Modoc IndiansEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png American Indians Gotoarrow.png Oklahoma Gotoarrow.png Indians of Oklahoma Gotoarrow.png Modoc Indians

Guide to Modoc Indians ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and other agency records.

Modoc Indians- Winama or Tobey Riddle, standing between an agent & her husband,Frank(left) with 4 Modoc women,by Edward Muybridge, 1873 NO. 72.jpg

Contents


Various Spellings: Modoc, Modac, Moadoc

The Modoc Tribe is primarily associated with the states of California and Oklahoma[1].

Ancestral homeland: southern Oregon and northern California

Tribal Headquarters

Modoc Tribe of Oklahoma
515 G Street Southeast
Miami, OK 74354
Phone: 1.918.542.1190
Fax: 1.918.542.5415

Population: 1984: 200 enrollment. [2]

History

Brief Timeline

  • 1864: Modoc and Klamath ceded land and moved to Klamath Reservation in Oregon
  • 1870: Captain Jack (Kintpuash) set out to create a homeland for the Modoc tribe; in Lost Valley
  • 1872:  Modoc uprising; Captain James Jackson set out from Fort Klamath with orders to take the Modoc's back to the Klamath Reservation.
  • 1872Surviving Modoc's sent to live in Indian Territory among the Quapaw Tribe
  • 1909: Fifty-one Modoc allowed to return to Klamath Reservation
  • 1978: The Modoc Tribe of Oklahoma obtained federal recognition
  • 1991: Constitution approved

Agencies

Digger Agency

Quapaw and Seneca Agency 1873-1880

Superintendancy

Oregon Superintendency

Central Superintendency

Reservations

Klamath Reservation

Additional References

Frederick Webb Hodge, in his Handbook of American Indians North of Mexico, gave a more complete history of the Modoc tribe, with estimations of the population of the tribe at various time periods. Additional details are given in John Swanton's The Indian Tribes of North America.

Keith A. Murray. The Modocs and Their War, Norman, OK. University of OK. Press, 1969. FHL Book 970.3 M721m

Records

The majority of records of individuals were those created by the agencies. Some records may be available to tribal members through the tribal headquarters.They were (and are) the local office of the Bureau of Indian Affairs, and were charged with maintaining records of the activities of those under their responsibility. Among these records are:


Correspondence and Census

Tribe Agency Location of Original Records

Pre-1880 Correspondence

M234 RG 75

Rolls 962

Roll Number

FHL

Film

Number

Post-1885 Census

M595 RG 75 Rolls 693

Roll Number

FHL

Film

Number

Modoc Digger Agency, 1916-20 San Franisco - - Rolls 224-28 575589
Modoc Quapaw and Seneca Agencies, 1873-80

Washington D.C.

and Fort Worth

Rolls 703-13 - Rolls 410-12, 487-89 581405-581410, and 581498-581499

Land and Property

Tribally owned: 57.93 acres [3]

Treaty

Vital Records

Important Web Sites

Bibliography

  • Guide to Federal Records in the National Archives; Record Group 75, Records of the Bureau of Indian Affairs.
  • Hodge, Frederick Webb. Handbook of American Indians North of Mexico. Washington, DC: Smithsonian Institution, 1906 Available online.
  • Klein, Barry T., ed. Reference Encyclopedia of the American Indian. Nyack, New York: Todd Publications, 2009. 10th ed. WorldCat 317923332; FHL book 970.1 R259e.
  • Malinowski, Sharon and Sheets, Anna, eds. The Gale Encyclopedia of Native American Tribes. Detroit: Gale Publishing, 1998. 4 volumes. Includes: Lists of Federally Recognized Tribes for U.S., Alaska, and Canada – pp. 513-529 Alphabetical Listing of Tribes, with reference to volume and page in this series Map of “Historic Locations of U.S. Native Groups” Map of “Historic Locations of Canadian Native Groups” Map of “Historic Locations of Mexican, Hawaiian and Caribbean Native Groups” Maps of “State and Federally Recognized U.S. Indian Reservations. WorldCat 37475188; FHL book 970.1 G131g.
Vol. 1 -- Northeast, Southeast, Caribbean
Vol. 2 -- Great Basin, Southwest, Middle America
Vol. 3 -- Arctic, Subarctic, Great Plains, Plateau
Vol. 4 -- California, Pacific Northwest, Pacific Islands
  • Sturtevant, William C. Handbook of North American Indians. 20 Vols., some not yet published. Washington, DC: Smithsonian Institution, 1978– .
Volume 1 -- Not yet published
Volume 2 -- Indians in Contemporary Society (pub. 2008) -- WorldCat 234303751
Volume 3 -- Environment, Origins, and Population (pub. 2006) -- WorldCat 255572371
Volume 4 -- History of Indian-White Relations (pub. 1988) -- WorldCat 19331914; FHL book 970.1 H191h v.4.
Volume 5 -- Arctic (pub. 1984) -- WorldCat 299653808; FHL book 970.1 H191h v.5.
Volume 6 -- Subarctic (pub. 1981) -- WorldCat 247493742; FHL book 970.1 H191h v.6.
Volume 7 -- Northwest Coast (pub. 1990) -- WorldCat 247493311
Volume 8 -- California (pub. 1978) -- WorldCat 13240086; FHL book 970.1 H191h v.8.
Volume 9 -- Southwest (pub. 1979) -- WorldCat 26140053; FHL book 970.1 H191h v.9.
Volume 10 -- Southwest (pub. 1983) -- WorldCat 301504096; FHL book 970.1 H191h v.10.
Volume 11 -- Great Basin (pub. 1986) -- WorldCat 256516416; FHL book 970.1 H191h v.11.
Volume 12 -- Plateau (pub. 1998) -- WorldCat 39401371; FHL book 970.1 H191h v.12.
Volume 13 -- Plains, 2 vols. (pub. 2001) -- WorldCat 48209643
Volume 14 -- Southeast (pub. 2004) -- WorldCat 254277176
Volume 15 -- Northwest (pub. 1978) -- WorldCat 356517503; FHL book 970.1 H191h v.15.
Volume 16 -- Not yet published
Volume 17 -- Languages (pub. 1996) -- WorldCat 43957746
Volume 18 -- Not yet published
Volume 19 -- Not yet published
Volume 20 -- Not yet published

References

  1. Indian Entities Recognized and Eligible To Receive Services From the United States Bureau of Indian Affairs, Federal Register, Vol. 67, No. 134, 12 July 2002 Available online
  2. Indian Reservations A State and Federal Handbook. Compiled by The Confederation of American Indians, New York, N.Y. McFarland and Co. Inc., Jefferson, North Carolina, c. 1986. FHL book 970.1 In2 page 229
  3. Indian Reservations A State and Federal Handbook. Compiled by The Confederation of American Indians, New York, N.Y. McFarland and Co. Inc., Jefferson, North Carolina, c. 1986. FHL book 970.1 In2 page 228

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 December 2015, at 19:25.
  • This page has been accessed 7,183 times.