Mithian, CornwallEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  CornwallGotoarrow.png  Cornwall Parishes

Guide to Mithian, Cornwall family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Mithian, Cornwall
St Peter's Church, Mithian Cornwall.jpg
St Peter's Church, Mithian Cornwall
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Powder; Pyder
County Cornwall
Poor Law Union Truro PLU
Registration District Truro
Records begin
Parish registers: 1848
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Pydar
Diocese Exeter
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Cornwall
Location of Archive
Cornwall Record Office

Contents

Parish History

MITHIAN, an ecclesiastical district, in the parishes of Kea, Kenwyn, Perranzabuloe, and St. Agnes, union of Truro, W. division of the hundred of Pyder and of the county of Cornwall, 6 miles (W. N. W.) from Truro. There are three Methodist and three Primitive Methodist places of worship. [1]

Mithian St Peter is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Cornwall, created in 1846 from Kenwyn, Cornwall Ancient Parish, Kea, Cornwall chapelry in Kenwyn Ancient Parish, Perranzabuloe, Cornwall Ancient Parish, St Agnes, Cornwall Ecclesiastical Parish, and Chacewater, Cornwall Ecclesiastical Parish.

Mithian ecclesiastical parish was created in 1846 from parts of St Agnes, Kea, Perranzabuloe and Kenwyn parishes; previously the village had been enumerated as part of St Agnes and Kenwyn parishes. When created, Mithian parish included the village of Blackwater and so the parish church is over two miles from Mithian. The church, built in 1861, was dedicated to St Peter and rather remotely located north of Chiverton Cross at OS grid reference SW746471. The architect was William White. The original spire and tower became unsafe and were taken down in 1898; a replacement tower with no spire was built in 1928.

The church faced closure in 2008 and a planning application was lodged with Cornwall Council to convert the building to residential use. In a local report the Reverend Alan Bashforth said: "The last service took place on Christmas Eve 2006 and although a small but loyal group tried to keep it going, building work costs in the region of £800,000 meant that was not possible. It was not an easy choice to close the church."

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Mithian, Cornwall parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

COPC = Cornwall Online Parish Clerks - free[2]
FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[3]
Mithian, Cornwall Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
COPC 1849-1913
1862-1911
1861-1938
FMP 1849-1863

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Images of parish registers are available online at FamilySearch Images refer to

Cornwall Record Office reference: P 155.

Cornwall Online Parish Clerks

An extremely useful resource is the Cornwall Online Parish Clerks page for the parish.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241269.

Cornwall Online Census Project

Poor Law Unions

Truro Poor Law Union

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cornwall Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Mithian in GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 325-329. Date accessed: 18 March 2013.
  2. 'Coverage by Parish,' Cornwall Online Parish Clerks, accessed 3 December 2013.
  3. 'Cornwall Baptisms', Find My Past, accessed 22 November 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 5 September 2014, at 20:47.
  • This page has been accessed 1,199 times.