Monroe County, IowaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Iowa Gotoarrow.png Monroe County

Guide to Monroe County, Iowa ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Iowa
Online Records


Monroe County, Iowa
Map
Map of Iowa highlighting Monroe County
Location in the state of Iowa
Map of the U.S. highlighting Iowa
Location of Iowa in the U.S.
Facts
Founded February 17, 1843
County Seat Albia
Courthouse

Contents

County Courthouse

Quick Facts

Parent County

1843 Monroe County was created 17 February 1843 from unorganized territory. It was formerly Kishkekosh County, and renamed to Monroe 1 August 1846. It was attached to Wapello and Jefferson Counties prior to organization 1 July 1845.   County seat: Albia [1]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Iowa County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Iowa County Boundary Maps" (1816-1872) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Iowa Counties see: Iowa Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places/Localities

Town/city records in the FamilySearch Catalog

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Appanoose • Davis • Lucas • Mahaska • Marion • Wapello • Wayne

Monroe CountyWapello CountyDavis CountyAppanoose CountyWayne CountyLucas CountyMarion CountyMahaska CountyKeokuk CountyJefferson CountyVan Buren CountyDecatur CountyClarke CountyWarren CountyPolk CountyJasper CountyPoweshiek CountyIowa CountyScotland CountySchuyler CountyPutnam CountyMercer CountyIAMonroe.JPG

Resources

African American

Gradwohl, David M.and Nancy M. Osborn  Exploring Buried Buxton: archaeology of an abandoned Iowa coal mining town with a large Black population ; 1st ed. Ames:Iowa State university Press, 1984. 207 p. F629.B98 G73 1984

Biography

Cemeteries

Church

Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Iowa Church Records.


Court

Genealogy


Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Iowa Land and Property for additional information about early Iowa land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.


History

Local histories are available for Monroe County, Iowa. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Iowa Local Histories.


Biographical and Genealogical History of Appanoose and Monroe Counties, Iowa

Maps

Military

Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Monroe County, Iowa served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Monroe County, Iowa:


- 6th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company E
- 8th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company I
- 17th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company H
- 22nd Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company D
- 46th Regiment, Iowa Infantry (100 days, 1864), Company G
- 17th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company H
:- 1st Regiment, Iowa Cavalry, Company H
:- 22nd Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company D
:- 46th Regiment, Iowa Infantry (100 days, 1864), Company G
:- 6th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company E
:- 8th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company I

Newspapers

Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: List of online newspaper archives

NewspaperArchive.com ($) has a large collection of digitized Iowa newspapers online. This database is sometimes free at libraries.

Probate

In most counties in Iowa, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Iowa - Montoe - Probate records.


Taxation

Iowa tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. Tax lists were usually made every year, however, there may be gaps of several years. For more information, see the wiki page Iowa Taxation.


Vital Records

Societies and Libraries

See also a List of Iowa Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Family History Centers

Websites



Sites with online indexes or images of records pertaining to Monroe County, Iowa
State Historical Society of Iowa Free list and links to data and "hard copy" material - results of "monroe county" placed in search box
The Iowa Heritage Digital Collection Free digital images from a variety of Iowa cultural institutions - results of "monroe county" in the search box
State Library of Iowa Free electronic depository of documents intended for the general public produced by Iowa agencies - results of "monroe county" in the search box
IAGenWeb Free Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
USGenWeb Archives Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
genealogytrails.com Free Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
[1] [2][3] FamilySearch Free Births, 1880-1935; Deaths 1880-1992; Marriages, 1838-1934; all indexes
Sites that search for links pertaining to Monroe County, Iowa
RootsWeb Resources Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Linkpendium Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
CyndisList Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
Iowa-genealogy.com Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
StateofUS.com Free family history resources and government records
Major catalogs for hard copy collections of Monroe County, Iowa
Books, microfilm, or manuscripts of genealogical records
FamilySearch Catalog Select topics. To select towns, add a comma to the search box.
WorldCat To find nearby libraries that have specific items, see WorldCat Online Catalog.
Allen County Public Library located in Indiana They are heavily involved in digitizing.
See also local libraries and Iowa Archives and Libraries
Social networking sites pertaining to Monroe County, Iowa
GeneaBloggers enter "Iowa" in search box to see list and links to Iowa blogs
Google+ list of groups from "iowa genealogy" search
Facebook list of groups from "Iowa Genealogy" search
genealogy.com Monroe County, IA Genealogy Forum
ancestry.com Monroe County Message Board

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 December 2014, at 16:34.
  • This page has been accessed 4,083 times.