Monks Horton, KentEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Kent  Gotoarrow.png  Kent Parishes

Guide to Monks Horton, Kent family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Monks Horton, Kent
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Stouting
County Kent
Poor Law Union Elham PLU
Registration District Elham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1563
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Elham
Diocese Canterbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Canterbury
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Monks Horton is village and civil parish in the Shepway district of Kent. The civil parish includes hamlets at Horton and Broad Street, see Monks Horton Wikipedia

Monks Horton is an Ancient Parish in the Diocese of Canterbury; it is one of the group of churches in the Smeeth (St. Mary) with Monks Horton and Stowting and Brabourne benefice, see Benefice website. See A20 churches website

The church of St Peter, Monks Horton has been designated as a grade II* listed building British listed building

See Edward Hasted The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 8 (1799), pp. 52-63 at British History Online and Kent Churches website

HORTON, MONKS (St. Peter), a parish, in the union of Elham, hundred of Stouting, lathe of Shepway, E. division of Kent, 5 miles (N. N. W.) from Hythe. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

See Elham Registration District Folkestone Registration District

Kent County Council (KCC) has a certificate centre at the Mansion House in Tunbridge Wells which holds all the completed registers for Kent since 1 July 1837 and can supply a certified copy of any Kent birth, death or marriage entry from any register within its custody or a Kent civil partnership registration from the government online database.

The Mansion House
(Certificate Centre)
Grove Hill Road
Tunbridge Wells
Kent TN1 1EP

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Monks Horton, Kent parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[2][3][4][5]
FREG = FreeREG - free[6]
MIDK = Mid-Kent Marriage Index 1754-1911 - free[7]
Monks Horton, Kent Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1603-1892
1603-1836; 1754-1845 (Banns)
1603-1892
FREG
1754-1911

MIDK 1754-1911

Original deposited registers were formerly held at:

Centre for Kentish Studies,County Hall,Maidstone,Kent ME14 1XX

From Spring 2012 material formerly held at

Centre for Kentish Studies,County Hall,Maidstone,Kent ME14 1XX

is available at Kent History and Library Centre see Kent Archives

Kent Online Parish Clerks (OPC)

Family History Library film numbers
Monks Horton
See also England, Kent, Parish Registers and Bishop's Transcripts (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts, non conformist and other types of church records, such as parish chest records.

Land Tax

Images for Monks Horton Stanford, Kent and Stowting, Kent are available at FamilySearch Records see England, Kent, Land Tax Assessments (FamilySearch Historical Records) 1780-1832.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306873.


 

Poor Law Unions

Elham Poor Law Union, Kent

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

See England, Kent, Wills and Probate (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Local Family History Centre

Canterbury Family History Centre, Kent

Maidstone Family History Centre, Kent

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 557-559. Date accessed: 17 April 2013.
  2. 'Coverage of Kent parish baptism records', Find My Past, accessed 5 November 2013.
  3. 'Coverage of Kent parish marriage records', Find My Past, accessed 6 November 2013.
  4. 'Coverage of Kent parish banns', Find My Past, accessed 5 November 2013.
  5. 'Coverage of Kent parish burial records', Find My Past, accessed 6 November 2013.
  6. 'Kent Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 6 November 2013.
  7. 'Mid-Kent Marriage Index 1754-1911,' Woodchurch Ancestry Group, accessed 16 January 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 June 2014, at 14:25.
  • This page has been accessed 2,639 times.