Monroe County, AlabamaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Alabama
Monroe County
Guide to Monroe County Alabama genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Monroe County, Alabama | |
| Map | |
![]() Location of Alabama in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded | June 29, 1815 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | Monroeville |
| Courthouse | |
| Address | Monroe County Courthouse Square Monroeville, Al 36461 Phone: 251-743-2283 County Website |
Contents |
County Courthouse
Courthouse Fire destroyed all records prior to 1833
Probate Judge has marriage probate and land record from 1832
1816 Census of Monroe County published by Monroe Journal Monroeville, Alabama [1]
History
Parent County
1815--Monroe County was created 29 June 1815 from Washington County and the Creek Cession of 1814.
County seat: Monroeville [2]
Boundary Changes
Record Loss
1833--A courthouse fire destroyed all records.
Places/Localities
Populated Places
Neighboring Counties
Resources
African-American
- See obituary abstracts from the African-American newspaper, The Eagle, in the Newspaper section below. Section below also contains community news, marriage and birth announcements.
- Slaves and owners recorded in the Philadelphia Baptist Church Minutes, Tunnel Springs, Monroe Co, AL - 1840-1899.
Cemeteries
Census
| Historical populations | |||
|---|---|---|---|
| Census | Pop. | %± | |
| 1820 | 8,838 | ||
| 1830 | 8,782 | −0.6% | |
| 1840 | 10,680 | 21.6% | |
| 1850 | 12,013 | 12.5% | |
| 1860 | 15,667 | 30.4% | |
| 1870 | 14,214 | −9.3% | |
| 1880 | 17,091 | 20.2% | |
| 1890 | 18,990 | 11.1% | |
| 1900 | 23,666 | 24.6% | |
| 1910 | 27,155 | 14.7% | |
| 1920 | 28,884 | 6.4% | |
| 1930 | 30,070 | 4.1% | |
| 1940 | 29,465 | −2.0% | |
| 1950 | 25,732 | −12.7% | |
| 1960 | 22,372 | −13.1% | |
| 1970 | 20,883 | −6.7% | |
| 1980 | 22,651 | 8.5% | |
| 1990 | 23,968 | 5.8% | |
| 2000 | 24,324 | 1.5% | |
| 2010 | 23,068 | −5.2% | |
Church Records
Court Records
Land and Property
To place a grant or deed on a map within context of Monroe County, Alabama see:
- Boyd, Gregory A. Family Maps of Monroe County, Alabama: with Homesteads, Roads, Waterways, Towns, Cemeteries, Railroads, and More. Norman, Okla.: Arphax Pub. Co., 2009. This is a definitive work and can be used as an index to land grants. Digital version at HistoryGeo.com ($). Website includes free surname index. FHL Book 976.125 E7b.
Local Histories
Maps
- Family Maps of Monroe County, Alabama (land patent maps) at HistoryGeo.com ($). Free surname search.
Military
Civil War
Civil War service men from Monroe County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies or regiments that were formed from men of Monroe County.
- - 1st Regiment, Alabama Cavalry, Company E "J. Powell's Dragoons"
- - 1st Regiment, Alabama Cavalry, Company H "Sandy Williams' Guards"
- - 2nd Regiment, Alabama Cavalry, Company H
- - 2nd Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company C
- - 3rd Regiment, Alabama Cavalry, Company B [formerly, Co. "M", Wirt Adams' Cavalry]
- - 4th Regiment, Alabama Cavalry (Russell's), Company A [formerly 3rd TN Cavalry]
- - 5th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company D "Monroe Guards
- - 17th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company H
- - 23rd Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company E
- - 36th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company F and G
- - 42nd Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company A and H
- - 42nd Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company H
- Alabama, Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865
- Alabama, Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865
Newspapers
- Alabama Online Historical Newspapers - identifies historical archived and digitized newspapers available online on both free and pay-to-access websites.
- Obituaries & Death Notices published in The Eagle, 1891-1914 - an African-American newspaper of the county. Provided via Afrigeneas.com
- Community News published in The Eagle, 1891-1914 - an African American newspaper. Also marriage announcements and birth announcements.
Probate Records
Taxation
- 1816 - Inhabitants of Alabama in 1816. Broken Arrow Chapter, Daughters of the American Revolution, 1955. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online - free. Includes Monroe County.
- 1865-1866 - U.S. IRS Tax Assessment Lists, 1862-1918 at Ancestry ($). Monroe County is in District 1.
Vital Records
Birth
- There is a growing list of Monroe County Births that have been submitted by descendants found at ALGenWeb - free.
Marriage
- To 1825 Index to Marriages at Ancestry – ($); Index. contains over 12,000 names. Each entry includes groom, bride, marriage date, county, and state. Every name is indexed so you can search for one name, or two names that are linked.
- To 1825 Index to Marriages at Ancestry – ($); Index. contains over 12,000 names. Each entry includes groom, bride, marriage date, county, and state. Every name is indexed so you can search for one name, or two names that are linked.
- 1825, 1833-1838, 1936–1969 Alabama, Marriage Collection, 1800–1969 at Ancestry – ($); Index. This collection is comprised of indexes created by several agencies - the Alabama Center for Health Statistics, Jordan Dodd of Liahona Research, and Hunting For Bears.
- 1825, 1833-1838, 1936–1969 Alabama, Marriage Collection, 1800–1969 at Ancestry – ($); Index. This collection is comprised of indexes created by several agencies - the Alabama Center for Health Statistics, Jordan Dodd of Liahona Research, and Hunting For Bears.
- 1833-1838 "Alabama Marriages, 1809–1920" at Ancestry – ($); Index. This database is a collection of marriage records from the state. Researchers will find the names of both bride and groom along with the marriage date. The county where the ceremony was performed is also provided. Containing about 150,000 records and the names of nearly 300,000 men and women.
- 1833-1838 "Alabama Marriages, 1809–1920" at Ancestry – ($); Index. This database is a collection of marriage records from the state. Researchers will find the names of both bride and groom along with the marriage date. The county where the ceremony was performed is also provided. Containing about 150,000 records and the names of nearly 300,000 men and women.
Death
- 1881–1974 Index to Deaths and Burials at Ancestry – ($); Index. Volunteers extracted the details in this index from microfilmed copies of church, civil, family, and other records of Alabama deaths and burials. details vary depending on the original record. Note that the number of available records can vary widely by county, and this database does not necessarily represent a comprehensive set of death records for the state during this time.
- 1881–1974 Index to Deaths and Burials at Ancestry – ($); Index. Volunteers extracted the details in this index from microfilmed copies of church, civil, family, and other records of Alabama deaths and burials. details vary depending on the original record. Note that the number of available records can vary widely by county, and this database does not necessarily represent a comprehensive set of death records for the state during this time.
- 1908–1959 Index to Deaths Recorded by the State of Alabama at Ancestry – ($); Index. The index includes name of the deceased, county of death, date of death, and the state certificate number (volume and page).
- 1908–1959 Index to Deaths Recorded by the State of Alabama at Ancestry – ($); Index. The index includes name of the deceased, county of death, date of death, and the state certificate number (volume and page).
- 1908-1974 - Alabama, Deaths, 1908-1974 at FamilySearch Historical Records Collection - free.
Societies and Libraries
Libraries
Monroe County Public Library
121 Pineville Road
Monroeville, Alabama 36460
Telephone: 251-743-3818
Family History Center
- Introduction to LDS Family History Centers
- Monroe Alabama
- 430 Goodway Road
Goodway, Monroe, Alabama, United States
Phone: 251-862-2937
- 430 Goodway Road
Monroe County Alabama Genealogy Websites
- Monroe County, ALGenWeb - free genealogical resources; part of the national USGenWeb Project
- Family History Library Catalog
- USGenWeb project may have maps, name indexes, history, or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- USGenWeb Archives Project ~ contains record transcriptions from Bibles, obituaries, court records and more.
- Monroe County, Alabama Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
Monroe County Alabama Genealogy References
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Monroe County p. 39. ; .
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ 3.0 3.1 3.2 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/c/cf/Igialabamals.pdf.
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 30 April 2013, at 23:36.
- This page has been accessed 2,445 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More

