Monk Sherborne, Hampshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Monk Sherborne, Hampshire)

England Gotoarrow.png Hampshire Gotoarrow.png Hampshire Parishes Gotoarrow.png Monk Sherborne

Guide to Monk Sherborne, Hampshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Monk Sherborne, Hampshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Basingstoke
County Hampshire
Poor Law Union Basingstoke
Registration District Basingstoke
Records begin
Parish registers: 1618
Bishop's Transcripts: 1728
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Basingstoke
Diocese Winchester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and Archdeaconry of Winchester
Location of Archive
Hampshire Record Office


Parish History

In 1870-72, John Marius Wilson, described Monk Sherborne like this:

SHERBORNE-MONK, or West S., a parish, with a village and two tythings, in Basingstoke district, Hants; 3 miles NW of Basingstoke r. station. Post town, Basingstoke.[1].


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Monk Sherbourne parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[2]
FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[3]
FS = FamilySearch - free[4]
PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)[5]


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images

FMP 1700s-1800s

PRTS 1780-1812

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288792.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Hampshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.



  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, 1870. Date accessed 10 June 2013.
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. 'Over 1.4 million new Hampshire parish records published', Find My Past, accessed 3 October 2013. Date ranges are not clearly identified.
  4. 'IGI Batch Numbers for Hampshire, England', IGI Batch Numbers - British Isles and North America, accessed 8 October 2013.
  5. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 30 September 2013.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 November 2015, at 14:22.
  • This page has been accessed 1,981 times.