Mississippi CensusEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States  Gotoarrow.png  U.S. Census  Gotoarrow.png  Mississippi  Gotoarrow.png  Census

Contents

Tips
  • If at first you don't find a name, try again under another spelling.
  • Photocopy each ancestor's census. Identify where you found it.
  • Look for an ancestor in every census during her or his lifetime.
  • On the family group record show each person's census listings.
  • Study others in the same household, neighbors, and anyone with the similar names nearby on the census in community context.


  • For a list of the exact date of each federal census, click here.

Online Mississippi indexes and images

1880-1940

Online Federal and State Population Schedules of Mississippi 
  Free Free at Some Libraries (usually with a library card)* Pay
Family
Search[1]
Internet Archive[2]  Misc.  Heritage Quest[3] Fold3[4] Ancestry FHL[5] Ancestry Library[5] Ancestry Home[5] Archives[6] Family Link[7]
1940 indexes Link - Link
Link
- - - - - - -
images Link - Link
Link
Link
- - Link Link Link Link Link
1930 indexes Link - - Link Link Link Link Link Link
images Link Link - Link Link Link Link Link - Link
1920 indexes Link - Link - Link Link Link Link -
images Link Link - Link - Link Link Link - Link
1910 indexes Link - Link - Link Link Link Link -
images Link Link - Link - Link Link Link - Link
1900 indexes Link Soundex - Link - Link Link Link Link -
images Link Link - Link - Link Link Link - Link
1880 indexes Link Soundex - Link - Link Link Link Link -
images - Link - Link - Link Link Link - Link

1820-1870

Online Federal and State Population Schedules of Mississippi 
  Free Free at Some Libraries (usually with a library card)* Pay
Family
Search[1]
Internet Archive[2]  Misc.  Heritage Quest[3] Fold3[4] Ancestry FHL[5] Ancestry Library[5] Ancestry Home[5] Archives[6] Family Link[7]
1870 indexes Link - - Link - Link Link Link Link -
images Link Link - Link - Link Link Link - Link
partial 1860 indexes Link - - Link Link Link Link Link Link -
images -
Link - Link Link Link Link Link - Link
1850 indexes Link - - - - Link Link Link Link -
images Link Link - Link - Link Link Link - Link
1841 State indexes - - - - - Link  Link  Link  - -
images - - - - - Link  Link  Link  - -
1840 indexes Link - - - - Link Link Link Link -
images Link Link - Link - Link Link Link - Link
partial 1830 indexes Link - - - - Link Link Link Link -
images Link Link - Link - Link Link Link - Link
1820 indexes Link - - Link - Link Link Link Link -
images Link Link - Link - Link Link Link - Link
  Family Search Internet Archive Misc.  Heritage Quest Fold3 Ancestry FHL  Ancestry Library  Ancestry Home Archives Family Link
Free Free at Some Libraries (usually with a library card) Pay


Federal population schedules

Microfilm images

Federal Census Microfilms Available from the Family History Library
1940 N/A 1900 and Soundex 1860 
1930 1880 and Soundex 1850
1920 and Soundex 1880 and Soundex  
1910 and Soundex 1870


Federal Census Microfilms Available from the National Archives
1940 N/A 1910 T624 and Soundex T1269 1870 M593
1930 T626 1900 T623 and Soundex T1054 1860 M653
1920 T625 and Soundex M1570 1880 T9 and Soundex T757 1850 M432
 

Indexes: fiche, film, or book

For a list of microform and book indexes for the population schedules of Mississippi, click here

Federal non-population schedules

Online indexes and images

Online Federal Non-Population Schedules for Mississippi

Free Free at Some Libraries (usually with library card) Pay
Year Type Record Search Census Bureau Google Book Heritage Quest Ancestry FHL Ancestry Library Ancestry Home
1890 Veterans - - - - Link Link Link
1880 Mortality - - - - Link Link Link
1870 Mortality - - - - Link Link Link
1860 Slave owner - - - Link[8] Link Link Link
1860 Mortality - - - - Link Link Link
1850 Slave owner Link - - Link[8] Link Link Link
1850 Mortality Link - - - Link Link Link
1840 Pensioners - BookLink BookLink - Link Link Link

Microfilm images

Indian census rolls, Choctaw, 1926-1939 Agricultural census, 1860
Mortality schedule for 1850,1860,1870,1880


  • 1850-1880--Mortality schedules are at the Mississippi Department of Archives and History.

Indexes: fiche, film, or book

For a list of microform and book indexes for the non-population schedules of Mississippi, click here.

State, territorial, and colonial censuses

Censuses were taken in Mississippi in different years than the federal censuses. These censuses may have different data compared to federal censuses. Check these censuses for more information on a family.

  • 1866 State census.[9] Bolivar, Claiborne, Holmes, Issaquena, Jasper, Jefferson, Marion, Simpson, Smith, and Wayne[10] counties.
  • 1860 State census.[9] Choctaw County.
  • 1853 State census.[9] Adams (excluding Natchez), Amite, Clarke, Copiah, Greene,[11] Hancock, Itawamba, Jefferson, Jones,[12] Lauderdale, Noxubee, Panola, Perry,[13] Rankin, and Wayne[10] counties.
  • 1850 State census.[9] Hinds County.
  • 1845 State census.[9] Amite, Neshoba, Newton,[14] Noxubee, Oktibbeha, Panola, Perry,[13] Pike, Pontotoc, Rankin, Scott, Simpson (totals), Smith, Sunflower,[15] Tallahatchie, Tippah, Tishomingo, Tunica, Warren, Washington, Wayne,[10] Wilkinson, Winston (totals), Yalobusha, and Yazooo (totals) counties.
  • 1841 State census.[9] Adams, Attala, Bolivar, Chickasaw, Clarke (totals), Coahoma, Copiah, Covington, DeSoto (totals), Franklin, Greene (totals), Hinds (totals), Itawamba, Jackson (totals), Jefferson (totals), Jones,[12] Kemper (totals), Lauderdale (totals), Lawrence, Leake, Madison, Marion, Marshall, Monroe, Neshoba, Noxubee (totals), Oktibbeha, Panola, Perry (totals), Pike (totals), Scott, Simpson, Smith, Tallahatchie, Tippah, Tishomingo (totals), Tunica,[16] Washington, Wayne,[10] and Yazooo counties.
  • 1840 State census.[9] Choctaw (totals) County.
  • 1837 State census.[9] Chickasaw, Choctaw, Itawamba, Jones,[12][17] Kemper,[18] Lowndes, Oktibbeha, Panola,[19] Pontotoc,[20] Simpson, Tishomingo,[21] and Winston counties.
  • 1833 State census.[9] Amite (totals), and Franklin counties.
  • 1830 State census.[9] Adams (Natchez only), Amite (totals), Hancock, and Lawrence counties.
  • 1825 State census.[9] Claiborne (totals), Copiah (totals), Greene (totals), Hancock (totals), Hinds (totals), Jackson, Jefferson (totals), Lawrence (totals), Marion (totals), Perry (totals), Pike (totals), Simpson (totals), Warren (totals), Wilkinson, and Yazooo (totals) counties.
  • 1824 State census.[9] Amite (totals), Copiah, Hinds, Lawrence, Simpson (births and deaths), and Yazooo (totals) counties.
  • 1823 State census.[9] Adams (births and deaths), Bainbridge (now Covington), Claiborne (births and deaths), Covington, Hancock, Jefferson, Lawrence, Marion, Perry, and Wilkinson counties.
  • 1822 State census.[9] Claiborne (births and deaths), Copiah (totals), and Wilkinson and counties.
  • 1820 State census.[9] Amite, Franklin, Marion, Pike, Wayne,[10] and Wilkinson counties.
  • 1818 State census.[9] Adams County.
  • 1816 Territorial census.[9] Adams,[22][23] Amite,[22][24] Baldwin (territorial county), Claiborne,[22] Clarke (territorial county), Franklin,[22] Greene,[11] Jefferson,[22] Marion,[25] Monroe (territorial county), Pike, Warren,[22] Wayne,[10] Wilkinson,[22] and Winston counties.
  • 1813 Territorial census.[9] Wilkinson County.
  • 1811 Territorial census. Available online: 1811 Territory Census Returns, courtesy: FamilySearch - free.
  • 1810 Territorial census.[9] Adams,[22] Amite,[22] Baldwin (territorial county), Claiborne,[22] Franklin,[22] Jefferson,[22] Warren,[22] Washington (territorial county), and Wilkinson[22] counties. Available online: 1810 Territory Census Returns, courtesy: FamilySearch - free.
  • 1809 Territorial census. Available online: 1809 Territory Census Returns, courtesy: FamilySearch - free.
  • 1808 Territorial census.[9] Jefferson, and Washington counties.
  • 1805 Territorial census.[9] Jefferson, and Wilkinson counties.
  • 1801 Territorial census. Available online: 1801 Territory Census Returns, courtesy: FamilySearch - free.
  • 1792 Colonial census.[9] Natchez District[22] (now Adams, Amite, Claiborne, Franklin, Jefferson, Warren and Wilkinson counties)
  • 1788 Colonial census.[9][26]
  • 1787 Colonial census.[9][26]
  • 1784 Colonial census.[9][26]
  • 1723 Colonial census.[9] Natchez.[27]

Most of the original state, territorial, and colonial censuses are available at the Mississippi Department of Archives and History.[9]

Existing and lost censuses

For a list of available and missing Mississippi censuses, click here.

Why use a census?

A well-indexed census is one of the easiest ways to locate where an ancestor's family lived and when they lived there. You can also use censuses to follow the changes in a family over time, and identify neighbors. These and other clues provided by censuses are important because they help find additional kinds of records about the family.

More about censuses

Click here for additional details about how to use censuses, such as:

Sources and footnotes

A wiki article describing an online collection is found at:

Mississippi State Archives, Various Records (FamilySearch HIstorical Recoords)

  1. 1.0 1.1 FamilySearch, a free online service of the Family History Library, including free images of many federal censuses, including an index of the 1880 federal census of the United States; connected with 1880 census images provided by Ancestry.com, a subscription site.
  2. 2.0 2.1 Internet Archive, a free online service includes free images of most of the federal censuses.
  3. 3.0 3.1 HeritageQuest has arranged with many subscribing public libraries in the United States to allow users free access on home computers by means of their personal library card numbers. HeritageQuest provides images of all surviving 1790 to 1930 federal censuses, and indexes to many but not all of them.
  4. 4.0 4.1 Fold3, formerly known as Footnote.com, a subscription site partnering with the National Archives and includes some federal censuses. Free access is available at many public libraries.
  5. 5.0 5.1 5.2 5.3 5.4 5.5 Ancestry.com, a subscription site that provides online indexes and images to all surviving federal and many state census records, among other sources. They have three online editions: (1) an FHL edition free only at the Family History Library and a few Family History Centers, (2) a slightly smaller Library edition free only at some public libraries, and (3) a Home edition subscription service for individuals.
  6. 6.0 6.1 Archives.com, a subscription site that provides online indexes and images to all surviving federal census records, among other sources.
  7. 7.0 7.1 FamilyLink.com, a subscription site that provides online images (and some indexes) to all surviving federal and many state census records, among other sources.
  8. 8.0 8.1 HeritageQuest has slave owner schedule images only.
  9. 9.00 9.01 9.02 9.03 9.04 9.05 9.06 9.07 9.08 9.09 9.10 9.11 9.12 9.13 9.14 9.15 9.16 9.17 9.18 9.19 9.20 9.21 9.22 9.23 9.24 9.25 9.26 Ann S. Lainhart, State Census Records (Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing, 1992)[[FHL book 973 X2Lai]], 70-73.
  10. 10.0 10.1 10.2 10.3 10.4 10.5 Jean Strickland, Records of Wayne County, Mississippi : state census 1816, 1820, 1841, 1845, 1853, 1866 (Milton, FL (72 Simpson Lane, Milton 32570) : J. Strickland, 1981) as cited in Lainhart, 73.
  11. 11.0 11.1 Ben Strickland, and Jean Strickland, Records of Greene County, Mississippi ( Moss Point, Mississippi : [s.n.], c1980- ) [FHL Book 976.2173 R4s], 1:11-17 includes 1816; 3:83-90 includes 1853.
  12. 12.0 12.1 12.2 Ben Strickland, and Jean Strickland, Records of Jones County, Mississippi : 1827-1841 tax rolls, 1837, 1841, 1853 state census (Moss Point, Mississippi : [s.n.], c1983) [FHL Book 976.255 R4s].
  13. 13.0 13.1 Ben Strickland, and Jean Strickland, Records of Perry County, Mississippi (Milton, Fla. : Strickland, 1979-) [FHL Book 976.2175 R4s v. 4].
  14. "Newton County, Mississippi - 1845 State Census Record," Mississippi Genealogical Exchange [FHL Book 976.2 B2g] 26 (1980):2-7.
  15. "Sunflower County, Mississippi - 1845 State Census Record," Mississippi Genealogical Exchange [FHL Book 976.2 B2g] 24 (1978):81-82.
  16. "1841 State Census - Tunica County, Mississippi," Mississippi Genealogical Exchange [FHL Book 976.2 B2g] 16 (1970):11-12.
  17. "Jones County, Mississippi - 1837 State Census Record," Mississippi Genealogical Exchange [FHL Book 976.2 B2g] 16 (1970):39-42 +.
  18. "Kemper County, Mississippi - 1837 State Census Record," Mississippi Genealogical Exchange [FHL Book 976.2 B2g] 18 (1972):31-36 +.
  19. "Panola County, Mississippi - 1837 State Census Record," Mississippi Genealogical Exchange [FHL Book 976.2 B2g] 19 (1973):11-12 +.
  20. "Pontotoc County, Mississippi - 1837 State Census Record," Mississippi Genealogical Exchange [FHL Book 976.2 B2g] 25 (1979):29-31.
  21. "Tishomingo County, Mississippi - 1837 State Census Record," Mississippi Genealogical Exchange [FHL Book 976.2 B2g] 17 (1971):11-14 +.
  22. 22.00 22.01 22.02 22.03 22.04 22.05 22.06 22.07 22.08 22.09 22.10 22.11 22.12 22.13 22.14 Norman E. Gillis, Early Inhabitants of Natchez District (Baton Rouge, Louisiana : N. Gillis, c1963) [FHL Book 976.2 X2p].
  23. "Adams County, Mississippi, Census, 1816," National Genealogical Society Quarterly [FHL Book 973 B2ng; Film 001288] 37 (1949): 95-99 +.
  24. Mrs. Jerome A. Esker, "Census of 1816, Amite County, Mississippi Territory," National Genealogical Society Quarterly [FHL Book 973 B2ng; Film 001287] 33 (1945): 104-106.
  25. Ernest Russ Williams Jr., Records of Marion County, Mississippi (Bogalusa, La. : [s.n.], 1962-1965) [FHL Book 976.221 X2p]. Includes 1816 census.
  26. 26.0 26.1 26.2 Roscoe R. Hill, Descriptive catalogue of the documents relating to the history of the United States in the Papeles procedentes de Cuba deposited in the Archivo general de Indias at Seville, Carnegie Institution of Washington. Publication no. 234. Papers of the Dept. of Historical Research (Washington, D.C., Carnegie institution of Washington, 1916). Describes Spanish colonial censuses of 1784, 1787, and 1788 as cited in Lainhart, 72.
  27. Winston DeVille, "Natchez 1723 Census," National Genealogical Society Quarterly [FHL Book 973 B2ng] 59 (1971): 94-95.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 7 May 2012, at 22:53.
  • This page has been accessed 36,798 times.