Mobberley, CheshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Parishes

Guide to Mobberley, Cheshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Mobberley, Cheshire
St Wilfrid's Church, Mobberley.jpg
St Wilfrid's Church, Mobberley
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Bucklow
County Cheshire
Poor Law Union Altrincham PLU
Registration District Altrincham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1578
Bishop's Transcripts: 1599
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Macclesfield
Diocese Pre-1541 - Lichfield and Coventry; Post-1540 - Chester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1541 - Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory) Post-1540 - Court of the Bishop of Cheshire (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Cheshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

MOBBERLEY, is a village and a parish in Altrincham district, Cheshire. The village stands on a branch of the river Bollin, near the Northwich and Altrincham railway, it is 3½ miles ENE of Knutsford; and has a station on the railway, and a post office under Knutsford. There are chapels for Independents and Wesleyans.[1]

Mobberley St Wilfrid is an Ancient Parish in Cheshire.

When the church was undergoing restoration in 1888 remains of a Saxon church were found. The earliest written evidence of a church on the site is in 1206 when Patrick de Mobberley founded an Augustinian priory. The church has a long association with the Mallory family.

Ashley, St. Elizabeth became the parish church for the northern part of Mobberley from 1881.

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241234.

Church records

Mobberley St Wilfrid parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:

FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
Mobberley St Wilfrid Parish (1578) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's 1578-1909
  NONE
1578-1934
  NONE
1578-1982
  NONE
FS BT'S 1599-1898
  NONE
1599-1884
  NONE
1599-1898
  NONE

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Parish registers for Mobberley, 1578-1995 Cheshire Record Office call numbers: P34/1/1-2, P34/2/1-3, P34/6122/1-4, 12; P34/3/1-5, P34/4/1-3.

An index for Cheshire parish registers is available online in FamilySearch Historical Records (formerly Record Search)

Parish registers Contents FHL Film
Baptisms, 1578-1959. Marriages, 1578-Feb. 1865.Burials, 1578-1679. BRITISH
2262876
Marriages, Feb. 1865-1949. Burials, 1678-1995. Marriages, 1949-1957. BRITISH
2262877

Bishop's transcripts for Mobberley; includes All Saint Chapel, Micklehurst, 1599-1898

Includes some entries for All Saints Chapel of Ease, Micklehurst.
Micklehurst is in the parish of Mottram-in-Longdendale.Cheshire Record Office call number: EDB/148

An index for Cheshire, Church of England, Bishop’s Transcripts is available online in Family Search Historical records ( formerly Record Search)

Bishop's transcripts Content FHL Film
Baptisms, 1595-1898. Marriages, burials, 1599, 1608, 1610-1611, 1615, 1617-1619, 1622-1626, 1628-1629, 1631-1633, 1635-1637, 1640, 1663-1664, 1666-1678, 1680-1685; 1690, 1706, 1708-1750. Burials, 1873-1898. BRITISH
1736870 Items 3 - 7
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1750-1812, 1814-1835, 1837-1866. BRITISH
1736871 Items 1 - 4
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1867-1876. BRITISH
1736977 Item 12
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1877-1884. BRITISH
1736978 Item 1

Mobberley- St Wilfrid
Banns Transcript-1880-1931- MFPR 337
Baptisms-1578-1898- MFPR 557
Baptisms Transcript-1578-1795- MFPR 337
Baptisms Transcript-1795-1959- MFPR 338
Burials-1578-1678- MFPR 557
Burials-1678-1838- MFPR 558
Burials Transcript-1578-1703- MFPR 337
Burials Transcript-1703-1905- MFPR 338
Marriages-1578-1920- MFPR 557
Marriages-1920-1933- MFPR 558
Marriages Transcript-1578-1754- MFPR 337
Marriages Transcript-1754-1949- MFPR 338

For original records apply to Cheshire Record Office

The Manchester Room and Greater Manchester County Record Office
Email: archiveslocalstudies@manchester.gov.ukThe Manchester Room@City Library (Local Studies)

Non-Conformist Churches
  • Mobberley, Friends' Meeting House (Quakers). Burial registers 1655–1742 are at the Cheshire Record Office. Mobberley- Quakers
    Burials Transcript-1679-1753- MFPR 337 The Manchester Room and Greater Manchester County Record Office
    Email: archiveslocalstudies@manchester.gov.uk

The Manchester Room@City Library (Local Studies)

  • Mobberley, Methodist Church (Wesleyan), Faulkner Lane. Founded 1836, Built in 1882.
  • Knolls Green, United Reformed Church (Independent/Congregational), Pepper Street. Built in 1783 as a Methodist Chapel (Wesleyan), taken over by Independents in 1803, closed in 1961. Mobberley- Knolls (also spelt Knowles) Green Independent
    Baptisms-1806-1837- MFPR 294.The Manchester Room and Greater Manchester County Record Office
    Email: archiveslocalstudies@manchester.gov.uk

The Manchester Room@City Library (Local Studies)

  • Mobberley, United Reformed Church (Independent/Congregational), Pepper Street.

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts
  •  Altrincham (1837–98)
  • Bucklow (1898–1974)
  • Macclesfield (1974–98)
  • Cheshire East (post 1998)

Poor Law Unions

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

see also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Mobberley on GENUKI

References

  1. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72). Date Accessed: 2 April 2013

Bibliography

Clifton-Taylor, Alec (1974), English Parish Churches as Work of Art, London: Batsford, p. 240, ISBN 0 7134 2776 0
Richards, Raymond (1947), Old Cheshire Churches, London: Batsford, pp. 237–242

Salter, Mark (1995), The Old Parish Churches of Cheshire, Malvern: Folly Publications, pp. 52–53, ISBN 1871731232
Pevsner, Nikolaus; Edward Hubbard (2003) [1971], The Buildings of England: Cheshire, New Haven: Yale University Press, pp. 281–282, ISBN 0 300 09588 0

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 14 November 2014, at 20:18.
  • This page has been accessed 3,428 times.