Montgomery County, ArkansasEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Arkansas Gotoarrow.png Montgomery County

Guide to Montgomery County Arkansas genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Arkansas State with State Seal.png Arkansas
Online Records


Montgomery County, Arkansas
Map
Map of Arkansas highlighting Montgomery County
Location in the state of Arkansas
Map of the U.S. highlighting Arkansas
Location of Arkansas in the U.S.
Facts
Founded December 9, 1842
County Seat Mount Ida
Courthouse
Address Montgomery County Courthouse
1 George Street
Mount Ida, AR 71957
Phone: 870.887.3521

Contents

County Courthouse

Montgomery County Courthouse
1 George Street
Mount Ida, AR 71957
Phone: 870.887.3521

County Clerk has marriage, probate, land and court records from 1845; County Agent has burial records.[1]

Beginning years for Montgomery County, Arkansas government records[2]
Birth Marriage Death Court Land Probate
1914* 1845 1914* 1845 1845 1845
*State birth and death records began in 1914. Limited compliance until 1920's

History

Parent County

  • 1842--Montgomery County was created 9 December 1842 from Hot Spring County. County seat: Mount Ida [3]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Arkansas county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Arkansas County Boundary Maps" (1813-1925) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.


Variant Spellings

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Arkansas counties see: Arkansas Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places/Localities

Town/city records in the FamilySearch Catalog'

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Clark  • Garland  • Hot Spring  • Howard  • Pike  • Polk  • Scott  • Yell •

Montgomery CountyPerry CountyYell CountyGarland CountyScott CountySebastian CountyLogan CountyPolk CountySevier CountyClark CountyPike CountyHoward CountyHot Spring CountyDallas CountyConway CountyPope CountySaline CountyFranklin CountyPulaski CountyHempstead CountyNevada CountyARMontgomery.JPG


Genealogy Resources

Research Guides

African Americans

Bible Records

Cemeteries

Online Montgomery County, Arkansas cemeteries from state and national resources
Search for names of people
(County-wide)
Get a list of cemeteries
(Most click to names of people)
Find published records
(Often more complete)
  • Find A Grave Click "Refine Last Search" on the left, change the name, then "Search"
  • Billion Graves Change the name, then "Search" (Statewide, many counties nil)
  • ARGenWeb Select a county, then "Cemeteries." Some overlap with USGenWeb.

More cemetery lists

Census

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Arkansas denominations, view the Arkansas Church Records wiki page.

Court

Genealogy

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Arkansas Land and Property for additional information about early Arkansas land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Montgomery County, Arkansas. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see Arkansas Local Histories.

History Timeline

Emphasis for this timeline is on events that affected migration, records, or record-keeping. Unless otherwise mentioned, the events below were gleaned from Arkansas County - The Encyclopedia of Arkansas History & Culture [1]

  • The Caddo Indians lived in the area that would become Montgomery County 100s of years before the white man appeared on the scene.
  • 1803 - Montgomery County was included in land claimed by Spain and then France before becoming American property as part of the Louisiana Purchase.
  • 1812 - Kentuckians Martin and Mary Belle Collier were the first recorded white settlers.
  • 1842 December 9 - Montgomery County was organized out of Hot Spring County.
  • 1905 - With the Missouri Pacific Railroad’s arrival, Caddo Gap and Black Springs thrived.
  • 1937 - Mauldin was dismantled and carried off by rail. The lumber company, picking up its tracks as it left, had depleted the virgin timber; this, together with the Depression, had a devastating economic impact on the county.
  • 1910-2010 - Montgomery County population hit its high mark in 1910 (12,400) its low in 1960 (5,400) and now (2010) stands at 9,487.

Maps

Military

Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Montgomery County, Arkansas served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Montgomery County, Arkansas:

- 4th Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate)
- 33rd Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate), Company I

Naturalization

Newspapers

Finding More Arkansas Newspapers Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Montgomery County, Arkansas newspapers in online catalogs like:

Occupations

Probate Records

How_to_Use_Probate_RecordsProbate Legal Scales.JPG

Probate records of Arkansas have been kept by the probate or county courts. You can obtain copies of the original records by contacting the clerk's office in the county courthouse.

The Family History Library has microfilm copies of many Arkansas probate records. See Arkansas Probate Records for more information about Probate records in Arkansas, including statewide indexes.

  • Probate Records 1845-1954 Part of: Arkansas Probate Records, 1817-1979 FamilySearch Historical Collections (Free, browse images)
    • Includes Guardian bonds 1858-1909; Letters of administration 1859-1912; Probate records 1845-1903; Wills 1863-1954.

Taxation

Arkansas tax records replace missing censuses and provide lists of residents during years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years for some counties. For more information see Arkansas Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Arkansas Vital Records State Department of Health, the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online. See also How to order Arkansas Vital Records

See also How to order Arkansas Vital Records

Birth
Marriage


Death
Vital Record Substitutes

Genealogy Societies and Libraries

Family History Centers

Websites



Sites with online indexes or images of records
ARGenWeb Free Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
USGenWeb Archives Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Sites that search for links pertaining to Montgomery County, Arkansas
RootsWeb resources Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Linkpendium Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
CyndisList Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
StateofUS Free family history resources and government records
Major catalogs for hard copy collections of Montgomery County, Arkansas
Books, microfilm, or manuscripts of genealogical records
FamilySearch catalog Select topics. To select towns, add a comma to the search box.
WorldCat To find nearby libraries that have specific items, see WorldCat Online Catalog.
Allen County Public Library located in Indiana They are heavily involved in digitizing.
Arkansas History Commission AR state agency involved in organizing and maintaining state and local history of AR
See also local libraries and Arkansas Archives and Libraries
Social networking sites pertaining to Montgomery County, Arkansas
GeneaBloggers enter "arkansas" in the search box to see a list and links to Arkansas Blogs
Google+ list of groups from "arkansas genealogy" search
Facebook list of groups from "Arkansas Genealogy" search
genealogy.com Montgomery County, AR Genealogy Forum
ancestry.com Montgomery County Message Board

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists : United States of America, 10th ed., (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002), p. 69.
  2. Alice Eichholz, Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, 3rd ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry Pub., 2004), 65-67. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 2004.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  4. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/0/0d/Igiarkansasem.pdf.
  5. FamilySearch Wiki contributors, "Arkansas County Marriages (FamilySearch Historical Records)," in FamilySearch Wiki, accessed 18 April 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 2 October 2014, at 16:24.
  • This page has been accessed 7,389 times.