Mineral County, West VirginiaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Guide to Mineral County West Virginia genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

United States  Gotoarrow.png  West Virginia  Gotoarrow.png  Mineral County

link=http://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/West Virginia_Online_Genealogy_Records West Virginia
Online Records


Mineral County, West Virginia
Map
Map of West Virginia highlighting Mineral County
Location in the state of West Virginia
Map of the U.S. highlighting West Virginia
Location of West Virginia in the U.S.
Facts
Founded February 1, 1866
County Seat Keyser
Courthouse
Address Mineral County Courthouse
150 Armstrong Street
Keyser, WV 26726-3505
Phone: 304-788-3924
Mineral County Website

Contents

County Courthouse

County Clerk has birth, marriage death, probate, and land records from 1866[1]

History

Parent County

1866--Mineral County was created 1 February 1866 from Hampshire County.
County seat: Keyser [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating West Virginia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation West Virginia County Boundary Maps" (1617-1995) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in West Virginia counties see: West Virginia Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places / Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Wvmineral.jpg

Cemeteries

Census

For tips on accessing Mineral County, West Virginia census records online, see: West Virginia Census.

Join us in indexing the 1940 Census

Church

Court

Genealogy

General

Compiled genealogies that treat multiple Mineral County families include:

  • O'Dell, Cecil. Pioneers of Old Frederick County, Virginia. Marceline, Mo.: Walsworth Pub. Co., 1995. FHL Collection. One of the most impressively researched one-place studies in the United States. In a review, Dorman stated "Comprehensive studies such as this appear only rarely. This volume should be in every Virginia genealogical collection."[3]

Land

Local Histories

Maps

Military

Naturalization

West Virginia, Naturalization Records, 1814-1991

Probate

Taxation

Online West Virginia Tax site

West Virginia real and personal property tax records are managed by the County Assessor in each county. Land and land improvements are considered real property while mobile property is classified as personal property.

Many County Assessors offer an online searchable database, where assessment record searches can be performed by name, account number, year, or mp/parcel number. Where online records are not available, requests for records can be made to the Assessment Office in person, by phone, or in writing.

The search for tax information can start here

Vital Records

Societies and Libraries

See also a List of West Virginia Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Mineral County Historical Landmark Commission
Route One
Burlington, West Virginia 26710


Introduction to LDS Family History Centers

Web Sites

Learning How toEdit our Wiki Sites
Hands on keyboard.png Genealogy courses: Learn how to research from an expert in Fun Five Minute Genealogy Videos.


References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Mineral County, West Virginia. Page 744 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. John Frederick Dorman, "Review of Pioneers of Old Frederick County, Virginia," in The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 39, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1995):236.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 19 July 2014, at 04:19.
  • This page has been accessed 4,330 times.