Mineral County, MontanaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Montana
Mineral County
Guide to Mineral County Montana genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Mineral County, Montana | |
| Map | |
![]() Location of Montana in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded | August 7, 1914 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | Superior |
| Courthouse | |
| Address | Mineral County Courthouse 300 River Street PO Box 550; Superior, MT 59872 Phone: 406.822.4541 Mineral County Website |
Historical Facts
| Beginning dates for major county records | |||||
| |
|
|
|
|
|
| |
|
|
|
|
|
| * For earlier dates, try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries | |||||
- Parent County: created 7 August 1914 from Missoula
- County seat: Superior [1]
- Neighboring Counties: Clearwater County, Idaho | Missoula | Sanders | Shoshone County, Idaho
Boundary Changes
Record Loss
Resources
Biography
Cemeteries
- DeBorgia Cemetery Findagrave.com
- Garcie Cemetery Findagrave.com
- Messiah Cemetery Findagrave.com
- Potter Family Cemetery Findagrave.com
- Quartz Cemetery Findagrave.com
- Saint Regis Cemetery Findagrave.com
- Saltese Cemetery Findagrave.com
- Superior Cemetery Findagrave.com
- Wheeler-Boyes Cemetery Findagrave.com
Census
Church Records
- Clark Fork West Church: 75 Abba Lane, St. Regis
- New Day Fellowship: 20 Big Creek Rd, Haugen
- Seventh-Day Adventist Church: 511 Iron Mountain Heights, Superior
- St. Regis Community Bible Church: 401 Main St, St. Regis
- Superior Community Church: by Timberman's Park at the west end of Main St., Superior
- The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints: 12 Moats Lane, Superior
- Fold of the Messiah: a Christian church and community, Tarkio
Court Records
Directories
Emigration and Immigration
Ethnic, Political or Religious Groups
Gazetteers
Genealogy
History
Land and Property
In 1906 the majority of land in Mineral County was proclaimed National Forest. There are 1,226 sections in Mineral County - of this 83.8% belongs to the Federal Government, 2.8% belongs to the State of Montana, 13.4% is privately owned....that leaves about 8% of the land available to the county.
Local Histories
Maps
Migration
Military
Naturalization and Citizenship
Newspapers
Obituaries
Probate
Public Records
Repositories
Courthouse
County Clerk and Recorder has birth, death, burial and land records from 1914; Clerk District Court has marriage, divorce and court records from 1914 [2]
Family History Centers
Introduction to LDS Family History Centers
Libraries
Museums
Private Collections
- Kay Strombo Private Collection for Mineral County, Montana
Owned by Kay Strombo who can be contacted by mrshezzie@blackfoot.net
She is glad to share. Collection includes: obituaries, cemetery records, censuses, and death records for Mineral County
- Kay Strombo Private Collection for Mineral County, Montana
Societies
- Mineral County Museum & Historical Society
301 2nd Avenue
PO Box 533
Superior, Montana 59872
Hours: Tues & Thurs 3:00 – 6:00pm or by appointment
- Mineral County Museum & Historical Society
Taxation
Vital Records
Birth
Marriage
Death
Websites
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- Family History Library Catalog
Places
Mineral County's population has had it's highs and lows through the years. The 1870 census shows there were 1,646 people, but by 1880 there were only 270; in 1910 the population recovered to 2,900, but by 1930 it dropped to 1,626; in 1960 it rose to 3,037 and to 3,884 in 2000.
| Alberton | Riverbend | Superior |
| De Borgia | Saltese | Taft |
| Haugen | St. Regis |
References
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists : United States of America, 10th ed., (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002), p. 417.
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 23 May 2013, at 17:02.
- This page has been accessed 1,474 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More
