Mineral County, NevadaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Nevada Gotoarrow.png Mineral County

Guide to Mineral County, Nevada ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Nevada
Online Records


Mineral County, Nevada
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Nevada
Location of Nevada in the U.S.
Facts
Founded February 10, 1911
County Seat Hawthorne
Courthouse
Address PO Box 1450
Hawthorne, NV 89415-1450
Phone: 775.945.2446
Mineral County Website

Contents

Historical Facts

Beginning dates for major county records
Birth
Marriage
Death
Land
Probate
Court
1911*
1911*
1911*
1911
1911
1911
* For earlier dates, try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries

Boundary Changes

Record Loss

Resources

Biography

Cemeteries

Church Records

Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Nevada Church Records.


LDS Ward and Branch Records

  • Hawthorne

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political or Religious Groups

Gazetteers

Genealogy

History

Local histories are available for Mineral County, Nevada. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Nevada Local Histories.

Land and Property

The county recorder's office keeps land records once the land was transferred to private ownership. Abstracts and indexes for these records are generally available at the county courthouse.

In the FamilySearch Catalog, land records for Nevada are listed in the Place Search under: NEVADA, Mineral – LAND AND PROPERTY


Maps

Nvmineral.jpg














Military

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Mineral County, Nevada newspapers in online catalogs like:

Obituaries

  • Mineral County Death Index Includes records of Esmeralda and Nye Counties. The tri-counties were all one before 1911. Records of deaths that occurred in other places with burials in these counties, as well as deaths that occurred in these counties with burials in other places. Sources: Mineral County Independent-News (775 945-2414), Gunter's Funeral Home (775 945-2047), other death and burial records, information from private individuals

The index includes: name, sex, birth/place, death/place, burial/place, obituary (yes or no)

Probate

Probate records may include, wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. They may include the decedent’s date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, etc. See Nevada Probate Records for additional information.


Public Records

Repositories

Courthouse

Mineral County Courthouse
PO Box 1450
Hawthorne, NV 89415-1450
775–945–2446

County Clerk has divorce, probate and court records from 1911 with some earlier, naturalization records 1911-1956 and burial records. County Recorder has marriage license applications and military discharge records from 1911. County Treasurer has land records from 1911. [2]

Family History Centers


Libraries
Museums
Societies
  • Mineral County Historical Society
    Mineral County Museum
    400 Tenth St.
    P.O. Box 1584 Hawthorne NV 89415
    775-945-5142

Taxation

Nevada tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the tax records. Most tax records can be obtained from the county treasurer or assessor. For more information, see the wiki page Nevada Taxation. The Family History Library does not have copies of Nevada tax records (as of June 2013).


Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents.

A copy or an extract of most Nevada original records can be purchased from the Nevada State Health Division or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred. See also Nevada Vital Records. For information about restrictions and costs for certificates, see the CDC Where to Write for Vital Records site.


Birth
Marriage
Death

Records of deaths in Mineral County as well as in other places with burials in Mineral County. Includes deaths in Esmeralda and Nye Counties. Sources include newspapers and funeral homes. Searchable by alphabetical index.

Websites

  • USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
  • FamilySearch Catalog

Places

Avalon Candelaria Junction Hawthorne Marietta Omco Sodaville
Babbitt Copper Run Jaggersville Midway Qualeys Camp Thorne
Basalt Del Monte Kinkaid Mina Rawhide Tonopah Junction
Camp Douglas Fletcher Luning Mount Montgomery Schurz Walker Lake

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Mineral County, Oregon page 442, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 December 2014, at 19:22.
  • This page has been accessed 7,935 times.