Milton St Nicholas, KentEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Kent Gotoarrow.png Kent Parishes Gotoarrow.png

Guide to Milton St Nicholas, Kent ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Contents

Parish History

Milton is two and half miles south west of the City of Canterbury in Kent

Milton St Nicholas is an Ancient Parish in  Milton near Canterbury. The church was totally rebuilt in 1829-1830 and is adjacent to the former Milton Manor house ( now demolished) The parish was united with Thanington, Kent from 1884; a map of the Thanington parish boundary is available at A church near you

Milton was effectively a chapel to the Manor and was sparsely attended; the rebuilding served only a small group of local families and became unsustainable.

See Kent Archeological Society and Edward Hasted The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 9 (1800), pp. 28-32 at British History Online


Resources

Civil Registration

See Bridge Registration District

Kent County Council (KCC) has a certificate centre at the Mansion House in Tunbridge Wells which holds all the completed registers for Kent since 1 July 1837 and can supply a certified copy of any Kent birth, death or marriage entry from any register within its custody or a Kent civil partnership registration from the government online database.

The Mansion House
(Certificate Centre)
Grove Hill Road
Tunbridge Wells
Kent TN1 1EP

Church Records

Archdeacon's transcripts, 1576-1812; Bishop's transcripts, 1614-1848 Some early pages damaged.The population for many years was less than 20 persons, with the Sankey family being the most frequently mentioned. After 1820 the Lake, Chalk and Vincent families are the only ones mentioned.

Canterbury Cathedral Archives reference: DCa/BT/123; DCb/BT1/157; DCb/BT2/206

Archdeacon's transcripts: Baptisms, marriages and burials 1576-1812 (missing: 1576/7-1583/4, 1585/6, 1586/7, 1588/9-1618/9, 1620/1, 1626/7, 1632/3, 1635/6, 1637/8, 1640/1-1660/1, 1667/8-1730/1, 1736/7-1742/3, 1749/50, 1758/9, 1760/1, 1761/2, 1782/3, 1788/9) FHL BRITISH Film 1751980 Item 3
Bishop's transcripts: Baptisms, marriages and burials 1614-1812 (missing: 1621/2, 1627/8, 1640/1-1730/1, 1737/8-1744/5, 1746/7, 1747/8, 1757/8, 1761/2, 1763/4, 1773/4, 1793/4, 1797/8, 1803/4. Gaps occur naturally between events in a small population and are not due to loss of records FHL BRITISH Film 1736878 Item 5
Bishop's transcripts Baptisms and burials 1813-1848 Marriages 1813-1837 FHL BRITISH Film 1835483 Item 7

See also England, Kent, Parish Registers and Bishop's Transcripts (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Milton next Canterbury St John the Baptist parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[1][2][3]
Milton next Canterbury St John the Baptist Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1688-1878 1688-1878 1747-1875 (Banns) 1747-1875 (Banns) 1779-1937 1779-1937

Census Records

FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through FHC Portal Computers here have access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.

Click here to locate local Family History Centres in UK

Click here to locate outside UK. Many archives and local history collections in public libraries in England and Wales offer online census searches and also hold microfilm or fiche census returns.

Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable)

The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Ancestry UK Census Collection

Find my Past census search 1841-1901



Poor Law Unions

Bridge Poor Law Union, Kent

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records  find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

 Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

 Web sites

References

  1. 'Canterbury baptism records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 11 November 2013.
  2. 'Canterbury banns coverage', Find My Past, accessed 11 November 2013.
  3. 'Canterbury burial records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 14 November 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 December 2014, at 18:29.
  • This page has been accessed 1,447 times.