Minster in Sheppey, KentEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Kent Gotoarrow.png Kent Parishes

Guide to Minster in Sheppey, Kent family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.


Minster in Sheppey, Kent
Minster St Mary(Minster Abbey) Kent.jpg
Minster St Mary(Minster Abbey) Kent
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Isle of Sheppey Liberty
County Kent
Poor Law Union Sheppey PLU
Registration District Sheppey
Records begin
Parish registers: 1568
Bishop's Transcripts: 1566
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Sittingbourne
Diocese Canterbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Canterbury
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Minster St Mary (the Minster Abbey church) is an Ancient parish in Minster in Sheppey.

The church date from the 11th and 12th century with additions in subsequent centuries and restored by Ewan Chrisitian in 1863.

The church is designated a grade I listed building by English Heritage.

Minster is a small town on the Isle of Sheppey in the Swale district of Kent and should not be confused with Minster (Thanet) in the same county see Minster, Kent.

Here is an important jurisdictional perspective by Samuel A. Lewis--
MINSTER-in-Sheppy (St. Mary and St. Sexburgh), a parish, in the union of Sheppy, liberty of the Isle of Sheppy, lathe of Scray, county of Kent; containing the port of Sheerness. There are places of worship for Baptists, Independents, Primitive Methodists, and Wesleyans; and a Roman Catholic chapel. [1]


Resources

Civil Registration

Minster was a sub-district in Sheppey registration district.

Kent County Council

Registration Services
Invicta House
County Hall
Maidstone
Kent ME14 1XX Telephone 08458 247 400 http://www.kent.gov.uk are developing online search for all birth marriages and deaths as a result of a community volunteer effort. Not all events are capable of search but the index is updated annually. Kent County Council (KCC) has a certificate centre at the Mansion House in Tunbridge Wells which holds all the completed registers for Kent since 1 July 1837 and can supply a certified copy of any Kent birth, death or marriage entry from any register within its custody or a Kent civil partnership registration from the government online database.

The Mansion House
(Certificate Centre)
Grove Hill Road
Tunbridge Wells
Kent TN1 1EP

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Minster in Sheppey, Kent parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[2][3][4]
FS PRs = England, Kent, Parish Registers (FamilySearch) - free[5]
Minster in Sheppey, Kent Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1569-1911
1569-1884
1569-1891
FS PRs 1754-1884; 1754-1781 (banns) 1770-1891

Kent Online Parish Clerks (OPC)

Nonconformists

International Genealogical Index

  • Little Bethel Independent Christenings 1834-1837 Batch (C068841)

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306869.

See Kent Census

Poor Law Unions

Sheppey Poor Law Union,Kent

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 321-325. Date accessed: 17 April 2013.
  2. 'Coverage of Kent parish baptism records', Find My Past, accessed 5 November 2013.
  3. 'Coverage of Kent parish marriage records', Find My Past, accessed 6 November 2013.
  4. 'Coverage of Kent parish burial records', Find My Past, accessed 6 November 2013.
  5. 'England, Kent, Parish Registers, 1538-1911,' FamilySearch, accessed 13 November 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 June 2014, at 14:20.
  • This page has been accessed 2,312 times.