Montgomery County, IndianaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Indiana Gotoarrow.png Montgomery County

Guide to Montgomery County, Indiana ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Indiana
Online Records
Montgomery County, Indiana
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Indiana
Location of Indiana in the U.S.
Facts
Founded December 21, 1822
County Seat Crawfordsville
Courthouse
Address Montgomery County Courthouse
100 E Main Street
Crawfordsville, IN 47933-1715
Phone: 765.364.6400Website
Adopt-a-wiki page
Indiana Genealogical Society.JPG This page adopted by:
Indiana Genealogical Society
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today

Contents

Historical Facts

Beginning dates for major county records
Birth
Marriage
Death
Land
Probate
1882*
1823*
1882*
1821
1822
*For earlier dates,

try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries

  • Parent Counties: Formed 21 December 1822 from Parke and Putnam Counties.[1]
  • County Seat: Crawfordsville [2]


Neighboring Counties

Tippecanoe  • Clinton  • Boone  • Hendricks  • Putnam  • Parke  • Fountain

Montgomery CountyPutnam CountyHendricks CountyHoward CountyCarroll CountyTippecanoe CountyBenton CountyWarren CountyParke CountyVermillion CountyFountain CountyBoone CountyClinton CountyMarion CountyINMontgomery.JPG


Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Indiana County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Indiana County Boundary Maps" (1790-1873) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Indiana Counties see: Indiana Counties with Burned Courthouses

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Cemeteries

  • An online searchable database,Crawfordsville District Public Library, contains transcriptions of Montgomery County cemetery tombstones dating from the early 1800s to 1981. It also references the same readings found in the CDPL and DAR cemetery record books

Census Records

For tips on accessing Montgomery County, Indiana census records online, see: Indiana Census.

  • Index to Defective, Dependent & Delinquent Census for Montgomery County, Indiana (1880) (members only database, Indiana Genealogical Society)

Church Records

Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository.


For more information about these major repositories, see Indiana Church Records.


Finding More Church Records

Additional church records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Montgomery County, Indiana Church Records in online catalogs like:


Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Gazetteers

Genealogy

History

Local Histories

  • Thompson, Stephen J. History of Montgomery County, Indiana: With Personal Sketches of Representative Citizens. (Indianapolis, Ind: A.W. Bowen, 1978.), FHL US/CAN Film 934916 Items 1-2 FHL Collectionother library    INTERNET ARCHIVE
  • "History of Montgomery County " in Beckwith, H. W., P. S. Kennedy, and Thomas Fleming Davidson. 1970. History of Fountain County, together with historic notes on the Wabash Valley: gleaned from early authors, old maps and manuscripts, private and official correspondence, and other authentic sources. (Evansville, Ind: Unigraphic), (second book )977.247 H2b FHL US/CAN Book FHL Collection other libraries     INTERNET ARCHIVE
  • Portrait and biographical record of Montgomery, Parke and Fountain Counties, Indiana containing biographical sketches of prominent and representative citizens, together with biographies and portraits of all the presidents of the United States. (1893. Chicago: Chapman Bros.)other libraries INTERNET ARCHIVE

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

After land was transferred from the government to private ownership, subsequent transactions were recorded at the courthouse, where records are currently housed.


See Indiana Land and Property for additional information about early Indiana land grants and patents.


Finding More Land Records

Additional land records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Montgomery County, Indiana Probate Records in online catalogs like:


Maps

Military Records

Civil War

Civil War service men from Montgomery County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Montgomery County.

Civil War Books

  • "The Military History Of The County" Chapter 6 in Thompson, Stephen J. History of Montgomery County, Indiana: With Personal Sketches of Representative Citizens. (Indianapolis, Ind: A.W. Bowen, 1978.), page 87-180,FHL US/CAN Film 934916 Items 1-2 FHL Collectionother libraryancestry.com$
  • "Montgomery County In The War Of The Rebellion" in "History Of Montgomery County" of Beckwith, H. W., P. S. Kennedy, and Thomas Fleming Davidson. 1970. History of Fountain County, together with historic notes on the Wabash Valley: gleaned from early authors, old maps and manuscripts, private and official correspondence, and other authentic sources. (Evansville, Ind: Unigraphic), (second book, page 30-110, Regiment, Companies, Roll of Officers and then Enlisted Men.)977.247 H2b FHL US/CAN Book FHL Collection other libraries     INTERNET ARCHIVE

World War I

World War II

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

  • The Crawfordsville District Public Library , has an online index of local newspaper articles or notices of births, marriages, obituaries and other items of vital records interest. This online index is searchable and covers the period 1834-1899 (partial) and 1900-present.

Obituaries

Hundreds of Montgomery County Obituaries are searchable by surname at indianagenweb.com/montgomery/

Probate

In most counties in Indiana, probate records have been kept by the county clerk of the circuit court. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.


Finding More Probate Records

Additional probate records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Montgomery County, Indiana Probate Records in online catalogs like:


Public Records

School Records

Voting Registration

Repositories

See also a List of Indiana Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Archives

County Courthouse

Montgomery County Courthouse
100 E Main Street
Crawfordsville, iN 47933-1715
Phone: 765.364.6400

County Health Department has birth and
death records from 1882.
County Clerk has marriage, divorce,
probate and court records from 1823
and some naturalization records.
County Recorder has land records from 1823.
Public Library has cemetery records from 1823. [3]

Family History Centers

For additional nearby Family History Centers, search online in the Family History Center directory.

Libraries

Societies

Taxation

Indiana tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties.


For more information see the wiki page Indiana Taxation.

Finding More Tax Records

Additional tax records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Montgomery County, Indiana Tax Records in online catalogs like:

 Vital Records

Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Indiana law in 1882 required registration of births and deaths in counties. The Indiana Department of Health has birth records filed after October 1907 and death records filed after January 1900 for deaths. Copies may be obtained from the county health department or the Indiana State Division of Vital Records. See also How to order Indiana Vital Records or order electronically online.

Marriage licenses were required by counties beginning in 1800. Original marriage records are held at the office of the Montgomery County, Indiana County Clerk with divorce records located with the Montgomery County, Indiana Clerk of Courts.


  • The Crawfordsville District Public Library , online database leads to images (.pdf) of actual pages for marriage affidavits for period September, 1883 to February, 1905 and marriage records for period December, 1888 to June, 1941. Also, index only (no images) for marriage licenses for period October, 1867 to Jun, 2001.
  • Indiana State Digital Archives for Death, E-Publication, Institution, Military, Misc Historical, Naturalization Records can be searched by person name (accessed 26 May 2011)
  • Indiana State Digital Archives for Death, E-Publication, Institution, Military, Misc Historical, Naturalization Records can be searched by person name (accessed 26 May 2011)

Birth Records

Marriage Records

  • Indiana Marriages, 1802-1892 - Ancestry.com $ (contains records for 1823-1850 for Montgomery County, FHL#0877709)
  • Indiana Marriages, 1780-1992-FamilySearch  (contains only 874 records for Montgomery County)
  • Indiana Marriage, 1811-1959-FamilySearch  (Doesn't include Montgomery County)

Death Records

Finding Vital Records at Other Repositories

Additional vital records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Montgomery County, Indiana Vital Records in online catalogs like:



Web Sites

Places

References

  1. Ancestry.com wiki contributors, "Montgomery County, Indiana" in Ancestry.com: Wiki at http://www.ancestry.com/wiki/index.php?title=Montgomery_County,_Indiana(accessed 4 August 2012).
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Montgomery County, Indiana 215 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 November 2014, at 23:01.
  • This page has been accessed 16,520 times.