26 December 2014, at 07:50.
- This page has been accessed 11,148 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More