Monkton Wyld, DevonEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Devon Gotoarrow.png Devon Parishes

Guide to Monkton Wyld, Devon family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Contents

For more information and records see Monkton Wyld, Dorset.

Monkton Wyld, Devon
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Axminster; Whitchurch-Canoncorum
County Devon
Poor Law Union Axminster; Bridport PLU
Registration District Axminster; Bridport
Records begin
Parish registers: None
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Bridport
Diocese Salisbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Dorset
Location of Archive
Devon Record Office

Parish History

Ecclessiastical parish of Monkton Wyld was created in 1850 from the ancient parish of Whitchurch Cannonicorum, Dorset and the ancient parish of Uplyme in Devon near Lyme Regis.[1]

Monkton Wyld can be found under Whitchurch-Canonicorum:

WHITCHURCH-CANONICORUM, a village, a parish, a sub-district, and a hundred, in Dorset. The village stands 5 miles WNW of Bridport r. station; and has a post-office under Bridport. The parish includes four hamlets. The church is good; a chapel of ease is at Marshwood; and part of the parish is in Monckton-Wyld chapelry. There are Baptist and Wesleyan chapels.[2]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241301.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Devon Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. John Bartholomew Gazetteer of the British Isles published in 1887. Date accessed: 30 October 2013.
  2. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales 1870-72. Date accessed: 30 October 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 5 May 2014, at 19:37.
  • This page has been accessed 824 times.