Milton Holy Trinity, KentEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Kent Gotoarrow.png Kent Parishes

Guide to Milton Holy Trinity, Kent family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Milton Holy Trinity, Kent
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Toltingtrough
County Kent
Poor Law Union Gravesend and Milton PLU
Registration District Gravesend
Records begin
Parish registers: 1538
Bishop's Transcripts: 1560
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Rochester
Diocese Rochester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and Archdeaconry of Rochester
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Here is an important jurisdictional perspective by Samuel A. Lewis--
MILTON-NEXT-SITTINGBOURNE (Holy Trinity), a market-town and parish, and the head of a union, in the hundred of Milton, Upper division of the lathe of Scray, E. division of Kent, 12 miles (N. E. by E.) from Maidstone, and 40 (E. by S.) from London. Here are places of worship for Independents and Wesleyans. [1]


Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Milton Holy Trinity, Kent parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[2][3][4]
FS BTs = England, Kent, Bishop's Transcripts (FamilySearch) - free[5]
FS PRs = England, Kent, Parish Registers (FamilySearch) - free[6]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[7]
Milton Holy Trinity, Kent Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1782-1885
1782-1887
1748-1895
FS BTs 1845-1875
FS PRs 1813-1895 1813-1871; 1760-1877 (banns) 1887-1895
IGI 1622-1781

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306855.

See Kent Census

Poor Law Unions

Gravesend and Milton Poor Law Union,Kent

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 319-321. Date accessed: 17 April 2013.
  2. 'Coverage of Kent parish baptism records', Find My Past, accessed 5 November 2013.
  3. 'Coverage of Kent parish marriage records', Find My Past, accessed 6 November 2013.
  4. 'Coverage of Kent parish burial records', Find My Past, accessed 6 November 2013.
  5. 'England, Kent, Bishop's Transcripts, 1560-1911,' FamilySearch, accessed 11 November 2013.
  6. 'England, Kent, Parish Registers, 1538-1911,' FamilySearch, accessed 13 November 2013.
  7. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Kent, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 15 November 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 June 2014, at 14:15.
  • This page has been accessed 1,361 times.