Mirfield, YorkshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png YorkshireGotoarrow.png Yorkshire Parishes K-RGotoarrow.png West Riding of Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Mirfield

Mirfield, Yorkshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Agbrigg
County Yorkshire
Poor Law Union Dewsbury PLU
Registration District Dewsbury
Records begin
Parish registers: 1559; Separate registers exist for Hopton beginning 1846
Bishop's Transcripts: 1600
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Pontefract
Diocese Pre-1836 - York; Post-1835 - Ripon
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

MIRFIELD (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Dewsbury, Lower division of the wapentake of Agbrigg, W. riding of York, 2¾ miles (W. by S.) from Dewsbury. There are places of worship for Wesleyan Methodists of the Old and New Connexions, Primitive Methodists, Baptists, Independents, Moravians,and Swedenborgians. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Records

Online data content from chapelry registers of Mirfield exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:

AC = Ancestry - (£)[2]
HATH = HathiTrust.org
IARC = Archive.org
FS = FamilySearch.org
JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk
 MIRFIELD PARISH (1559) Online Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1559-1812 1559-1812 1559-1812 1559-1812 1559-1812 1559-1812
FS 1559-1910 1559-1878 1761-1910
HATH 1559-1700 1559-1700 1559-1700
IARC 1559-1776 1559-1700, 1754
1559-1776
JOIN None 1559-1754, 1813-1837 None

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Mirfield is an 'ancient' parish (created before 1813) in the diocese of Wakefield. Church of England records for Mirfield St. Mary's survive from 1559.;

The original registers are deposited at the West Yorkshire Archives in Wakefield.  Microfilm/fiche copies are available at archive branches such as Leeds at Sheepscar and Kirklees in Huddersfield.

The copies made by the minister (ordered by an Act of 1598) and sent each year to the Bishop of the diocese (known as parish register transcripts or Bishop's transcripts) survive from 1600 and are deposited at the West Yorkshire Archives branch in Sheepscar, Leeds. 

The Family History Library in Salt Lake City has both parish registers and bishop's transcripts on microfilm for Mirfield and its chapelries, which are listed in the FamilySearch Catalog.  Many of these records are indexed in the International Genealogical Index available online through the 'Advanced Search' at www.familysearch.org.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464240.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 325-329. Date accessed: 23 October 2013.
  2. 'West Yorkshire, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1512-1812,' Ancestry, accessed 10 May 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 July 2014, at 23:12.
  • This page has been accessed 2,362 times.