Milwaukee County, WisconsinEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Guide to Milwaukee County Wisconsin ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

United States Gotoarrow.png Wisconsin Gotoarrow.png Milwaukee County

Hand and keyboard.jpg Wisconsin
Online Records


Milwaukee County, Wisconsin
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Wisconsin
Location of Wisconsin in the U.S.
Facts
Founded information needed
County Seat Milwaukee
Courthouse
WI Milwaukee.png

Contents

County Courthouse

Milwaukee County Courthouse
901 N 9th Street
Milwaukee, WI 53233
Phone: 414.278.4987

Register of Deeds has birth, marriage, and death records,
land records from 1835; Register in Probate has probate
records from 1838[1]

Historical Facts

Parent County

1834--Milwaukee County was created 6 September 1834 from Brown and Iowa Counties.
County seat: Milwaukee [1]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Wisconsin County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Wisconsin County Boundary Maps" (1790-1961) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Wisconsin Counties see: Wisconsin Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places / Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Bible Records

Biography

Cemeteries

Catholic Cemeteries

A database of many Catholic cemeteries for Milwaukee can be found at the Archdiocese of Milwaukee Catholic cemeteries website.

Census

Wisconsin State Census— The following Wisconsin state censuses are digitized, indexed, and available on-line at FamilySearch.org1855, 1875, 1885, 1895, and 1905

Church History and Records

Lutheran

Ascension Lutheran Church

  • Records of Ascension Lutheran Church, Milwaukee County, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).

Milwaukee County

  • Records of the American Lutheran Church, Milwaukee County, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).

Our Savior's Lutheran Church

  • Records of Our Savior's Lutheran Church, Milwaukee County, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).

Court Records

Crime and Criminals

Directories

Fold3.com has Milwaukee City Directories 1861-1892 (3 yrs. missing) available online. The collection is part of Fold3.com's "premium content" which requires a subscription to view, or can be viewed for free at a Family History Center.

Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups

Germans

Archives, Libraries, and Museums
Biographies
Church Records
Cemetery Records
Court Records
Histories
Immigration/emigration/migration
Maps
Newspapers
Societies

Volga Germans had many settlements in Racine county. To find out more about Volga Germans click here. This site gives resources to help you with your Volga German research, including a mailing list to help you communicate with others in the same ethnic group. They have indexed and made searchable over 100,000 names. You can search by name or village name and the search leads you to sites where that name or village can be found.

The Milwaukee Historical Society has many useful records that may help you in your German or other nationality research.

The record types available here are:

  • Civil War Rosters
  • Jail records
  • Marriage record index
  • Manuscripts
  • Newspapers
  • Naturalization
  • School census record
  • Territorial census records
  • Ordination records of church clergy
  • Published histories

Gazetteers

Genealogy

History

Land and Property

Maps

Migration

Military History and Records

Civil War

Civil War service men from Milwaukee County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are many companies or regiments that were formed from men of Milwaukee County.


- 2nd Regiment, Wisconsin Cavalry, Companies H and I
- 3rd Regiment, Wisconsin Cavalry, Companies D, H, K and M
- 5th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia Cavalry (Union), Company G
- 5th Regiment, Wisconsin Infantry, Companies B and C
- 5th Regiment, Wisconsin Infantry Reorganized, Company A
- 6th Regiment, Wisconsin Infantry, Companies B and C
- 9th Regiment, Wisconsin Infantry, Companies A, C, E, G, H, I and K
- 9th Regiment, Wisconsin Infantry Reorganized, Companies A, B, C, and D

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Obituaries

The following obituary indices are available through the Milwaukee Public Library.  See Genealogy Obituary Resources to learn more.

  • Milwaukee Journal Newspaper Index, 1915-1917
  • Milwaukee's German Newspapers: an Index of Death Notices and Related Items
  • Wisconsin Necrology, 1846-1944
  • Index to Deaths Reported in the Wisconsin Jewish Chronicle, 1921-1996
  • Death Notices/Obits, 1930s (?) - June, 30, 1992: Surname Index
  • Obituaries, Milwaukee Journal/Milwaukee Sentinel, 1958-1988
  • Milwaukee Area Necrology, 1992-1998
  • Milwaukee Sentinel Card Index, 1837 - 1879
  • Milwaukee Sentinel Card Index, 1880-1890
  • Italian Times
  • The Wisconsin Jewish Chronicle

Periodicals

Probate Records

Repositories

See also a List of Wisconsin Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Archives, Libraries and Museums

Milwaukee Public Library

814 W. Wisconsin Avenue
Milwaukee, WI 53233
(414) 286-3000

See the library's Genealogy page for online and other collections.

County Courthouse
Family History Centers

Societies

Milwaukee County Historical Society
910 N. Old World Third Street
Milwaukee WI 53203
414–273–8288
website

Taxation

Vital Records

Birth
Marriage

Indices available through Milwaukee County Library:

  • Marriage Certificates for Milwaukee County for the years 1822-1876
  • Marriage Records for Milwaukee County for the years 1836-1911

Visit the library's site linked above to see a complete list of marriage records.

Divorce
Death

Voting Registers

Web Sites

References

  1. 1.0 1.1 The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. page 758 Milwaukee County, Wisconsin (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 10 December 2014, at 13:56.
  • This page has been accessed 12,879 times.