Mitford, NorthumberlandEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Northumberland Gotoarrow.png Northumberland Parishes

Guide to Mitford, Northumberland ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Mitford, Northumberland
Mitford St Mary Magdalene Northumberland.jpg
Mitford St Mary Magdalene Northumberland
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Castle; Morpeth
County Northumberland
Poor Law Union Morpeth PLU
Registration District Morpeth
Records begin
Parish registers: 1651
Bishop's Transcripts: 1769
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Morpeth
Diocese Durham
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Northumberland Record Office

Contents

Parish History

MITFORD, a parish, in the union of Morpeth, partly in the W. division of Castle ward, in the S., and partly in the W. division of Morpeth ward, in the N., division of Northumberland, 1¾ mile (W. by S.) from Morpeth.[1]

Additional information:

Mitford St Mary Magdalene is an Ancient Parish and includes: Benridge, Edington, Espley, Heighley, High and Low Highlaws, High and Low Highley, Highlaw-Gate, Molesden, Newton Park, Newton Underwood, Nun-Riding, Nunridge, Nunriding, Pigdon, Spital Hill, Spittal Hill, Spittle Hill, Throp Hill, Throphill, and Thropple. The Church was built in 1135 in the shape of a cross. The bell is claimed to be the oldest in Britain.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church Records 

Durham University Library Archives and Special Collections Reference number: DDR/EA/PBT/2/180 Date: 1769-1851  Parish Register transcripts are available to search free online at FamilySearch Historical Records.

The dates of the post-1760 transcripts have been noted in detail and sometimes only cover years. For most parishes in the collection there are gaps in the sequence of transcripts. It is advisable to consult the original parish registers for these years and events.Mitford, St Mary Magdalene: Records of baptisms 1651-1955, marriages 1659-1900 and burials 1667-1900 are available at Northumberland Collections Service. The International Genealogical Index (I.G.I.) includes baptisms 1665-1812 and marriages 1659-1812 for this parish, and Boyd's Marriage Index includes marriages 1655-1812 and banns 1754-1812. Transcripts of baptisms 1665-1812, marriages 1659-1812 and burials 1667-1755, 1757-1812 are available at Newcastle Central Library, Local Studies Dept. A transcript of monumental inscriptions at Mitford (microfiche TN73) is published by Northumberland and Durham Family History Society and these records are also available in book form at Newcastle Central Library, Local Studies Department.

FamilySearch Historical Records includes England, Durham Diocese, Marriage Bonds and Allegations (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438893.

Poor Law Unions

Morpeth Poor Law Union, Northumberland

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Northumberland Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), Date accessed: 07 August 2013.
Add any relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:24.
  • This page has been accessed 1,506 times.