Mitton, YorkshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png YorkshireGotoarrow.png Yorkshire Parishes K-RGotoarrow.pngWest Riding of YorkshireGotoarrow.png Mitton| Here's a List of Chapelries within the Parish of Mitton

Guide to Mitton, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Mitton, Yorkshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Blackburn; Staincliff and Ewcross
County Yorkshire
Poor Law Union Clitheroe PLU
Registration District Clitheroe
Records begin
Parish registers: 1610
Bishop's Transcripts: 1632
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Craven
Diocese Pre-1836 - York; Post-1835 - Ripon
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office

Contents

Part of this parish is in Lancashire. See also Mitton, Lancashire.  

Parish History

Mitton was an Ancient Parish partly in the county of Yorkshire and partly in Lancashire.

Other places in the parish include: Bashall Eaves, Crook, West Bradford, Pagefold, and Great Mitton.

Mitton was originally was part of the ancient Lordship of Bowland which comprised a Royal Forest and a Liberty of ten manors spanning eight townships and four parishes and covered an area of almost 300 square miles (780 km2) on the historic borders of Lancashire and Yorkshire. The manors within the Liberty were Slaidburn (Newton-in-Bowland, West Bradford, Grindleton), Knowlmere, Waddington, Easington, Bashall Eaves, Mitton, Withgill (Crook), Leagram, Hammerton and Dunnow (Battersby).

Mitton is a small village, within the Ribble Valley district of Lancashire, England. It is also a civil parish. Prior to the 1974 county boundary changes, Mitton just fell within the boundary of Bowland Rural District of the West Riding of Yorkshire.

MITTON (St. Michael), a parish,in the union of Clitheroe, comprising the townships of Bashall-Eaves, West Bradford, Grindleton, Mitton or Great Mitton, and Waddington, in the W. division of the wapentake of Staincliffe and Ewcross, W. riding of York; and the township of Aighton with Bailey and Chaigley, in the Lower division of the hundred of Blackburn, county of Lancaster. The Wesleyans have places of worship at Waddington and Bashall-Eaves. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Online index of Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths Lancashire BMD

Lancashire Online Parish Clerks

An extremely useful resource for research in Lancashire Parishes http://www.lan-opc.org.uk/

Church records

Online Records

Online data content from chapelry registers of MITTON exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:

IARC = Archive.org
FS = FamilySearch.org
AC = Ancestry - (£)[2]
HATH = HathiTrust.org
JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)
MITTON PARISH (1738) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS None

1738-1847

None

JOIN None

1813-1837

None

AC None

None

None


GRINDLETON CHAPELRY (1694) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1744-1859

1694-1847

1808-1919

JOIN None

None

None

AC







Census records


Poor Law Unions

Clitheroe Poor Law Union, Lancashire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 316-319. Date accessed: 23 October 2013.
  2. 'West Yorkshire, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1512-1812,' Ancestry, accessed 10 May 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 5 November 2014, at 02:11.
  • This page has been accessed 2,369 times.