Mingo County, West VirginiaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png  West Virginia Gotoarrow.pngMingo County

Guide to Mingo County, West Virginia ancestry, family history and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

link=http://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/West Virginia_Online_Genealogy_Records West Virginia
Online Records


Mingo County, West Virginia
Map
Map of West Virginia highlighting Mingo County
Location in the state of West Virginia
Map of the U.S. highlighting West Virginia
Location of West Virginia in the U.S.
Facts
Founded January 30, 1895
County Seat Williamson
Courthouse
Address Mingo County Courthouse
P O Box 1197
Williamson, WV 25661-1197
304-235-0330
Mingo County Website

Contents

County Courthouse

  • County Clerk has birth, marriage, death and land records from 1895 and burial records from 1959
  • Clerk of Court has divorce, probate and court records[1]

History

Mingo County, West Virginia History

Parent County

1895--Mingo County was created 30 January 1895 from Logan County.
County seat: Williamson [1]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating West Virginia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation West Virginia County Boundary Maps" (1617-1995) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.


Record Loss

For a list of record loss in West Virginia counties see: West Virginia Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places / Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Wvmingo.jpg

Cemeteries

Mingo County, West Virginia Cemetery Records
Tombstone Transcription Project Mingo County, West Virginia
Mingo County, West Virginia Political Graveyard
Mingo County Tombstone Photos USGENWEB Archives Project

Census

For tips on accessing Mingo County, West Virginia census records online, see: West Virginia Census.

 Mingo County, West Virginia Census 1900

Church

Court

Land

Local Histories

Maps

Mingo County, West Virginia Map

TrailsRus West Virginia Mingo County

Mingo County, West Virginia Map

Military

Naturalization

Newspapers

Probate

West Virginia Will Books Wills, inventories, etc., Mingo County : 1884-1911

Taxation

Online West Virginia Tax site

West Virginia real and personal property tax records are managed by the County Assessor in each county. Land and land improvements are considered real property while mobile property is classified as personal property.

Many County Assessors offer an online searchable database, where assessment record searches can be performed by name, account number, year, or mp/parcel number. Where online records are not available, requests for records can be made to the Assessment Office in person, by phone, or in writing.

The search for tax information can start here

Vital Records

Societies and Libraries

See also a List of West Virginia Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Mingo County Genealogical Society
P O Box 2581
Williamson, WV 25661

Mingo County Public Libraries


Family History Centers

The closest family history centers are the Huntington Family History Center and the Charleston Family History Center.

Web Sites

References

  1. 1.0 1.1 The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 5 November 2014, at 22:28.
  • This page has been accessed 7,457 times.