Mississippi County, ArkansasEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

This article is about a northeastern county of Arkansas. For other uses, see Mississippi (disambiguation).

United States Gotoarrow.png Arkansas Gotoarrow.png Mississippi County

Guide to Mississippi County, Arkansas ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Arkansas State with State Seal.png Arkansas
Online Records


Mississippi County, Arkansas
Map
Map of Arkansas highlighting Mississippi County
Location in the state of Arkansas
Map of the U.S. highlighting Arkansas
Location of Arkansas in the U.S.
Facts
Founded November 1, 1833
County Seat Blytheville
Courthouse
Address Monroe County Courthouse
123 Madison Street
Clarendon, AR 72029-2794
Phone: 870.747.3921

Contents

County Courthouse

Mississippi County Courthouse
200 W Walnut
Blytheville, AR 72315
Phone: 870.763.3212

County Clerk has military records from 1850 and probate records from 1865; Clerk Circuit Court has divorce and court records from 1866 and land records from 1865.[1]

Beginning years for Mississippi County, Arkansas government records[2]
Birth Marriage Death Court Land Probate
1914* 1850 1914* 1865 1865 1865
*State birth and death records began in 1914. Limited compliance until 1920's

Government and Related Websites

County Government and other Local Websites
County-clerk.net (unofficial site) Clerks have jurisdiction over birth certificates, death certificates, marriage licenses, land use, land rights, real estate, and other court records. Site provides links to unofficial websites with online records
PublicRecords.com (unofficial site) Provides links to County officials and public records

History

Parent County

  • 1833--Mississippi County was created 1 November 1833 from Crittenden County.  County seat: Blytheville [3]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Arkansas county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Arkansas County Boundary Maps" (1813-1925) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.


Variant Spellings

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Arkansas counties see: Arkansas Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places/Localities

Town/city records in the FamilySearch Catalog'

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Craighead  • Crittenden  • Dunklin County, Missouri  • Dyer County, Tennessee  • Lauderdale County, Tennessee  • Pemiscot County, Missouri  • Poinsett  • Shelby County, Tennessee  • Tipton County, Tennessee •

Crittenden CountyMississippi CountyCross CountyCraighead CountyPoinsett CountyClay CountyGreene CountyPemiscot CountyDunklin CountyHardeman CountyDyer CountyHaywood CountyShelby CountyTipton CountyLauderdale CountyFayette CountyLake CountyGibson CountyCrockett CountyARMississippi3.JPG


Genealogy Resources

Research Guides

African Americans

Bible Records

cemeteries

Online Mississippi County, Arkansas cemeteries
from state and national resources
Search for names of people
in Mississippi County
Get a list of cemeteries
(then click to names of people)
Find printed records
(Often more complete)
  • Find A Grave Click "Refine Last Search" on the left, enter a name, click "Search"
  • Billion Graves Enter a name and click "Search" (Statewide. Can search by county, but many with no results.)
  • Find A Grave Click Search for a Cemetery on the right, click All Countries - click United States, click State, click County and search.
  • [1] Select a county, then "Cemeteries." Some overlap with USGenWeb.

More cemetery lists

Census

Church Records

Church records vary greatly, depending upon the the record keepers and beliefs of the church. They may give: a member's dates of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information, maiden name; and death date. For more information, see Arkansas Church Records.

See also Towns and Townships to find records listed at the town level in the FamilySearch Catalog.

Court

Genealogy

Land and Property

Land and property records can 1) place an ancestor in a specific location, 2) provide economic information, 3) reveal family relationships, and more.

After land was transferred to private ownership, transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse in the form of deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, and others.

See Arkansas Land and Property for more about online collections and early Arkansas land grants and patents from the government to private ownership.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for {{{1}}} County. They may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. Click for a brief Timeline History of the county. For more about local histories, see Arkansas Local Histories.

See also Towns and Townships to find records listed at the town level in the FamilySearch Catalog.

  • Edrington, Mabel Flanningan. History of Mississippi County, Arkansas.Ocala, Florida : Ocala Star-Banner, 1962.

History Timeline

Emphasis for this timeline is on events that affected migration, records, or record-keeping. Unless otherwise mentioned, the events below were gleaned from Arkansas County - The Encyclopedia of Arkansas History & Culture [2]

  • Mississippi County was home to many prehistoric cultures.
  • 1541 - Hernando de Soto’s path after he crossed the Mississippi River is believed that he visited parts of Mississippi County.
  • 1673 - Father Jacques Marquette visited during his expedition on the Mississippi River.
  • 1682 - The French explorer René-Robert Cavelier, Sieur de La Salle, viewed the territory.
  • 1800s - The population of the county continued to be sparse through the beginning of the 1800s.
  • 1811-1812 - the New Madrid Earthquakes of 1811–1812, which created the “sunk lands” caused by water rushing into the depressions left by the force of the quakes caused population growth to stop.
  • 1833 November 1 - The present Mississippi County was created.
  • 1950-2010 - The population of Mississippi Couty peaked at over 82,300 in 1950. It is currently (2010) at 46,480.

Maps

Military

Naturalization

Newspapers

Finding More Arkansas Newspapers Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Mississippi County, Arkansas newspapers in online catalogs like:

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Mississippi County, Arkansas newspapers in online catalogs like:

Occupations

Probate Records

Probate records of Arkansas have been kept by the probate or county courts. See Arkansas Probate Records for more information about Probate records in Arkansas, including statewide indexes.

  • Probate Records 1865-1952 Part of: Arkansas Probate Records, 1817-1979 FamilySearch Historical Collections (Free, browse images)
    • Includes Administration and guardian bonds and letters 1869-1906; Probate records 1865-1879; Wills 1898-1952; Wills, letters of administration and guardianship 1866-1909.

Taxation

Arkansas tax records replace missing censuses and provide lists of residents during years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years for some counties. For more information see Arkansas Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Arkansas Vital Records State Department of Health, the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online. See also How to order Arkansas Vital Records

See also How to order Arkansas Vital Records

Birth
Marriage
Death
Vital Record Substitutes

Genealogy Societies and Libraries

Major catalogs for hard copy collections of Mississippi County, Arkansas
Books, microfilm, or manuscripts of genealogical records
FamilySearch Catalog Select topics. For towns, click here.
WorldCat Click an item for libraries near you. For more information, see WorldCat Online Catalog.
Allen County Public Library Located in Indiana, they are heavily involved in digitizing much of their collection.
Arkansas History Commission Select the county Arkansas state agency involved in organizing, digitizing, and maintaining the records of state and local history.
Local libraries and Arkansas Archives and Libraries may suggest other catalogs

Family History Centers

Websites



Sites with online indexes or images of records
ARGenWeb Free Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
USGenWeb Archives Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
RootsWeb resources Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Sites that search for links pertaining to Mississippi County, Arkansas
Linkpendium Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
CyndisList Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
StateofUS Free family history resources and government records


Social networking sites pertaining to Mississippi County, Arkansas
genealogy.com Mississippi County, AR Genealogy Forum
ancestry.com Mississippi County Message Board

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists : United States of America, 10th ed., (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002), p. 69.
  2. Alice Eichholz, Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, 3rd ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry Pub., 2004), 65-67. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 2004.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  4. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/0/0d/Igiarkansasem.pdf.
  5. FamilySearch Wiki contributors, "Arkansas County Marriages (FamilySearch Historical Records)," in FamilySearch Wiki, accessed 18 April 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 16 December 2014, at 16:15.
  • This page has been accessed 8,412 times.