Monroe County, Arkansas GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Monroe County, Arkansas)

United States Gotoarrow.png Arkansas Gotoarrow.png Monroe County

Guide to Monroe County, Arkansas ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Arkansas State with State Seal.png Arkansas
Online Records

Monroe County, Arkansas
Map of Arkansas highlighting Monroe County
Location in the state of Arkansas
Map of the U.S. highlighting Arkansas
Location of Arkansas in the U.S.
Founded November 2, 1829
County Seat Clarendon
Address Monroe County Courthouse
123 Madison Street
Clarendon, AR 72029-2794
Phone: 870.747.3921


County Courthouse

Monroe County Courthouse
123 Madison Street
Clarendon, AR 72029-2794
Phone: 870.747.3921

County Clerk has marriage records from 1850 and probate records from 1839; Clerk Circuit Court has divorce records from 1839, court records from 1830 and land records from 1829.[1]

Beginning years for Monroe County, Arkansas Genealogy government records[2]
Birth Marriage Death Court Land Probate
1914* 1850 1914* 1830 1829 1839
*State birth and death records began in 1914. Limited compliance until 1920's

Government and Related Websites

County Government and other Local Websites (unofficial site) Clerks have jurisdiction over birth certificates, death certificates, marriage licenses, land use, land rights, real estate, and other court records. Site provides links to unofficial websites with online records (unofficial site) Provides links to County officials and public records


Parent County

  • 1829--Monroe County was created 2 November 1829 from Phillips and Arkansas Counties.

County seat: Clarendon [3]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Arkansas county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Arkansas County Boundary Maps" (1813-1925) may be viewed for free at the website.

Variant Spellings

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Arkansas counties see: Arkansas Counties with Burned Courthouses


Town/city records in the FamilySearch Catalog'

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Arkansas  • Lee  • Phillips  • Prairie  • St. Francis  • Woodruff

Monroe CountyWhite CountyWoodruff CountyCross CountySt. Francis CountyLee CountyPhillips CountyLonoke CountyPulaski CountyJefferson CountyBolivar CountySunflower CountyCoahoma CountyArkansas CountyTunica CountyQuitman CountyPrairie CountyTallahatchie CountyLincoln CountyDesha CountyLeflore CountyCleveland CountyGrenada CountyCrittenden CountyCarroll CountyWebster CountyCalhoun CountyYalobusha CountyTate CountyDeSoto CountyMarshall CountyPanola CountyLafayette CountyMontgomery CountyUnion CountyShelby CountyFayette CountyHardeman CountyPontotoc CountyBenton CountyARMonroe1.JPG

Genealogy Resources

Research Guides

African Americans

Bible Records


Online Monroe County, Arkansas cemeteries
from state and national resources
Search for names of people
in Monroe County
Get a list of cemeteries
(then click to names of people)
Find printed records
(Often more complete)
  • Find A Grave Click "Refine Last Search" on the left, change the name, then "Search"
  • Billion Graves Change the name, then "Search" (Statewide, many counties nil)
  • ARGenWeb Select a county, then "Cemeteries." Some overlap with USGenWeb.

More cemetery lists


Church Records


Cumberland Presbyterian Church, Clarendon

  • 1869-1885 - Cumberland Presbyterian Church, Clarendon Baptism Index 1869-1885. Batch C586751 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
  • 1885-1915 - Cumberland Presbyterian Church, Clarendon Marriage Index 1885-1915. Batch M586751 at FamilySearch - free.[4]

First Presbyterian Church, Clarendon

  • 1870-1885 - First Presbyterian Church, Clarendon Baptism Index 1870-1885. Batch C586761 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
  • 1904-1909 - First Presbyterian Church, Clarendon Marriage Index 1904-1909. Batch M586761 at FamilySearch - free.[4]



  • Probate Records 1839-1949 Monroe County portion of the collection: Arkansas Probate Records, 1817-1979 : Arkansas Probate Records, 1817-1979 FamilySearch Historical Collections (Free, browse images)
    • Includes Administration bonds and letters 1861-1899; Dockets 1873-1888; Executor records 1865-1945; Guardian bonds and letters 1866-1894; Letters of administration and guardianship 1877-1899; Probate records 1839-1890; Wills 1830-1949.


Land and Property

Local Histories

Local histories are available for {{{1}}} County. They may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. Click for a brief Timeline History of the county. For more about local histories, see Arkansas Local Histories.

See also Towns and Townships to find records listed at the town level in the FamilySearch Catalog.

History Timeline

Emphasis for this timeline is on events that affected migration, records, or record-keeping. Unless otherwise mentioned, the events below were gleaned from Arkansas County - The Encyclopedia of Arkansas History & Culture [1]

  • Various Indian groups including the Quapaw, the Plum Bayou Culture, and the Hopewell Culture have lived in the area that became Monroe County for 100s of years.
  • 1799 - Europeans had already arrived in what became Monroe County by 1799 when Antoine Tessier and Joseph de Plasse, thought to be hunters and trappers, were living at the mouth of the Cache River.
  • 1815 October - Federal surveyors Prospect Robbins and Joseph Brown came to Arkansas to begin the survey of the Louisiana Purchase by establishing the initial survey point or base line.
  • 1829 November 2 - Monroe County was establishhed.
  • 1870-1930 - From about 1870 to about 1930, the timber business became important for much of the county as lumber mills were established around the county
  • 1900s - Two natural disasters between 1900 and 1930 devastated large sections of the county. First was a massive tornado on March 8, 1909,. Second was the Flood of 1927.
  • 1920-2010 - The population of Monroe County peaked at 21,600 in 1920 and has dropped to 8,149 today (2010).



Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Monroe County, Arkansas Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Monroe County, Arkansas Genealogy:

- 13th Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate)
- 15th Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Josey's) (Confederate)



Finding More Arkansas Newspapers Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Monroe County, Arkansas Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:


Probate Records

Online Probate Records


Vital Records

See also How to order Arkansas Vital Records 
Vital Record Substitutes

Genealogy Societies and Libraries

Monroe County Library
270 Madison St
Clarendon, AR 72029
(870) 747-5593

Major catalogs for hard copy collections of Monroe County, Arkansas Genealogy
Books, microfilm, or manuscripts of genealogical records
FamilySearch Catalog Select topics. For towns, click here.
WorldCat Click an item for libraries near you. For more information, see WorldCat Online Catalog.
Allen County Public Library Located in Indiana, they are heavily involved in digitizing much of their collection.
Arkansas History Commission Select the county Arkansas state agency involved in organizing, digitizing, and maintaining the records of state and local history.
Local libraries and Arkansas Archives and Libraries may suggest other catalogs

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Centers for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.


Sites with online indexes or images of records
ARGenWeb Free Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
USGenWeb Archives Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
RootsWeb resources Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Sites that search for links pertaining to Monroe County, Arkansas Genealogy
Linkpendium Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
CyndisList Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
StateofUS Free family history resources and government records

Social networking sites pertaining to Monroe County, Arkansas Genealogy Monroe County, AR Genealogy Forum Monroe County Message Board


  1. The Handybook for Genealogists : United States of America, 10th ed., (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002), p. 69.
  2. Alice Eichholz, Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, 3rd ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry Pub., 2004), 65-67. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 2004.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  4. 4.0 4.1 4.2 4.3 4.4 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at
  5. FamilySearch Wiki contributors, "Arkansas County Marriages (FamilySearch Historical Records)," in FamilySearch Wiki, accessed 18 April 2013.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 21 September 2015, at 20:25.
  • This page has been accessed 10,451 times.