Milton-next-Gravesend, KentEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Kent Gotoarrow.png Kent Parishes

Guide to Milton-next-Gravesend, Kent family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.


Milton-next-Gravesend, Kent
Milton next Gravesend St Peter & St Paul Kent.jpg
Milton next Gravesend St Peter & St Paul Kent
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Toltingtrough
County Kent
Poor Law Union Gravesend and Milton PLU
Registration District Gravesend
Records begin
Parish registers: 1559
Bishop's Transcripts: 1716
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Rochester
Diocese Rochester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and Archdeaconry of Rochester
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Milton included much of the town of Gravesend and became part of the civil parish of Grevesend in 1915. See Milton-next-Gravesend Wikipedia and Gravesend Kent Wikipedia

Milton St Peter and St Paul is an Ancient Parish in the town of Gravesend.

The church dates from the 14th century with later additons and Victorian restoration and is designated a grade II* listed building by English Heritage.British listed building

The parish includes part of ancient parish of Denton (near Gravesend), Kent.

From this parish was formed the ecclesiastical parish of Milton-next-Gravesend Christchurch,Kent in 1856.

See Milton-next-Gravesend North West Kent Family History Society for other places of worship in the Gravesend area also Gravesend North West Kent Family History Society and Milton St Peter and St Paul Milton Christchurch

Here is an important jurisdictional perspective by Samuel A. Lewis--
MILTON-NEXT-GRAVESEND (St. Peter and St. Paul), a parish, forming a union with Gravesend, in the hundred of Toltingtrough, lathe of Aylesford, W. division of Kent; including part of the town of Gravesend. An episcopal chapel, dedicated to St. John, was erected in 1834, for Milton and Gravesend. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Milton next Gravesend St Peter and St Paul parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
FREG = FreeREG - free[3]
FS BTs = England, Kent, Bishop's Transcripts (FamilySearch) - free[4]
FS PRs = England, Kent, Parish Registers (FamilySearch) - free[5]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[6]
MED = Medway Ancestors - free[7]
Milton next Gravesend St Peter and St Paul Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1813-1831

1813-1838
FS BTs 1718-1883 1718-1883 1718-1883
FS PRs 1558-1844 1558-1876; 1754-1879 (banns) 1558-1846
IGI 1559-1844 1559-1876
MED 1558-1938 1558-1938 1558-1938

Kent Online Parish Clerks (OPC)

International Genealogical Index Christenings 1559-1844 Batches (C135021, C135022) Marriages 1559-1876 Batches (M135021, M135022)

Milton next Gravesend Christ Church parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Milton next Gravesend Christ Church Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1845-1883, 1885-1889


FREG 1857-1858


FS BTs 1857-1889
IGI 1883-1885
MED 1857-1968 1857-1954

Milton next Gravesend Holy Trinity parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Milton next Gravesend Holy Trinity Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1873-1883


FREG 1845-1858


FS PRs 1845-1876 1845-1876
IGI 1845-1866, 1874-1875 1845-1876
MED 1845-1962 1845-1962

Milton next Gravesend St Andrew's Mission parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Milton next Gravesend St Andrew's Mission Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1865-1970


IGI 1865-1875
MED 1865-1970

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306855.

Poor Law Unions

Gravesend and Milton Poor Law Union,Kent

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 319-321. Date accessed: 17 April 2013.
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 7 November 2013.
  3. 'Kent Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 6 November 2013.
  4. 'England, Kent, Bishop's Transcripts, 1560-1911,' FamilySearch, accessed 11 November 2013.
  5. 'England, Kent, Parish Registers, 1538-1911,' FamilySearch, accessed 13 November 2013.
  6. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Kent, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 13 November 2013.
  7. 'Medway Ancestors Imagebase: list of parishes, in alphabetical order', Cityark, accessed 8 November 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 June 2014, at 14:18.
  • This page has been accessed 3,147 times.