Monk Soham, SuffolkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Suffolk Gotoarrow.png Hoxne Hundred Gotoarrow.png Suffolk Parishes

Monk Soham, Suffolk
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Hoxne
County Suffolk
Poor Law Union Hoxne PLU
Registration District Hoxne
Records begin
Parish registers: 1712
Bishop's Transcripts: 1563
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Hoxne
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Suffolk
Location of Archive
Suffolk Record Office

Contents

Parish History

SOHAM, MONK (St. Peter), a parish, in the union and hundred of Hoxne, E. division of Suffolk, 6 miles (W. by N.) from Framlingham.[1]  Or see.[2]


Resources

If you live in Suffolk then you will have access to a variety of resources; however , for those who live further afield, one can access microfilm and online records at Family History Centers. Refer to Monk Soham and Suffolk in the FamilySearch Catalog for available records.

Civil Registration

Monk Soham is in Hoxne District. To search an index of Hoxne district records go to FreeBMD. The Suffolk Civil Registration article tells more about these records.

Church records

Monk Soham, Suffolk parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

1813 = Suffolk Marriage Index (1813-37) (FindMyPast) - (£)[3]
BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[4]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[5]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[6]
TGEN = TheGenealogist - (£)[7]
Monk Soham, Suffolk Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
1813 1813-1837
BOYD
1713-1837

IGI 1565-1650
JOIN
1713-1837

TGEN
1713-1991
1713-1919

The Parish Registers begin in 1712. They can be viewed at the Suffolk Record Office. For pre 1813 Bishop Transcript entries you will need to look in Hoxne Deanery, Parish Chest records are lacking for Monk Soham. See Suffolk Church Records for further details.
The parish registers of the parish of Monk Soham were published in 1920 and covers baptisms, burial, and marraiges from 1712 to 1919.

Census records

There are census records available for Monk Soham from 1841 to 1911. Census records are available on a variety of subscription and other websites. If you need to consult the 1841 to 1891 census on microfilm, refer to Monk Soham, England, Census in the library catalogue.
There is statistical data available for the census years 1801 to 1931 that records the number of houses, families, people, and other statistical data for every parish in the county.
Refer to the Suffolk Census wiki article for details.

Probate records

Prior to 1858 the primary court that had jurisdiction over Monk Soham was the Archdeaconry of Suffolk; however, a person’s will or administration may have been probated in nearby courts or even in London. After 1858 it was in Ipswich District. Refer to the Suffolk Probate Records article for further details.

Maps and Gazetteers

  • Suffolk Gazetteers and Directories from 1839 to 1909 - Suffolk Gazetteers and directories provide a brief history and description of each parish and lists principal residents. They mention the farmers and tradesman in each parish and the nearest market towns among other items.
  • National gazetteers provide a brief description of each place


Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 129-133. Date accessed: 03 July 2014.
  2. William White, 1844, History, Gazetteer, and Directory of Suffolk; page 467-468
  3. 'Suffolk Marriage Index (1813-37) Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 9 December 2013.
  4. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  5. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Suffolk, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 10 December 2013.
  6. 'Suffolk Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 3 December 2013.
  7. 'Parish Records,' TheGenealogist, accessed 26 April 2014.
  8. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 129-133. Date accessed: 02 October 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 July 2014, at 22:45.
  • This page has been accessed 1,556 times.