Millwall, MiddlesexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Middlesex Gotoarrow.png Middlesex Parishes

Guide to Millwall, Middlesex family history and genealogy: Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Contents

Parish History

Millwall, ecclesiastical district in Poplar parish, Middlesex, in E. of London.[1]

Additional information:

Millwall was a district church built in the year 1870, lying within the civil boundaries of the parish of Poplar All Saints and which served the Millwall Docks (not far from the London's India Docks) and the Isle of Dogs.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Millwall, Middlesex Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
1864
1864
1864
Images
Indexes 1864-1887 DocklandsAncestors[2] 1864-1887 DocklandsAncestors[2] 1864-1887 DocklandsAncestors[2]

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438815.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Middlesex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Poor Law Unions

Contributor: Add information about the pertinent poor law unions in the area.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Millwall in Poplar on GENUKI

References

  1. John Bartholomew Gazetteer of the British Isles, 1887. Adapted. Date accessed: 11 February 2014.
  2. 2.0 2.1 2.2 'Online Parish Register Search,' ParishRegister.com, accessed 12 March 2012.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 October 2014, at 17:17.
  • This page has been accessed 887 times.