Monkleigh, DevonEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Devon Gotoarrow.png Devon Parishes

Contents

Parish History

MONKLEIGH (St. George), a parish, in the union of Bideford, hundred of Shebbear, Great Torrington and N. divisions of Devon, 2¾ miles (W. N. W.) from Great Torrington, on the road to Bideford. It is bounded on the east by the river Torridge, which separates it from the parishes of Great Torrington and Wear-Giffard. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Monkleigh, Devon parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeReg.org.uk
MONKLEIGH PARISH (year) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1789-1857 1813-1836 1767-1901
IGI 1567-1850 1548-1850


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241320.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Devon Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 333-334. Date accessed: 16 July 2013

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 April 2014, at 18:53.
  • This page has been accessed 485 times.