Monroe County, MichiganEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Michigan Gotoarrow.png Monroe County

Guide to Monroe County, Michigan ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Michigan
Online Records


Monroe County, Michigan
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Michigan
Location of Michigan in the U.S.
Facts
Founded July 14, 1817
County Seat Monroe
Courthouse
Address Monroe County Courthouse
106 E 1st St.
Monroe, MI 48161
Phone: (888) 354-5500
Monroe County Website

Contents

County Courthouse


County Clerk has birth records from 1874,
marriage records from 1818, death records from 1867,
divorce and court records to 1945.
Probate Court has probate records.
Register of Deeds has land records. [1]

History

Parent County

1817--Monroe County was created 14 July 1817 from Wayne County. County seat: Monroe [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Michigan county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Michigan County Boundary Maps" (1790-1897) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Michigan counties see: Michigan Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Lenawee  • Lucas County, Ohio  • Washtenaw  • Wayne

Monroe CountyOakland CountyErie CountySandusky CountyOttawa CountyLivingston CountyWashtenaw CountyWayne CountyJackson CountyFulton CountyHenry CountyLucas CountyWood CountyLenawee CountyMIMonroe.JPG


Resources

Cemeteries

Listing of Cemeteries by Township, City or Village

LDS Cemetery Records
Vol. 1 page 16 - St. Mary's Cemetery, at Monroe

BillionGraves:

The two Maybee cemeteries listed above lay across the road from each other, but have separate pages on BillionGraves showing locations of the headstones and a searchable database for each one.

Church

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Michigan denominations, view the Michigan Church Records wiki page.

The Monroe County Library System has microfilm of county church records running back to the 18th century. They are housed at the Ellis Library & Reference Center.

Catholic
Name Town Baptism Death Marriage Confirmation
St. Charles Newport 1852-1901 1853-1984 1853-1900
1870-1878
St. John the Baptist Monroe 1873-1901 1918-1984 1873-1901
St. Joseph Erie 1825-1900 1841-1984 1827-1858, 1858-1900 (1856-1885 missing)
St. Joseph Maybee 1890-1902 1890-1984 1890-1984 1894-1911
St. Mary Monroe 1794-1830, 1882-1907 1795-1941, 1942-1984 1794-1908
St. Michael Monroe 1852-1900 1852-1984 1852-1900 1852-1898
St. Patrick Carleton 1859-1909 1859-1984 1859-1878 1874-1890
Protestant
Name Place Microfilm Years
1st United Presbyterian Church Petersburg 1856-1913
Immanuel Lutheran Church Ida 1879-1949
Maybee Congregational Church Maybee 1880-1950
Methodist Episcopal Church of Petersburg Deerfield 1883-1900
Prince of Peace Lutheran Church Ida 1860-1913
St. John Evangelical Lutheran Church Dundee 1860-1949
St. Michael Lutheran Church Ottawa Lake 1872-1937
St. Paul's Lutheran Church Maybee 1859-1928
St. Paul's Lutheran Church Monroe 1897-1940
St. Paul's United Methodist Church Monroe 1841-1900
Trinity Episcopal Church Monroe 1831-1924
Trinity Lutheran Church Monroe 1843-1907
Trinity Lutheran Church Monroe 1843-1911
Zion Lutheran Church Ottawa Lake 1861-1935


Court

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Michigan Land and Property for additional information about early Michigan land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Monroe County, Michigan. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Michigan Local Histories.

Maps

Mimonroe.jpg

Military

Civil War

Civil War service men from Monroe County served in various regiments. Men often joined a regiment or a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are the military units that were formed in or had many men from Monroe County.

- 17th Regiment, Michigan Infantry, Companies C and i


War of 1812 Veterans Buried in Monroe County

144 Fallen Military Heroes of Monroe County, Michigan

Newspapers

Bygones of Monroe: Glimpses of Life in Monroe County History Taken from Area Newspapers.


The Saginaw News[1]

Probate

In most counties in MIchigan, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate packets, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for MIchigan - Monroe - Probate records.

Taxation

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased as shown below:

Birth Records and Death Records from the Michigan Department of Community Health (from 1867) or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.
Marriage Records (from 1867) and Divorce Records (from 1897) from the County Clerk.

  • How to order Michigan Vital Records
  • Michigan Birth Registrations, 1867-1902 -- Free name indexes and images at FamilySearch Record Search. Records include such information as name of child, birthdate and place, if still-born, illegitimate or twin, gender, race and record number.
  • Michigan Marriage Registrations, 1868-1925 -- Free name indexes at FamilySearch Record Search.  Records include such information as names of bride and groom, date of license, ages, race, residences, birthplaces, occupations and names of the fathers of the bride and groom.
  • Michigan Death Registrations, 1867-1897-- Free name indexes and images at FamilySearch Record Search.   Records include such information as name of deceased, date and place of death, gender, color, marital status, age in years, months and days, disease or apparent cause of death, birthplace, names and occupations of parents, and the date the record was made.
  • Laurant Durocher Account Books, an active citizen in the founding of Frenchtown, later known as Monroe, Michigan.
  • Monroe County Obituary Index: This is 'work in progress' done by the Monroe County Historical Commission Archives.

Societies and Libraries

Family History Centers

Web Sites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Monroe County, Michigan page 348, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 2 December 2014, at 23:55.
  • This page has been accessed 7,249 times.