Monterey County, CaliforniaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States go toCaliforniago to Monterey County

Guide to Monterey County California genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg California
Online Records


Monterey County, California
Map
Map of California highlighting Monterey County
Location in the state of California
Map of the U.S. highlighting California
Location of California in the U.S.
Facts
Founded February 18, 1850
County Seat Salinas
Courthouse
Address Monterey County Courthouse]
240 Church Street
PO Box 29
Salinas, CA 93092
Phone 831.755.5041
Monterey County Website

Contents

County Courthouse

County Recorder has birth and death records  and marriage records
from 1893. Clerk Superior Court has probate and land rececords
County Court has divorce and court records.[1]

Historical Facts

Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: Monterey County, California

Parent County

18 February 1850: Monterey County was created as an original county. County seat: Salinas [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating California county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation California County Boundary Maps" (1850-1925) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Records Loss

For a list of record loss in California counties see: California Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Aromas
Big Sur
Boronda
Bradley
Carmel
Carmel Highlands
Carmel Valley Village
Castroville
Chualar
Del Rey Oaks
Fort Hunter Liggett
Fort Ord
Gilroy
Gonzales
Greenfield
Jolon
Lockwood
Lucia
King City
Gorda
Marina
Monterey
Pacific Grove
Pajaro
Parkfield
Pebble Beach
Prunedale
Salinas
San Ardo
San Benancio
San Lucas
Sand City
Seaside
Soledad
Spreckels

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Bible Records

Biography

Cemeteries

CASTROVILLE
Castroville Public Cemetery District
8442 Moss Landing Road, Moss Landing, CA 95039
List of Burials - Contributed by Jodi Brewster (belukha6@yahoo.com) 5 Aug 2003 Updated 10 Jun 2003
http://files.usgwarchives.net/ca/monterey/cemeteries/castroville-dates.txt

EL CARMETO  (note: this is mispelled on BillionGraves site, this is El Carmelo Cemetery)
Pacific Grove
BillionGraves

FORT ORD
Whitcher Family Cemetery
Monterey County Herald, CA June 6, 1999
Final resting place far from today’s uproars by Mary Barker

GONZALES
Gonzales Cemetery District
Highway 1 & S. Alto St., Gonzales, CA 93926

KING CITY
King City District Cemetery
1010 Broadway Street, King City, CA 93930

The entire cemetery database and map is kept current on Names in Stone website.

Place to document burials
http://cagenweb.com/montereybbs/viewforum.php?f=34

MONTEREY

Cementerio El Encinal and Monterey City Cemetery
Fremont at Camino Aguajito, Del Rey Oaks, CA 93940
http://www.monterey.org/cemetery/
list of burials http://freepages.history.rootsweb.ancestry.com/~westroot/cemetery/encinal.html

Mission Memorial Park
1915 Ord Grove Avenue, Sand City, CA 93955

Presidio of Monterey Cemetery, Presidio of Monterey
The Presidio of Monterey is located in the City of Monterey. It is an “Active Post” and it is closed to the public. The cemetery is located within the Presidio and is classified as “Inactive”, that is, all of the gravesites have been used or reserved prior to 1 May 1975 per Army Regulation 210-190. ACCESS TO THE PRESIDIO OF MONTEREY IS LIMITED TO ACTIVE MILITARY, RETIRED MILITARY, EMPLOYEES, AND SPONSORED GUESTS.
Information page http://freepages.history.rootsweb.ancestry.com/~westroot/cemetery/rpc.html
References:
1. Presidio of Monterey, Monterey, Monterey County, CA by David Johnson, 4 Aug, 2005 (Part of California Tombstone Project)
http://www.rootsweb.com/~cemetery/california/californ.html
2. Monterey County Herald, CA May 30, 2010
Event re-dedicates Presidio of Monterey Cemetery

Royal Presidio Chapel de San Carlos de Borromeo, Monterey, California
Information page
http://freepages.history.rootsweb.ancestry.com/~westroot/cemetery/rpc.html

San Carlos Catholic Cemetery
792 Fremont Street, Del Rey Oaks, CA 93940
Place to document burials
http://cagenweb.com/montereybbs/viewforum.php?f=32

PACIFIC GROVE
El Carmelo Cemetery and the Little Chapel by-the-Sea
Asilomar Blvd, Pacific Grove, CA 93950
List of Burials - Contributed by: Kristina Magill <kam1242@attbi.com> 24 Sep 2002
http://files.usgwarchives.net/ca/monterey/cemeteries/elcarmelo-ac.txt
Old list of burials, Updated 24 Sep. 2004
http://freepages.history.rootsweb.ancestry.com/~westroot/cemetery/elcaf.html
Full obits of burials – compiled by Mary S. Taylor, ongoing
http://cagenweb.com/montereybbs/viewforum.php?f=9
List of burials compiled from diverse sources – compiled by Mary S. Taylor
http://cagenweb.com/montereybbs/viewforum.php?f=33

References:
1 Carmel Pine Cone, CA Dec. 16, 2010
P.G. Cemetery costs skyrocket
2. Cedar Street Times, Pacific Grove, CA Aug. 28, 2010
Darlene Billstrom is back in charge
3. Cedar Street Times, Pacific Grove, CA Aug. 28, 2010
El Carmelo Cemetery: Keeping it neat for the ages
4. Pacific Grove Hometown Bulletin, CA Jan. 18, 2006 p12
Board and Batten, Pacific Grove Heritage Society
El Carmelo Cemetery
(From the Dec 89/Jan 1990 Newsletter of the Pacific Grove Heritage Society.)
5. Carmel Pine Cone, CA March 9, 2005
Last Hometown adds 800 eternal bunk beds
By KIRSTIE WILDE
6. Monterey Peninsula Herald, CA Jan. 5, 1963
New Partner in P.G. Mortuary
7. Monterey Peninsula Herald, CA May 29, 1947 p2
El Carmelo Cemetery Entrance Changed
8. Pacific Grove Tribune, CA June 1, 1945
El Carmelo Cemetery Transferred
Mutual Agreement Made By Cemetery Board And City

 
PRUNEDALE
Queen of Heaven Cemetery & Mausoleum
18200 Damian Way, Prunedale, CA 93907

SALINAS
Garden of Memories Memorial Park (I.O.O.F.)
768 Abbot St., Salinas, CA 93901
List of Burials - Submitted by Val Hoover 26 Jul 2005
http://files.usgwarchives.net/ca/monterey/cemeteries/garden-of-memories.txt
Place to document burials
http://cagenweb.com/montereybbs/viewforum.php?f=31

Yamat Cemetery

1165 Abbott Street, Salinas, CA 93905

Healey Mortuary and Crematory
405 N. Sanborn Road, Salinas, CA 93905

Old Calvary Catholic Cemetery
Salinas, Monterey County, CA
Index of Burials - Submitted by Val Hoover 26 Jul 2005
http://files.usgwarchives.net/ca/monterey/cemeteries/old-cavalry-catholic.txt

SAN LUCAS
San Lucas Cemetery
Monterey County, CA
List of Burials - Submitted by Betsy Wood 15 Jan 2007
http://files.usgwarchives.net/ca/monterey/cemeteries/san-lucas.txt

SOLEDAD
Soledad Cemetery District
1711 Metz Road, Soledad, CA 93960

MONTEREY COUNTY
Sands Cemetery, Monterey County, CA
All Markers in the Sands Cemetery were wooden and burned one summer when a fire swept through the area. There are some more recent stones in the Sands Cemetery but for the “old wooden markers” we only have word of mouth as to who is buried there & their approximate dates.
List of Burials - Submitted by Betsy Wood 13 Jan 2007
http://files.usgwarchives.net/ca/monterey/cemeteries/sands.txt

Pleyto (Pleito) Cemetery, Carmel Valley, Monterey County, CA
Pleyto or Pleito Cemetery was moved when the San Antonio Dam was built in 1967 and today it is called Cemetery Cove. (Part of CA Tombstone Project)
List of burials Submitted by Betsy Wood 13 Jan 2007
http://ftp.rootsweb.com/pub/usgenweb/ca/monterey/cemeteries/pleyto.txt
http://cagenweb.com/monterey/cempleyto.html

Monterey County Potters Field Cemetery

Located on the corner of Natividad Rd. and East Laurel Dr.
This is a CLOSED (Fenced/Gated - No Trespassing Signs) county cemetery, where any access would be considered trespassing. I have checked with the county to see about obtaining access to record the burials, and I was promptly denied. Their stand is that the grave markers contain nothing more than a burial number. Anyone interested in obtaining information on these burials are directed to the Monterey County Recorder's Office to obtain a death certificate. Most of the early Monterey County death certificates were microfilmed and are available from the Church of Latter-Day Saints Family History Library.
This cemetery really is used only for the poor/indigent that cannot afford a burial. It also includes a huge number of John Doe and Jane Doe burials.
Ideally, this cemetery should not have the option of making a "Photo Request"
Information from FindaGrave

Monterey County Historical Society holds Soldiers Buiral Records, Ex-Union Soldiers, Sailors and Marines, 1897-1929

Census

For tips on accessing Monterey County, California census records online, see: California Census.

1852 California State census, schedule I inhabitants of Monterey County, California : Escobar 1852 Monterey County database, by Lorraine "Rain Cloud" Escobar

[[|]]

Church History and Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about California denominations, view the California Church Records wiki page.

LDS Ward and Branch Records

  • Monterey
  • Pacific Grove
  • Salinas

Court Records

Superior Court of California – County of Monterey
Case Lookup – Index
https://www.justicepartners.monterey.courts.ca.gov/Public/JPPublicIndex.aspx
Probate Notes
http://www.monterey.courts.ca.gov/Probate/ProbateNote.aspx
Probate/Guardianship. Conservatorship Case Fillings
http://www.monterey.courts.ca.gov/Probate/

http://www.monterey.courts.ca.gov/Documents/Administration/Access-to-Administrative-and-Court-Records.pdf
Requesting Court Case File and Adjudicative Records (divorce, criminal, complaints, judgments, traffic tickets, case information) Mostly available at the clerk’s office at the court location where record was originally filed. Requests to inspect and copy case file and other adjudicative records prepared for or filed or used in a court proceeding may be made at the courthouse where they are filed. There is a copying fee of $0.50 per page, which must be paid in advance. Please direct requests for access to administrative records maintained by the Monterey County Superior Court to:
PUBLIC INFORMATION OFFICE Superior Court of California
County of Monterey 240 Church Street
Salinas, CA 93901
Phone: (831) 775-5400 x3020
Fax: (831) 775-5499
Mediainfo@monterey.courts.ca.gov

Court records held by Monterey County Historical Society:

Probate Superior Court (bonds, wills 1850-1947
Court of Session Criminal Records
1850-1864
District Court Judgments 1850-1879
Superior & Civil Court Documents 1859-1970
County Court Judgments 1850-1879
Superior Court Judgments 1880-1934
Criminal Dockets & Small Claims 1913-1960
Superior Court Minutes 1880-1911
Criminal Dockets (Sheriff) 1889-1966
Jail Registers 1990-1966
Superior & Civil Court Records 1859-1970

Crime and Criminals

Directories

Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups

Germans

Gazetteers

Genealogy

History

Local histories are available for Monterey County, California. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the Wiki page section California Local Histories.[1]

Monterey County Historical Advisory Commission. 1997. Union catalog of historic documents, Monterey County, California. [Salinas? Calif.: Monterey County Historical Advisory Committee. ]

Guinn, J. M. 1903. History of the state of California and biographical record of Santa Cruz, San Benito, Monterey and San Luis Obispo counties. An historical story of the state's marvelous growth from its earliest settlement to the present time. Chicago: Chapman Pub. Co.   Family History Library United States & Canada Film 468738 Item 1

Barrows, Henry D. 1893. A memorial and biographical history of the coast counties of Central California. Illustrated. Containing a history of this important section of the Pacific coast from the earliest period ... and biographical mention of many of its pioneers, and prominent citizens of today. Chicago: Lewis Pub. Co.

Horne, Kibbey M. 2000. A history of the Presidio of Monterey, 1770 to 1970. Monterey, Calif: Defense Language Institute, West Coast Branch.

The Hand book to Monterey and vicinity containing a brief resumé of the history of Monterey since its discovery; a general review of the resources and products of Monterey and the country; descriptive sketches of the town, and the points of interest in the neighborhood. A complete guide book, for tourists, campers and visitors. 1875. Monterey [Calif.: Walton & Curtis. ]

A tribute to yesterday : the history of Carmel, Carmel Valley, Big Sur, Point Lobos, Carmelite Monastery and Los Burros

History of Monterey County, California with illustrations descriptive of its scenery, farms, residences, public buildings, factories, hotels, business houses, schools, churches and mines from original drawings by artists of the highest ability : with biographical sketches of prominent citizens. 1967. San Francisco: Elliott & Moore.

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See California Land and Property for additional information about early California land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.Taylor, Alexander Smith. 1900. Index to the Mexican Archives of the County of Monterey from volume sixth to volume sixteenth inclusive

Land records held by the Monterey County Historical Society:

Assessment Rolls 1850-1947
Lot Books (real estate records dating from the time the Land Grants were subdivided)
Grantor Records - deeds & grants 1889-1897


Maps

Camonterey.png

Migration

Military History and Records

Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Monterey County, California served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Monterey County, California:

- 1st Battalion, California Native Cavalry (Union), Company A
- 1st Battalion, California Native Cavalry (Union), Company B

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Monterey County, California newspapers in online catalogs like:

(note: some of these dates may be off due to incomplete holdings lists and variations in titles of the newspapers)

BIG SUR
Big Sur Gazette (1978-1981)

CARMEL and CARMEL VALLEY
Carmel Californian (1936-1937)
Carmel Cottager (1934)
Carmel Cymbal (1926-1941)
Carmel Cymbal and Masten’s Gazette (1941-1942)
Carmel, Pebble Beach, Carmel Valley Spectator (1949)
Carmel Pine Cone (1915-present)
Carmel Pine Cone and Carmel Valley Outlook (1981-1993)
Carmel Pine Cone Cymbal (1942-1962)
Carmel Spectator (1949-1955)
Carmel Sun (1992-1994)
Carmel Valley News (1951-1955)
Carmel Valley Sun (1983-1990)
Carmel Valley Outlook (1979-1981)
Carmel Valley Weekly Sun (1990-1993)
Carmel Village Daily (1933)
Masten’s Gazette (1941)
Paisano (1948)
Peninsula Spectator (1959)
Spectator (1949-1950)

CASTROVILLE and MOSS LANDING
Castroville News (1936-1942)
Castroville Times (1950-1952)
Castroville Times Journal (1950)
Castroville Times and Moss Landing Harbor News (1952-1975)
North County News (1975-1982)

FORT ORD
Fort Ord Panorama (1980-1982)

GONZALES
Gonzales Tribune (1956-1991)

GREENFIELD
Greenfield News (1952-1991)

KING CITY
King City Rustler (1901-1997)
Rustler and King City Herald (1961-1964)
Semi Weekly Rustler (1936-1937)

MARINA
Marina Tribune (1981-1982)
Marina Weekly Tribune (1979)

MONTEREY
Army News (1904)
At Ease (1990)
Monterey American (1913-1916)
Monterey Argus (1887-1888)
Monterey Bay Labor News 1955-1985
Monterey Bay News (1947-1950)
Monterey Bay and Pacific Grove/Pebble Beach Tribune (1985)
Monterey Bay Tribune (1985-1987)
Monterey County Herald (1992-present)
Monterey County Journal (1864)
Monterey County Post (1929-1933)
Monterey Daily Cypress 1889-1922)
Monterey Democrat (1868-1889)
Monterey Enterprise (?)
Monterey Evening Herald (1909-1910)
Monterey Gazette (1863-1868)
Monterey Herald (1986-1992)
Monterey Labor News (1937)
Monterey New Era (1890-1909)
Monterey News Daily and Monterey Trader (1940)
Monterey Peninsula Herald (1929-1992)
Monterey Sentinel (1855-1856)
Monterey Trader (1933-1951)
Monterey Union (1862)
Montereyan (1951-1955)
Peninsula Advocate (1910-1911)
Peninsula Daily Herald (1927-1929)
Peninsula Daily Herald and Monterey Daily Cypress and Monterey American (1923-1927)
Peninsula Merchants’ Semi-Monthly Bulletin (1915-1916)

PACIFIC GROVE
Pacific Grove Beacon (1994-1995)
Pacific Grove Daily Review (1892-1926)
Pacific Grove Monarch (1987-1992)
Pacific Grove News (1916)
Pacific Grove/Pebble Beach Tribune (1976-1984)
Pacific Grove Progress (1916)
Pacific Grove Review (1888-1912)
Pacific Grove Tide (1936-1943)
Pacific Grove Tribune (1943-1951, 1984-1985)
Pacific Grove Weekly Tribune (1978-1979)
Peninsula Pelican (1925)
Peninsular Review and Pacific Grove Daily Review (1926-1932)

SALINAS
Monterey County Labor News (1942-1954)
Monterey County Post (1929-1933)
North Monterey County Fortnighter (1983-1989)
Owl (1894)
Salinas Californian (1942-present)
Salinas Daily Index (1894-1928)
Salinas Daily Journal (1889-1897)
Salinas Daily Post and Monterey County Post (1933-1942)
Salinas Democrat (1889-1896)
Salinas Index (1895-1904)
Salinas Index Journal (1928-1942)
Salinas Index Weekly (1873-1925)
Salinas Labor News (1937-1942)
Salinas Morning Post (1936-1942)
Salinas Standard (1869-1872)
Salinas Valley Rustler (1906-1923)
Salinas Valley Settler (1889)
Salinas Village Crier (1942)
Salinas Weekly Index (1883-1895)
Salinas Weekly Journal (1867-1915

SEASIDE
Free Weekly Sentinel (1987)
Right-On Post (1970)
Seaside News Sentinel (1950-1970)
Seaside Post (1969-1970)
Seaside Post News Sentinel (1970-1988)
Seaside Post Sentinel (1970)
Seaside Sentinel (1988-1996)
Seaside Weekly Sentinel (1987-1988)

SPRECKELS
Spreckles Courier (1909-1914)

WATSONVILLE
Watsonville Rustler (1888-1897)

References:
1. “Californian.” In the California Weekly, vol. 1, August 27, 1909, p629.
2. “Californian.” In the Grizzly Bear, vol. 2, Feb. 1908 p23
3. Denny, Melcena Burns. “California’s First newspaper Printed without a Letter ‘W’ on Flimsy Cigarette Paper.” In Montana, the Magazine of Western History, vol. 15, no. 4, October 1965 p29-41.
4. Dethlefs, Helen. “First California Newspaper Founded 100 Years Ago, August 15, 1846.” In California Publisher, August 1946, p11.
5. “First newspaper in California.” In The Pony Express, September 1946 p2.
6. Harding, Geroge L. “The Origin of California’s First printing Press.” In Book Club of California, Quarterly news-letter 2:5-8, June 1934.
7. “The Salinas Californian; Newspaper’s Growth Tied to a Dream.” In California Publisher, Vol. 1, Nos 2 & 3, Nov-Dec 1971, p34-35.
8. “Newspaper Holdings of the California State Library” compiled by Marianne Leach

On-line
• Carmel Pine Cone, Carmel http://www.pineconearchive.com/
• Monterey County Herald, Monterey http://www.montereyherald.com/news
• Monterey County Weekly, Monterey http://www.montereycountyweekly.com/
• Monterey County News Topix http://www.topix.com/county/monterey-ca
• Cedar Street Times, Pacific Grove http://www.cedarstreettimes.com/
• Pacific Grove Hometown Bulletin http://www.pgbulletin.com/archives.php
• King City Rustler http://www.kingcityrustler.com/v2_main_page.php
• Salinas Californian http://www.thecalifornian.com/apps/pbcs.dll/frontpage
• South County News – Gonzales, Greenfield, King City, Soledad http://southcounty.kionrightnow.com/

Obituaries

Periodicals

Probate Records

The county clerk is usually the custodian of probate records. The records include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

You can obtain copies of the original probate records (such as wills and estate files) by writing to the county clerk at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for California - Monterey - Probate records.

Repositories

Archives, Libraries and Museums

County Courthouse

Monterey Courthouse, 1200 Aguajito Rd, Monterey, CA 93940; (831) 647-5800
History - Monterey County Courthouse Completed 1878
http://www.monterey.courts.ca.gov/General_Information/History.aspx
The military and social capital of Alta California during Spanish and Mexican rule, the town of Monterey naturally became the county seat when the 27 original counties were formed in, 1850. But when it was learned that the railroad was to go through the valley and not along the coast, the government center was moved to Salinas. After the house used as a courthouse burned, this much larger brick Victorian building was commissioned. The courthouse remained in use while the current one was being constructed around it, and then was demolished. Today a courtyard, lily pond, and commemorative sculpture occupy the site.

Marina Courthouse, 3180 Del Monte Blvd, Marina, CA 93933; (831) 883-5300

King City Courthouse, 250 Franciscan Way, King City, CA 93930; (831) 386-5200

Salinas Courthouse, 240 Church St, Salinas, CA 93901; (831) 775-5400

 

Family History Centers

Monterey County Genealogy Society

Monterey County Historical Society  The MCHS is a major archive for Monterey County records.

Taxation

California tax records complement land records and can supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page California Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. See the CDC Where to Write website for information on acquiring copies of these records. The State office has records since July 1905. For earlier records, contact the County Recorder. See also How to order California Vital Records

Birth

Marriage

Divorce

Death

Voters Registers

The following is a list of original voter registration records recently transferred from Monterey County Elections Department to the Monterey County Historical Society archival facility in Salinas. To access records, see: http://www.mchsmuseum.com/

Great Register of Voters:
Ledger Books:
1866-1870 1 book
1870 1 book
1881-1883,1886,1888,1890 1 book
1892 (Vol. 1, Vol. 2) 2 books
1896 (Vol. 1, Vol. 2) 2 books
1898 (Vol. 3) 2 books
1900 (Vol. 1,Vol. 2) 2 books
1902 (Vol. 1, Vol. 2) 2 books
1904 (Vol. 1, Vol.2) 2 books
1906-1907 (Vol. 1, Vol. 2) 2 books
1908-1909 (A-L, M-Z) 2 books
1910-1911 (A-L, M-Z) 2 books
1912-1913 (A-L, M-Z) 4 books
1914-1915 (A-L, M-Z) 2 books

Scattered records:
Voter affidavits*:
1922-23 (Affidavits, Pleyto precinct)
1930-31 (Affidavits, Blanco precinct)

Indexes (no voter affidavits):
1938, August primary (Greenfield precincts No.1 and No. 2)

Description of collection:
The ledger books1  titled Great Register of Voters are the original handwritten manuscripts kept by the County Clerk’s (Registrar of Voters) office of the County of Monterey beginning in 1866.2 The entries are made in alphabetical sections (with alpha sub-sections) and show chronological appearance of voters as they were sworn and registered to vote. The entries include place of nativity (birthplace); age of voter; place of residence (post office or precinct); date and place of naturalization, if applicable; whether citizen by virtue of Treaty of Hildago or citizen by virtue of father’s naturalization (and in later years a woman’s citizenship status by marriage); occupation; date of appearance to be sworn; and date of registration. Later registration data includes a physical description of the voter and party affiliation. The Registrar of Voters also appended notes to the entries to indicate reasons for cancellation whether due to removal to another county or state, transfer to another county due to change of boundary lines (i.e. to San Benito County in 1874), death, incarceration or “Section 1106” (failure to vote). These notations usually contained dates if known. Copies of the list of voters not thus cancelled, were made every two years and sometimes more frequently if a special election occurred (polling lists). These copies of uncancelled voters were sent to the state and other repositories on a routine basis. Microfilm of these typeset lists is available at the California State Library in Sacramento, California, and other repositories.3

These original handwritten Great Register ledger books have not been microfilmed or transcribed. There was a partial transcription done of the 1890 Great Register as part of a census substitute project4 but the transcription does not include cancellation information.

Note: The Great Register books contain information for years other than marked on the book spines. For example, the 1866-1870 Great Register contains several entries made after 1870 when cancellations were noted and the 1890 Great Register shows voter registration dates which occurred years earlier.

  • Voter affidavits are registration forms signed by the voters and contain birth date, birth place, residence address, occupation, party affiliation and sometimes cancellation information.
  • List of records
1 Some years are missing.
2 Beginning in the year 1866, California state law required a list of voters to be kept.
3 Monterey County (California) County Clerk. Great Register of Voters 1867, 1869, 1872,
  1875-1876, 1879-1880, 1884, 1886, 1888, 1890, 1892, 1894, 1896, 1898. 
 (Salt Lake City: Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1975).
4 Bettyann Lockwood Hedegard, ed., 1890 great register of Monterey County, California.
 (Salinas, CA: Monterey County Genealogy Society, c1993).

Courtesy of Junel Davidsen 

Genealogy Societies, Archives and Libraries

Web Sites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Monterey County, California. Page 86 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 19 July 2014, at 00:28.
  • This page has been accessed 12,133 times.