Montgomery County, GeorgiaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States go to Georgia go to Montgomery County

Guide to Montgomery County, Georgia ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Georgia
Online Records
Montgomery County, Georgia
Map
Map of Georgia highlighting Montgomery County
Location in the state of Georgia
Facts
Founded 19 December, 1793
County Seat Mont Vernon
Courthouse
Address Montgomery County Courthouse
Railroad Avenue; PO Box 295
Mont Vernon, GA 30445;
Phone: 912.583.2363
Montgomery County Website

Contents

County Courthouse

Montgomery County Courthouse
Railroad Avenue; PO Box 295
Mont Vernon, GA 30445;
Phone: 912.583.2363

Probate Court has birth and death records from 1918, marriage records from 1807 and probate records from 1793; Clerk Superior Court has divorce and court records from 1800 and land records from 1793; most original records prior to 1890 are in State Archives.[1]

Beginning Dates for Montgomery County, Georgia Government Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1918
1807
1918

1793
1793

History

Parent County

1793--Montgomery County was created 19 December 1793 from Washington County. County seat: Mount Vernon [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Georgia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Georgia County Boundary Maps" (1758-1932) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Variant Spellings

Record Loss

No reported loss or damage.[3]

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Emanuel County  • Jeff Davis County  • Toombs County  • Treutlen County  • Wheeler County

Montgomery CountyWheeler CountyLaurens CountyDodge CountyTelfair CountyBen Hill  CountyCoffee  CountyJeff Davis CountyBacon CountyAppling CountyWayne CountyTattnall CountyToombs CountyJenkins CountyCandler CountyEmanuel CountyTreutlen CountyJohnson CountyGAMontgomery.JPG


Genealogy Resources

Research Guides

African Americans

Bible Records

Cemeteries

Census

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Georgia denominations, see the Georgia Church Records wiki page.

Court

Genealogy

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Georgia Land and Property for additional information about early Georgia land grants from the government. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions (generally buying and selling deeds) were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Montgomery County, Georgia. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Georgia Local Histories.

Maps

Gamontgomery.jpg

Military

Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Montgomery County, Georgia served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Montgomery County, Georgia:



- 57th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate)
- 61st Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company E
- Georgia USGenWeb Archives Project (other war's information is also given)

Naturalization

Newspapers

Newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Montgomery County, Georgia newspapers in online catalogs like:

Occupations

Probate Records

Colonial courts kept some early probate records.  From 1777 to 1798 and since 1852, the court of ordinary or register of probates has kept probate and guardianship records.  The inferior court handled probate and guardianship matters from 1798 to 1852.

Many probate records to the 1930s and 1940s are at the Georgia Department of Archives and History and the Family History Library on microfilm.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (not all years).

  • Digital Images of Montgomery County Wills 1786-1809; 1809-1817. See names of testators. Georgia Pioneers

Taxation

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Georgia State Department of Health , the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online..

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Georgia. See also How to order Georgia Vital Records

Birth
Marriage
  • 1796-1798 - Montgomery County Marriage Index 1796-1798. Batch M713401 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
  • 1810-1877 - Montgomery County Marriage Index 1810-1877. Batch M713402 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
  • 1870-1893 - Montgomery County Marriage Books B and C Index 1870-1893. Batch M713403 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
  • 1893-1895 - Montgomery County Marriage Book 1 Index 1893-1895. Batch M713404 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
  • 1893-1895 - Montgomery County Marriage Book 1 Index 1893-1895. Batch M713405 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
Death
Vital Record Substitutes

Genealogy Societies and Libraries

Family History Centers

Websites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Montgomery County, Georgia. Page 158 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. Paul K. Graham, Georgia Courthouse Disasters (Decatur, Georgia: Genealogy Co., 2013), 45. At various libraries (WorldCat).
  4. 4.0 4.1 4.2 4.3 4.4 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/5/53/Igigeorgiamz.pdf.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 20 November 2014, at 20:47.
  • This page has been accessed 8,367 times.