Mobile County, AlabamaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States  Gotoarrow.png  Alabama  Gotoarrow.png  Mobile County

Guide to Mobile County Alabama genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Alabama
Online Records


Mobile County, Alabama
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Alabama
Location of Alabama in the U.S.
Facts
Founded August 1, 1812
County Seat Mobile
Courthouse
Mobile County, Alabama Courthouse.jpg
Address Mobile County Courthouse
109 Government Street
Mobile, Al 36602- 3108
Phone: 334-690-8700 County Website

Contents

County Courthouse

Probate Judge has marriage records from 1813
Probate Records  from 1812 and land records from 1813[1]

History

Mobile initially fell within the bounds of Mississippi Territory.

Parent County

1812--Mobile County was created 1 August 1812 from West Florida.
County seat: Mobile[2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Alabama county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Alabama County Boundary Maps" (1799-1980) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

Fire.png
Mobile County had destructive courthouse fires in 1823, 1840, and 1872.[3]

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:

For a list of record loss in Alabama counties see: Alabama Counties with Burned Courthouses

Mobile, Alabama Wind Storm

July 5, 1916

1916-MOBILE IS SWEPT BY 85-MILE-AN-HOUR WIND . . The county courthouse was severely damaged, and faces of the clock on all four sides were blown off. . . The courthouse tower was wrecked and rain poured into the court rooms. . .
(source:GenDisasters)

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Cities

Bayou La Batre | Chickasaw | Citronelle | Creola | Mobile | Prichard | Saraland | Satsuma

Towns

Dauphin Island | Mount Vernon

Census Designation Places

Grand Bay | Theodore | Tillmans Corner

Unincorporated communities

Bucks | Eight Mile | Kushla | Mauvilla | St. Elmo | Semmes | Whistler

Ghost town

Beaver Mills

Neighboring Counties

Almobile.jpg
Baldwin | Clarke | Washington | Mississippi counties: George | Greene  | Jackson

Resources

African American

  • 1865-1891 - Mobile County Marriage Books 1-10 Index 1865-1891 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free.[5]
  • Africantown, U.S.A. : A Pictorial History of Plateau and Magazine Point (Mobile County) Alabama / [story narrative, John H. Smith]. - Mobile, Ala: American Ethnic Science Society, c. 1981  65 p.: ill.  F334.M6 A6 1981

Biography

Cemeteries

BillionGraves:

Websites operated by the cemetery itself:

Additional Mobile County cemeteries are included in Alabama Cemetery Records Vol. 1 and Vol. 5 at FamilySearch Books Online - free.

Census

Historical populations
Census Pop.
18202,672
18306,267134.5%
184018,741199.0%
185027,60047.3%
186041,13149.0%
187049,31119.9%
188048,653−1.3%
189051,5876.0%
190062,74021.6%
191080,85428.9%
1920100,11723.8%
1930118,36318.2%
1940141,97419.9%
1950231,10562.8%
1960314,30136.0%
1970317,3081.0%
1980364,98015.0%
1990378,6433.7%
2000399,8435.6%
2010412,9923.3%
Est. 2011412,5773.2%
For tips on accessing Mobile County, Alabama census records online, see: Alabama Census.

Church Records (Rural)

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Alabama denominations, view the Alabama Church Records wiki page.

Notre Dame du Fort Conde de la Mobile, Mobile

  • 1704-1764 - Notre Dame du Fort Conde de la Mobile, Mobile Baptism Index 1704-1764. Batch C594181 at FamilySearch - free.[5]
  • 1704-1764 - Notre Dame du Fort Conde de la Mobile, Mobile Marriage Index 1704-1764. Batch M594181 at FamilySearch - free.[5]

Court

Directories

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Alabama Land and Property for additional information about early Alabama land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Mobile County, Alabama. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Alabama Local Histories.

  • Bi-centennial Celebration, May 26-28, 1911, of the Founding of Mobile by Jean Baptiste de Bienville, 1711. Mobile: Commercial Print. Co., 1912. Digital version at Ancestry ($).
  • Craighead, Erwin. Mobile: Fact and Tradition, Noteworthy People and Events. Mobile, Ala.: Powers Print. Co., 1930. Digital version at Ancestry ($).
  • Delaney, Caldwell. Remember Mobile. Mobile, Ala., 1948. Digital version at Ancestry ($).
  • Hamilton, Peter J. Colonial Mobile: An Historical Study, Largely from Original Sources, of the Alabama-Tombigbee Basin and the old South West from the Discovery of the Spiritu Santo in 1519 Until the Demolition of Fort Charlotte in 1821. Boston: Houghton Mifflin, 1910. Digital version at Ancestry ($).
  • Hamilton, Peter J. Mobile of the Five Flags: The Story of the River Basin and Coast about Mobile from the Earliest Times to the Present. Mobile: Gill Print. Co., 1913. Digital version at Ancestry ($).

Maps

 Military

Civil War

Civil War service men from Mobile County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies or regiments that were formed from men of Mobile County.

- 1st Battalion, Alabama Artillery, Company A
- 1st Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company D (Red Eagles)
- 2nd Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company F, G, H and I
- 3rd Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company A "Mobile Cadets
- 3rd Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company B "Gulf City Guards"
- 3rd Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company E "Washington Light Infantry"
- 3rd Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company K "Mobile Rifles"
- 3rd Regiment, Alabama Cavalry, Company E, Mobile Humphries Dragoons [formerly Co. "D", Wirt Adams' Cavalry]
- 8th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company C "Alex Stephens' Guards"
- 8th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company E "Hamp Smith Rifles"
- 8th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company G "German Fusileers
- 8th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company H "Mobile Independent Scouts"
- 8th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company I "Emerald Guards"
- 9th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company A "Beauregard Rifles"
- 12th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company A "Lafayette Guards"
- 12th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company C "Independent Rifles
- 12th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company I "Southern Foresters"
- 21st Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company A "Washington Light Infantry"
- 21st Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company D "Mobile Battle Guards:
- 21st Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company E "Chamberlain Rifles or Woodruff Rifles"
- 21st Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company G
- 21st Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company H "Swanson Guards or French Guards"
- 21st Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company I "Independence Rifles or United Rangers"
- 21st Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company K "Mobile Cadets"
- 22nd Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company H "Sam Cooper Rifles"
- 24th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company A "Washington Guards"
- 24th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company B "Emmett Guards"
- 24th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company D "Beulah Guards"
- 24th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company F "Alabama Guards"
- 24th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company G
- 24th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company I "Confederate Guards"
- 32nd Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company B, C, F, I and K
- 36th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company E
- 38th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company G and K
- 40th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company F, H, I and K
- 42nd Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company I
- 43rd Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company F
- 51st Regiment, Alabama Partisan Rangers, Company K



Civil War Battle Fought in Mobile County
  • Mobile Bay, also known as Passing of Forts Morgan and Gaines, August 2-23, 1864 (partly fought in Baldwin County)

Battle information from Civil War Battle Summaries by State, by the Heritage Preservation Services.

Map showing Civil War battles in Alabama, by the Heritage Preservation Services.

Newspapers

Finding More Alabama Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Mobile County, Alabama newspapers in online catalogs like:

Alabama Online Historical Newspapers - identifies historical archived and digitized newspapers available online on both free and pay-to-access websites.

Probate Records

Probate records are held by the Mobile County, Alabama Probate Court. Most records are housed at the Mobile County, Alabama Courthouse. Many records are on microfilm at the Family History Library.

See the wiki page Alabama Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their places of residence.

Record types: Wills, dower records, personal property sales, settlement records, orphans’ records, and bonds.

Taxation

Alabama tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Alabama Taxation.

  • 1816 - Inhabitants of Alabama in 1816. Broken Arrow Chapter, Daughters of the American Revolution, 1955. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online - free. Includes Mobile County.
  • 1865-1866 - U.S. IRS Tax Assessment Lists, 1862-1918 at Ancestry ($). Autauga County is in District 2.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Alabama State Department of Health , the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online.

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Alabama. See also How to order Alabama Vital Records


Birth
Marriage
  • To 1825 Index to Marriages at Ancestry – ($); Index. contains over 12,000 names. Each entry includes groom, bride, marriage date, county, and state. Every name is indexed so you can search for one name, or two names that are linked.
  • 1813-1821, 1823-1825, 1827-1840, 1844, 1846-1849, 1851-1853, 1878, 1924, 1936–1969 Alabama, Marriage Collection, 1800–1969 at Ancestry – ($); Index. This collection is comprised of indexes created by several agencies - the Alabama Center for Health Statistics, Jordan Dodd of Liahona Research, and Hunting For Bears.
  • 1878 "Alabama Marriages, 1809–1920" at Ancestry – ($); Index. This database is a collection of marriage records from the state. Researchers will find the names of both bride and groom along with the marriage date. The county where the ceremony was performed is also provided. Containing about 150,000 records and the names of nearly 300,000 men and women.
Death
  • 1881–1974 Index to Deaths and Burials at Ancestry – ($); Index. Volunteers extracted the details in this index from microfilmed copies of church, civil, family, and other records of Alabama deaths and burials. details vary depending on the original record. Note that the number of available records can vary widely by county, and this database does not necessarily represent a comprehensive set of death records for the state during this time.

Societies and Libraries

Library

Mobile Public Library
Local History Dept.
704 Government Street
Mobile, AL 36602-149
Telephone: 334-208-7093

Collections include local histories, newspaper clippings, city directories, censuses, probate index, military records, and more.

Family History Center

Mobile County Alabama Genealogy Websites

Mobile County Alabama Genealogy References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Mobile County, Alabama p. 38. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. Alabama Counties: Mobile County in Alabama Department of Archives and History (accessed 16 March 2014).
  4. 4.0 4.1 Coverage Table, "Alabama County Marriages (FamilySearch Historical Records)," FamilySearch Research Wiki, https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/Alabama_County_Marriages_(FamilySearch_Historical_Records), accessed 6 August 2012.
  5. 5.0 5.1 5.2 5.3 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/c/cf/Igialabamals.pdf.
  6. Name Search at Genealogical.com is a comprehensive name index to 638 books and CDs published or reprinted by Genealogical Publishing Company (now Genealogical.com). For a complete list of the works included, see Publications in Name Search at Genealogical.com

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 25 July 2014, at 16:14.
  • This page has been accessed 11,783 times.