Monroe County, IndianaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Indiana Gotoarrow.png Monroe County

Guide to Monroe County, Indiana ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Indiana
Online Records
Monroe County, Indiana
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Indiana
Location of Indiana in the U.S.
Facts
Founded January 14, 1818
County Seat Bloomington
Courthouse
Address Monroe County Courthouse
100 W 5th St; PO Box 547
Bloomington, IN 47402-0547
Phone: 812.349.2600
Website
Adopt-a-wiki page
Indiana Genealogical Society.JPG This page adopted by:
Indiana Genealogical Society
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today


Contents

Historical Facts

Beginning dates for major county records
Birth
Marriage
Death
Land
Probate
1882*
1818*
1886*
1817
1818
*For earlier dates,

try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries


  • Parent Counties: Formed from Orange County 14 January 1818. [1]
  • County Seat: Bloomington [2]


Neighboring Counties

Morgan  • Brown  • Jackson  • Lawrence  • Greene  • Owen

Lawrence CountyWashington CountyJackson CountyBartholomew CountyBrown CountyMorgan CountyJohnson CountyHendricks CountyMartin CountyDaviess CountyGreene CountyOwen CountyPutnam CountyClay CountyMonroe CountyINMonroe.JPG


Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Indiana County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Indiana County Boundary Maps" (1790-1873) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Indiana Counties see: Indiana Counties with Burned Courthouses

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Cemeteries

Cemetery records often reveal birth, marriage, death, relationship, military, and religious information.

Online Grave Transcripts Published Grave Transcripts County Cemetery Directories

Findagrave.com

Family History Library

Findagrave.com

Interment.net

WorldCat

Names in Stone

USGenWeb


Billion Graves

Billion Graves

Epodunk

Names in Stone


Genealogy Trails

See Indiana Cemeteries for more information.

Census Records

For tips on accessing Monroe County, Indiana census records online, see: Indiana Census.

Church Records

Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository.


For more information about these major repositories, see Indiana Church Records.


Finding More Church Records

Additional church records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Monroe County, Indiana Church Records in online catalogs like:


Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Gazetteers

Genealogy

History

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Monroe County, Indiana. County histories may include biographies; church, school and government histories; and military information.


  • History of Monroe County - Linkpendium
  • Monroe County History - USGenWeb
  • Monroe County, Indiana, Family Heritage Book, published by the Monroe County Historical Society in 1987.Contains an every-name index.
  • Monroe County, Indiana, Family Heritage Book, published by the Monroe County History Center in 2007.Contains an every-name index. Material does not overlap with the book by the same name published in 1987.
  • Index to History of Harrodsburg (1964) (free, Indiana Genealogical Society)
  • Index to History of Stinesville (1955) (free, Indiana Genealogical Society)

For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Indiana Local Histories.


Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

After land was transferred from the government to private ownership, subsequent transactions were recorded at the courthouse, where records are currently housed.


See Indiana Land and Property for additional information about early Indiana land grants and patents.


Finding More Land Records

Additional land records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Monroe County, Indiana Probate Records in online catalogs like:


Maps

Military Records

War of 1812

Hopkins, T. M. Reminiscences of Col. John Ketcham of Monroe County, Indiana(Salt Lake City, Utah 1989) pages 23

  1. Gold Star Honor Roll A Record of Indiana Men and Women who Died in World War I - 1914-1918 (Source: Genealogy Trails History Group)
  2. World War I Draft Registration Cards, 1917-1918 Monroe County (Source: Explore Ancestry.com) ($)

Civil War

Civil War service men from Monroe County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Monroe County.

Civil War Books

  • "Military History" in Blanchard, Charles. Counties of Morgan, Monroe, and Brown, Indiana. Historical and Biographical. (Chicago: F.A. Battey Co, 1884.) page 413-451, 977.2 H2b FHL US/CAN Book FHL Collection other library INTERNET ARCHIVE

Civil War Databases

World War I

World War II

  1. Monroe County, Indiana World War II Casualties, Army and Army Air Corps (Source: AccessGenealogy)

Newspapers

Monroe County, Indiana newspapers may contain genealogical value including obituaries, births, marriages, deaths, anniversaries, family gatherings, family travel, achievements, business notices, engagement information, and probate court proceedings.

  • The Genealogy Library at Monroe County History Center at Sixth and Washington in Bloomington has a clipping file containing more than 73,000 clippings from newspapers mostly between 1880 and 1930.These clippings are not available online and overlap only minimally with the clippings archived at Rootsweb listed next.
  • Many thousands of newspaper clippings, some as early as 1824, are also available in the INMONROE Rootsweb list archive. Select Advanced tab. Enter INMONROE in the "List" query box for clipping index.
  • The Monroe County Public Library at Bloomington has an online obituary index. Choose "Obituary Index" within the box on the left labeled INDIANA ROOM at . Most of the obits come from a single newspaper.Consequently, if the obit you seek is not found in the index, try one of the other local newspapers from the same date. The index dates from 1824 through the current month.

The Indiana Division of the Indiana State Library has the state’s largest newspaper collection. Their newspaper microfilms are available through inter-library loan. For a county-by-county inventory of their 16,500 reels of Indiana newspaper microfilms, see their Indiana Collection.

Other places to access newspapers are Newspaper Archive ($)(may be free at your local library), public librariescollege or university libraries, the Library of Congress, or Google News.

For more Indiana newspaper information see the wiki page Indiana Newspapers.
===== Finding More Newspaper Records =====

Additional newspaper records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Monroe County, Indiana Newspaper Abstracts in online catalogs like:

Obituaries

Repositories

See also a List of Indiana Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Archives
County Courthouse

Monroe County Courthouse
100 W 5th St; PO Box 547
Bloomington, IN 47402-0547
Phone: 812.349.2600

County clerk has marriage, divorce and
court records from 1818,
probate records from 1831.
County Health Departmenthas birth,
death and burial records from 1882.
County Recorder has land records. [3]

As of a date earlier than August 2012, many of the offices and the records related to the offices in the courthouse are temporarily housed in the Showers Building while the courthouse is under construction.The Clerk's Office is permanently located in the Justice Building at Seventh and College.

Family History Centers

For additional nearby Family History Centers, search online in the Family History Center directory.

Libraries
Societies

Periodicals

Probate Records

In most counties in Indiana, probate records have been kept by the county clerk of the circuit court. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.


Finding More Probate Records

Additional probate records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Monroe County, Indiana Probate Records in online catalogs like:


Public Records

School Records
Voting Registration

Taxation

Indiana tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties.


For more information see the wiki page Indiana Taxation.

Finding More Tax Records

Additional tax records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Monroe County, Indiana Tax Records in online catalogs like:

Vital Records

Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Indiana law in 1882 required registration of births and deaths in counties. The Indiana Department of Health has birth records filed after October 1907 and death records filed after January 1900 for deaths. Copies may be obtained from the county health department or the Indiana State Division of Vital Records. See also How to order Indiana Vital Records or order electronically online.

Marriage licenses were required by counties beginning in 1800. Original marriage records are held at the office of the Monroe County, Indiana County Clerk with divorce records located with the Monroe County, Indiana Clerk of Courts.


Birth Records

Online Birth Indexes and Records

Original Birth Records on Microfilm

Marriage Records

Online Marriage Indexes and Records

Original Marriage Records on Microfilm


Death Records

Online Death Indexes and Records

Original Death Records on Microfilm

Finding Vital Records at Other Repositories

Additional vital records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Monroe County, Indiana Vital Records in online catalogs like:


Web Sites


Places

Web Sites

References

  1. Ancestry.com wiki contributors, "Monroe County, Indiana" in Ancestry.com: Wiki at http://www.ancestry.com/wiki/index.php?title=Monroe_County,_Indiana (accessed 4 August 2012).
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Monroe County, Indiana 215 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Genealogical Society of Utah, *Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/8/8d/Igiindianah.pdf.



 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 November 2014, at 23:01.
  • This page has been accessed 26,029 times.